Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ground Allocation For WT Games in 2011

Joe's Magpies

Wests Tigers will host premiers St George-Illawarra Dragons at the historic Sydney Cricket Ground next year after today releasing its allocation of home match venues for 2011.
Campbelltown Sports Stadium and Leichhardt Oval will again enjoy four matches each while the Sydney Football Stadium (SFS) will play host to three Wests Tigers home games.
The first home game will be against the Warriors in round two at Leichhardt Oval.
The SCG match against the Dragons will be staged in round 22 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the famous 1961 Grand Final between Western Suburbs Magpies and St George.
Wests Tigers will welcome the Brisbane Broncos to the SFS over the Easter weekend in April. The match promises to be one of the most highly anticipated contests of the season.
The annual Heritage Round clash against South Sydney will next year be held at the SFS, which will also host another blockbuster match against the Parramatta Eels.
The ‘Battle of the West’ will continue when the Panthers make the journey to Campbelltown in Round 11.
Campbelltown Sports Stadium will also host a mouth watering contest against the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs in Round 16.
Leichhardt Oval will also host the Sydney Roosters and Melbourne Storm in what promises to be two blockbusters at the traditional ground.
Wests Tigers CEO Stephen Humphreys believes the club has achieved a very fair split in terms of game allocations.
“It’s great to see Campbelltown and Leichhardt have four matches once again and there are some exciting clashes at those grounds,’’ Humphreys said.
“I’m really looking forward to celebrating our historical rivalry against the Dragons at the SCG. This is such an important part of our history and it will be an exciting time for the club.
“All in all, it promises to be yet another exhilarating year so we encourage supporters who are not Members to cross ‘the line that divides’ and help play an important role at Wests Tigers.”
Wests Tigers open their 2011 campaign against Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium on the weekend of March 11-14.
CLICK HERE TO BECOME A 2011 MEMBER
Wests Tigers 2011 Telstra Premiership Draw
Rd 1 March 11-14: v Bulldogs, away
Rd 2 March 18-21: v Warriors, Leichhardt Oval
Rd 3 March 25-28: v Canberra, Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Rd 4 April 1-4: v Sydney Roosters, away
Rd 5: April 8-11: v South Sydney, Sydney Football Stadium
Rd 6: April 15-18: v Gold Coast Titans, away
Rd 7: April 22-25: v Brisbane Broncos, Sydney Football Stadium.
Rd 8: April 29-May 1: v Canberra, away
Rd 9: May 7-9: Bye
Rd 10: May 13-16: v South Sydney, away
Rd 11: May 20-23: v Penrith, Campbelltown Sports Stadium.
Rd 12: May 27-30: v St George-Illawarra, away
Rd 13: June 3-6: v Newcastle Knights, Leichhardt Oval.
Rd 14: June 10-13: v Warriors, away
Rd 15: June 17-20: v Melbourne Storm, Leichhardt Oval
Rd 16: June 24-27: v Bulldogs, Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Rd 17: July 1-4: Bye
Rd 18: July 8-11: v Parramatta, away
Rd 19 July 15-18: v Cowboys, away
Rd 20: July 22-25: v Sydney Roosters, Leichhardt Oval
Rd 21 July 29-Aug 1: v Manly, away
Rd 22 August 5-8: v St George-Illawarra, Sydney Cricket Ground
Rd 23 August 12-15: v Penrith, away
Rd 24 August 19-22: v Parramatta, Sydney Football Stadium
Rd 25 August 26-29: v Gold Coast Titans, Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Rd 26 September 2-4: v Cronulla, away
Ground allocations
Wests Tigers at Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Rd 3 March 25-28: v Canberra
Rd 11: May 20-23: v Penrith
Rd 16: June 24-27: v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Rd 25 August 26-29: v Gold Coast Titans
Wests Tigers at Leichhardt Oval
Rd 2 March 18-21: v Warriors
Rd 13: June 3-6: v Newcastle Knights
Rd 15: June 17-20: v Melbourne Storm
Rd 20: July 22-25: v Sydney Roosters
Wests Tigers at Sydney Football Stadium
Rd 5: April 8-11: v South Sydney
Rd 7: April 22-25: v Brisbane Broncos
Rd 24 August 19-22: v Parramatta
Wests Tigers at Sydney Cricket Ground
Rd 22 August 5-8: v St George-Illawarra

Source: Weststigers.com.au

aids

love playing storm at leichardt
and roosters at leichardt too is a suprise

westie

It's gotten to the point where I feel totally underwhelmed by the local ground match ups.

There were some brilliant nights - during the "dark days" - playing the Dogs at Campbelltown (18k) and Melbourne at LO (an inflated 5k)... but, these days, we'd get a far better crowd at the SFS, more money, and, judging by recent efforts, a better atmosphere.

Campbelltown's night matches are now overwhelmed by the SFS night matches, and LO's Sunday matches are only hot for probably 1 top team who'd draw at the very least 50% better in Moore Park.

I wouldn't be unhappy if we moved every game to the most accessible ground in Sydney... save maybe the useless Melbourne style games which we could make a Sunday arvo thing out of.

