Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gus the magnifico!

newtownbluebags

I know he's "nowdays" a controversial figure that everyone seems to have an opinion on but when are we likely, if ever, to see Phil "Gus" Gould turn up one reunion day? Who thinks this is ever likely? hhmmmmmmmmmm

2 True Blues

I was dissappointed several years ago when he did a Henson Park segment on Boots and All. It was a great story on Henson and showed the change rooms and some good old stories about the club, and Gus's memories of playing at the Jets. However he failed to mention that the jets are still running around, and playing in Prem/league etc. When the segment went to air not many people would have been aware of this fact, and a great opportunity to get bums on seats, and people aware that they still in fact played at Henson on Saturday arvos went astray. Sounded more like they no longer existed as a club. Good story however failed miserably in the end.

newtownbluebags

Yes but his hands are most likely tied by a certain person from that network who has imposed a blanket ban on all things Newtown...

Jeffles

He has plugged Reunion Day on The Footy Show and I have seen him at Henson Park (usually in a Chooks capacity). He's not that bad to us IMO.

You've mentioned him a few times newtownbluebags. He must have been a favourite of yours in days gone by.

2 True Blues

He still should have mentioned that the Bluebags are still alive, and play at Henson on Saturday's still.

Henson

if gus turned up at reunion day they could then call the ground Royal Henson,more chance of gettin reg reagan!!poor gus is more controversial than shane warne!!ps whats that thing on his lip?should get a rat to chew it off,only jokin...great football mind

newtownbluebags

Oh I think Gus is a great bloke. He likes a drink, a bet and most of the time he says what he thinks on telly and stuff the rest of the mob. His book "As good as Gould" has a chapter on his time with the Jets that makes for interesting reading. The fact that he is an old Jet along with his profile make him perfectly placed for the club to have on side however the eternal inhibitor who cannot be named at the same network would no doubt kybosh any Jets plugging from getting to air?
On the other side of the coin another network favourite Matty J is often seen sporting a Jets cap and when the show went to PNG earlier in the year he was wearing a Henson Park T-Shirt so a closet supporter there perhaps!

newtownbluebags

and I forgot to say that yeah Gus looks like he's been run over by a bus but he is far more the fair dinkum item than some of these "manufactured" commentators that the TV execs are trundelling out these days with their coifed hair etc! onya Gus - only a head a mother could luv!

hrundi99

newtownbluebags said:
Yes but his hands are most likely tied by a certain person from that network who has imposed a blanket ban on all things Newtown...

Who is the person in question?

newtownbluebags

One cannot afford to name names but the powers of deductive reasoning will no doubt lead you to the answer....Go the mighty Jets!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg

I read "Good as Gould" a long time ago, its a good read. From memory Gus said his dad was a bluebag supporter which made his move there all the sweeter. Perhaps next year we can lobby Gus on boots n all for a bit more publicity about game day at Henson.

Jeffles

2 True Blues said:
He still should have mentioned that the Bluebags are still alive, and play at Henson on Saturday's still.

I suppose so. I guess the prime time audience of a Thursday night (much more than a Sunday morning audience) made up for it.

I have also read that his Dad was a Newtown fan. He wrote it in his column a while back. He said something like "My Dad was (and still is) a Newtown fan" acknowledging that the Jets are still there to be supported.

2 True Blues

Had him super imposed on the segment, sitting in a car watchin a Jets game, if I recall properly.

Thats a top idea Greg. Wonder if they would !!!!