Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final of the decade 2010-2019?

Lambretta

I am not sure if there was an absolute stand out Grand Final, but 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019 were as close as we got. High quality games all

I want to do something unusual here and point out that 2010 had some bloody great highlights

The semi between the Roosters and the Tigers was amazing. A genuine case of the best game being the Semi.

But I want to give a special mention to St George. They absolutely dominated that season. Start to finish.

They were boring as f**k to watch, but they absolutely wiped the f**king floor with everyone . Its not even as if they had the best team. Jamie Soward was their f**king halfback for crying out loud. But they had the best gameplan. They executed the best and they controlled the game the best

We wax lyrical about teams that entertain us, but we rarely wax lyrical about teams who for whatever reason are just better.

The fact they felt the need to change the rules after that season to prevent teams doing what St George did (as they did with the Roosters in 2002) is the ultimate compliment

Boring? Yeah, course it was. But it got the job done and at the end of the day that's what it's all about

King hit

It was a pretty ordinary decade.. 2017 was definitely the worst but.

This got me thinking about 2000-2009 and wondering if it was any better then this

2000 - Probably the most dour and boring grand final ever. Brisbane win 14-6 without every clicking, roosters never look like winning. Luke Phillips provided the highlights. Broncos were streets ahead that year.

2001 - A Newcastle blowout despite the close margin at the end. Joey along with Kennedy put on a masterclass performance. I read in Johns's autobiography that they went in so confident as the Eels looked shaky the week before.

2002 - This was a really tight contest till Villasanti headbutted Freddy, it was all one way traffic after that. Some great tries and hits were on show in this game. Pretty underrated grand final in my opinion. If you want to see a game that demonstrates how amazing Fittler was this was it.

2003 - The greatest grand final I've ever seen. Such pure brutality and fierceness all the way through. Played in atrocious conditions yet the handling and skill on show was nothing short of fantastic. Luke Priddis plays probably the best grand final performance I've ever seen. Most deserving ccm winner

2004 - Ugh still till this day I can't bring myself to watch this. Roosters should've won and sent Fittler of as a winner but bombed it. This game really upset me as a kid I remember crying at the end. Hated the Dogs for a while because of it. Game was alright from memory but I don't want to sit through that shit again.

2005 - So fascinating seeing such battling teams play in a grand final. Marshall's flick pass won the game for them. Would've been 6-6 at the break but the Tigers were never going to be denied after that. Was a pretty entertaining game as well.

2006 - Melbourne copped some rough calls in this game. Was a good contest with the class of Lockyer and Geyer f**king up the whole game got the Broncos home.

2007 - Nothing to say it's the same as 2017. Melbourne were streets ahead of everyone else

2008 - One sided but seeing the champion beaver scoring in his farewell and seeing the Melbourne filth getting flogged 40 blot was very enjoyable.

2009 - The support behind Parramatta was amazing but Melbourne were always in charge of this game despite the Eels coming home strongly. Bit disappointing that a rough decision helped GI land the field goal that sealed it but Melbourne were the better team.

horrie hastings

2018 even though it was one sided the first 40 mins was the most perfect and almost flawless football I have ever seen the Roosters play.

Loved the 2013 Grand Final as the whole package, SBW putting on the magic plays when it mattered and Jennings being centimetre perfect when it came to match winner, also watching Toups destroy the Wolfman was like watching poetry in motion. James Maloney kid falling off the stage was the best lol moment of the night.

t-ba

2013: Jennings try a highlight here, but a cracking game as well. Manly should have won that.

Cries in Wolfman

We have another snack on the wing in the Reuben Sandwich. Hopefully he doesn't f**k up like Williams did that night.

SharkShocked

But was 'the big play' the field goal? It was quite a simple shot that was set up by the big run and quick play-the-ball by Tamou. JT also had the chance at winning the game before but failed.

The biggest play in the game was Morgan's try assist at the death.

Very true.

But JT did a pretty good job to evade being tackled and get the ball away so it could get to Morgan - which often gets forgotten.

Hutty1986

I am not sure if there was an absolute stand out Grand Final, but 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019 were as close as we got. High quality games all

I want to do something unusual here and point out that 2010 had some bloody great highlights

The semi between the Roosters and the Tigers was amazing. A genuine case of the best game being the Semi.

But I want to give a special mention to St George. They absolutely dominated that season. Start to finish.

They were boring as f**k to watch, but they absolutely wiped the f**king floor with everyone . Its not even as if they had the best team. Jamie Soward was their f**king halfback for crying out loud. But they had the best gameplan. They executed the best and they controlled the game the best

We wax lyrical about teams that entertain us, but we rarely wax lyrical about teams who for whatever reason are just better.