LOL....we virtually banking on more Broncos fans turning up to the Rosters home ground than roosters fans themselves. Probably a wise move

It's gotten to the point where I feel totally underwhelmed by the local ground match ups.

There were some brilliant nights - during the "dark days" - playing the Dogs at Campbelltown (18k) and Melbourne at LO (an inflated 5k)... but, these days, we'd get a far better crowd at the SFS, more money, and, judging by recent efforts, a better atmosphere.

Campbelltown's night matches are now overwhelmed by the SFS night matches, and LO's Sunday matches are only hot for probably 1 top team who'd draw at the very least 50% better in Moore Park.

I wouldn't be unhappy if we moved every game to the most accessible ground in Sydney... save maybe the useless Melbourne style games which we could make a Sunday arvo thing out of.

Little todger Westie,

Seeing as you always bring up the 5k crowd figure for the Tigers v Melbourne game at Leichhardt I should remind you that our lowest ever crowd was recorded at Campbelltown against a fellow Sydney team - WT v Penrith 2003.

BTW putting aside your overwhelming hatred of Leichhardt, do you honestly believe that the home games against Melbourne and Canberra this year would've drawn 20k at the SFS?

westie

Little todger Westie,

Seeing as you always bring up the 5k crowd figure for the Tigers v Melbourne game at Leichhardt I should remind you that our lowest ever crowd was recorded at Campbelltown against a fellow Sydney team - WT v Penrith 2003.

BTW putting aside your overwhelming hatred of Leichhardt, do you honestly believe that the home games against Melbourne and Canberra this year would've drawn 20k at the SFS?

Settle down princess.

Name me a better time at LO than that night. The only other one that comes close was the lock out Souths game. I chose it because it was the best, not to twist your knickers.

Judging by the fact I said in my post I would play the Melbourne style games at LO... It's probably a fair bet to assume I reckon we'd get a better crowd there. Perhaps you should read people's posts before having a sook.

When it comes to teams like Roosters and Souths, we should be playing them at either Campbo or leichhardt.

I see we have Souths at the SFS. FMD that's stupid. It's their home ground too!

meltiger

Settle down princess.

Name me a better time at LO than that night. The only other one that comes close was the lock out Souths game. I chose it because it was the best, not to twist your knickers.

Judging by the fact I said in my post I would play the Melbourne style games at LO... It's probably a fair bet to assume I reckon we'd get a better crowd there. Perhaps you should read people's posts before having a sook.

I'll take you at your word that the 5k comment wasn't a knock.

Question, why on earth would you want to play Canterbury at a larger stadium, when if the locals would actually turn up to the game .... When we could pack out the stadium full of Wests Tigers fans & gain a true home ground advantage? sure, bigger crowds may mean more money for the SCG Trust (Remember, we get a flat fee so 5k, or 40k means jack sh*t to us financially), but who are the additional punters going to be? Opposition fans mate.

I'd love to see the traditional grounds given 1 a-grade game each year, plus then the collection of sh*tte that they are usually given.

Keep the Canterbury game in the Sth West, and dependant on what we do heritage round, play Souths or Manly at Leichhardt. We can then use the other 6 games for the sh*tte that generally don't draw a crowd, but do to our games because we can trade off the "limited number of games there" - If we had a 6/6 split, I wouldn't make the trip for Easts or Newcastle, but will this year.

That then leaves us the remaining a-grade games, at the modern, higher cap grounds. Parra's, Dragon's etc etc

westie

I'll take you at your word that the 5k comment wasn't a knock.

Question, why on earth would you want to play Canterbury at a larger stadium, when if the locals would actually turn up to the game .... When we could pack out the stadium full of Wests Tigers fans & gain a true home ground advantage? sure, bigger crowds may mean more money for the SCG Trust (Remember, we get a flat fee so 5k, or 40k means jack sh*t to us financially), but who are the additional punters going to be? Opposition fans mate.

I'd love to see the traditional grounds given 1 a-grade game each year, plus then the collection of sh*tte that they are usually given.

Keep the Canterbury game in the Sth West, and dependant on what we do heritage round, play Souths or Manly at Leichhardt. We can then use the other 6 games for the sh*tte that generally don't draw a crowd, but do to our games because we can trade off the "limited number of games there" - If we had a 6/6 split, I wouldn't make the trip for Easts or Newcastle, but will this year.

That then leaves us the remaining a-grade games, at the modern, higher cap grounds. Parra's, Dragon's etc etc

Because, rightly or wrongly, I'm not as parochial any more and would rather see us, and the rest of the league ditch the small time mentality and get involved in the 21st century. It's an absolute piss-take that we still have to sit on grass with no roof in such a rainy city. Getting pumped about a 20k crowd is ridiculous when we've shown we have a latent support base around 100k.

ByRd

AFAIC, Bulldogs at Campbelltown is perfect. The less scum Dogs fans that can attend, the better.

lol we are happier its at Campbelltown, prefer suburban grounds over bigger grounds and dont worry, we will still turn up in numbers ;-)