Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Alexanders comments on Parras halfs

True EEL

i agree Bartman, Sterlo was the man

and Jake thats fine, i respect your opinion two, believe me i'm not trying to have a blue with you, just discussing something??????

TE
Yeah no worries mate, I thought u brought some good points up. In the end we are all sick and tired of whats happened in our club and we all want the best for Parra.

Truey,

In his defence and to emphasise your point once the kid gets some more time he WILL develop but I reckon his head would be done in at the moment with how the club is going, where he fits into the scheme of things and how to play HIS Game, etc.

Work on that bit of extra speed and he will well and truly have defensive lines in two minds.

Jake the snake said:
I dont think Armitt went all that Badly. He always got good yards when he took it up. Surely Armitt is better than Pearson.

I agree.

Armit IS better than Pearson.

What was the point of signing him anyway? Experience?

HELLO?

We have an experienced player who has played for NSW and Australia in Micky Vella. I am sure a young front rower like Armit or Tsoulos would greatly benefit from his knowledge.

On Witt, I think he has good skills and a good intuition for the game. He just needs to get regular game time to iron out the flaws in his game and make it come more natural.

Jake the snake said:
Twizzle,

He put up a few Bombs against the Roosters and we got lucky. Id like to see Witt actually set up a try by passing the ball, but he can't because he has not got the skills.

Does tries he set up last year count?

Ironically, last year in his first year, he seemed to take more control and organise better than this year.

True EEL

Eelementary.......

about taking more control last year......that is purely a factor of not being allowed to play consistently this year and having his confidence shattered over and over again by non-selection or selection or positional changes

absolutely no doubt in my mind about that.....at all

True EEL said:
Eelementary.......

about taking more control last year......that is purely a factor of not being allowed to play consistently this year and having his confidence shattered over and over again by non-selection or selection or positional changes

absolutely no doubt in my mind about that.....at all

Too true.

In my opinion, he's a tad raw, but I reeally believe he can be a solid halfback for us.

I agree Eelementary, he seemed to take control of the game very well and had a good combination with Morris. You cant say it was just luck. He's got the skills and has the ability to take on the line, just that he hasnt had much of a chance this year. His first game this year against the Tigers, he really tried his best but the forwards were ordinary that day and it didnt help. Against the Knights he won us the game and had a good combination with Dykes. Suspended for 2 weeks, then came back against the Panthers, seemed to go alright in the first half spreading the ball wide and a good kicking game, not sure what happened in the second half, too much drop ball from Parra. Then against the Warriors, probably one of his worst games but at least he tried, the combination with Thorman didnt help. Then won us the game against the Roosters, and then against the Cowboys again like in the Panthers game too much drop ball.

So really Witt's only played 6 first grade games this year. Which is not enough to impress this season, he's played well in 2 of those but hasnt played his best in the others. Every halfback has their off day. So give this bloke a chance. Funny how ur not liking him now when youse were all praising him last year. :roll:

Went from being our best half in 2003 to playing six first grade games, only three of them at half this year. What happened during the off season?

We'll never know, but Brian somehow decided Wags and Dykes as a 7 were our best combination, despite previous evidence to the contrary. No wonder his confidence took a beating...

wittyz chick

I think Witt will probably have a full season when it comes to contract yr...isnt that what Smithy always does?????

Paranoid

Witt has had some ripper games (Roosters this season for example and he had a absolutely fanatasic game last season against souths - lead the team like an old hand, setup a bunch of tries, scored himself and nailed the kicking – on fire !) and his also had some games which I wouldn’t exactly classify as shockers, but lets say below par.

I think he's shown in these good games that he capable I’ve been a NRL halfback, but his consistency isn't there yet – BUT how is he meant to get this consistency if he's been constantly moved between the grades and then shifted in position (half,5-8,bench) whne he does get a run in FG and/or never has a consistent halves partner !

The guy is still young and hasn't had a consistant chance to show his true worth – surely its too early for anyone (even a great half like Brandy) to pass judgement on him !

:|

eels1986

even Brian Smith said something along the lines of "he has the best passing game in the club" and "best kicking game (particularly goal kicking) in the club" just last year......its just that this year he seems to think differently?????

Smith was talking about his brother Steve not Michael in reference to the passing game!!! :eek:

Utey

We are using a two lock strategy. If we were to change now we would get beaten more than what we are. I would agree to gthe fact that the strategy of only having one playmaker works against teams and others it doesnt. It entirely comes down to the game of our sole playmaker. Thorman has been dismal whilst Dykes played pretty well while wagon was at pivot. Leave it until next year and see how we go with the halves combination of Morris and Witt/Smith. Brian wont use Smith for a while. I think throwing him in the deep end will hurt his career if he doesnt have a dream run like Witt did.

1eyedeel

[quote="Colonel Eel]But I'm pretty sure that the pass to Burt for one of his tries in the Roosters game after the bomb was from Witty.[/quote]

No, Colonel, that was McKinnon that threw that pass. I thought it was Witt, too, and I was momentarily wrapped because that's been such a let down with his game this year. But it was definitely McKinnon.