The fact they felt the need to change the rules after that season to prevent teams doing what St George did (as they did with the Roosters in 2002) is the ultimate compliment

Boring? Yeah, course it was. But it got the job done and at the end of the day that's what it's all about
I found absolutely nothing the Saints did in 2010 "boring." Huge difference between so-called dull footy and a professional, ruthless, well-drilled side outplaying everyone else. People conveniently forget how l fantastic that 2010 side was, and Soward absolutely dominated the comp in 2009-10 and early 2011. Would have resurrected NSW earlier if they gave him an extended run in the side.

Tommy Smith

I found absolutely nothing the Saints did in 2010 "boring." Huge difference between so-called dull footy and a professional, ruthless, well-drilled side outplaying everyone else. People conveniently forget how l fantastic that 2010 side was, and Soward absolutely dominated the comp in 2009-10 and early 2011. Would have resurrected NSW earlier if they gave him an extended run in the side.
2010 was also a trash standard comp which aided the Dragons in dominating.

A super shitty Penrith side led by Luke freaking Walsh finished 2nd lol That side wouldn't have made the top 6 this year.

2017 was the same. A clear standout team in the Storm (and that Dragons team was great too don't get me wrong) and a bunch of average teams.

Hutty1986

2010 was also a trash standard comp which aided the Dragons in dominating.

A super shitty Penrith side led by Luke freaking Walsh finished 2nd lol That side wouldn't have made the top 6 this year.

2017 was the same. A clear standout team in the Storm (and that Dragons team was great too don't get me wrong) and a bunch of average teams.
This year wasn't much better. Premier was always going to be one of Chooks, Storm and Raiders. Souffs were top 4 and weren't that impressive. Hell, Brissy finished in the 8 and even we beat those merkins

Lambretta

They were robotic and monotonous to the non supporter, but they were bloody good at it

The only team who ever gave them trouble were the Tigers, who just unsettled them

Unfortunately for the Tigers, they met the Roosters in that semi

I don't want to diminish the Dragons achievement by saying the comp was weak. I don't buy that for 2010 or 2016 for the Sharks or 2017 for the Storm. Winning the comp is bloody hard; lets not belittle those who do it.

I just wanted to say that sometimes we recognise flair over efficiency far too much. That Tigers team had flair, that Roosters side had fair. Neither won the comp. The Dragons did win it and won it well. But we don't recognise them as a great side because they lacked flair?

It's not a line I buy.

PS. I can't believe I am talking up the Dragons. What am I thinking?

Lambretta

*cough* the only team?

Redacted

I forgot the Raiders finished in the 8

The Dragons had a special record against the Raiders didn't they?

Funny how for years the Dragons struggled against the Raiders and the Raiders struggled against the Roosters and the Roosters struggled against the Dragons

myrrh ken

They were robotic and monotonous to the non supporter, but they were bloody good at it

The only team who ever gave them trouble were the Tigers, who just unsettled them

I don't want to diminish the Dragons achievement by saying the comp was weak. I don't buy that for 2010 or 2016 for the Sharks or 2017 for the Storm. Winning the comp is bloody hard; lets not belittle those who do it.

I just wanted to say that sometimes we recognise flair over efficiency far too much. That Tigers team had flair, that Roosters side had fair. Neither won the comp. The Dragons did win it and won it well. But we don't recognise them as a great side because they lacked flair?

It's not a line I buy.

I never understood slug's "weak comp" dig at us. We finished 3rd.
Maybe it was because roosters were second last.
Or he is just a sook.

Hutty1986

They only beat us once in 16 games between 2003 - 2013. It was weird because we had some deadset ordinary teams beat some very good Dragons outfits in that period.

It's why gypsy sexually assaults a Terry Campese manikin every night in his cell.
And that one win we put 50 on your blokes, very strange indeed. I was there the afternoon the hoodoo was broken, B Moz scored an absolutely sensational 'superman' try.
Anyway, Roosters are merkins and @Tommy Smith is a strumpet.

Hutty1986

It's not a line I buy.

Saints had to defend remarkably well to beat the tigers in that prelim, it was a f**king cracking game. Went down to the very last play. If we lost that, I'd be with gypsy in a padded cell, rocking back and forth and staring blankly into space.

The Dragons Tigers semi was a significantly better game. In fact it’s probably the best game Of footy I’ve ever seen.

The Roosters Tigers semi is memorable because it had a lot of drama and then went for 105 minutes or whatever. But if you watch the game it wasn’t a particularly high standard. The golden point period was actually terrible. It was 25 minutes of one out hit ups then defence being 5 meters offside charging down field goal after field goal.