Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Has Gaz thrown out our MoJo ??

Mighty Saints

Just finished reading an article on the News site by Peter Sterling where he questions bringing Gaz into the side after the boys did so well without him.

I must admit.....I tend to agree with him.

The boys got us to first by their own hard work, and now we seem to be floundering. Now....that could be because our forwards have been missing, but you have to feel sorry for the likes of Costigan and Smith who have been forced out of contracts to accomodate Gaz.

I reckon Gaz is great.....but shouldn't we have won the premiership before messing with the team ? What's everyone else think ? I'm just putting blind faith in Uncle Wayne.:?

Zoggy

hmmmmm, peronsally i'd rather Costigan and Smith. We have good young prospects coming through in the backline.

BigNormProvan

I'd say almost every team would have liked to have put a bid on Gaz Marknier if they had room in their cap. Melbourne would have, regardless:sarcasm:.

At this point he is slowly getting match fit. If he remains injury free he'll be playing good footy come the finals. Not Marknier at his vintage best, but good footy none the less.

I'm still edgy about his worth to the team. Kyle Stanley was playing some very good football before Le Frog said wee, wee to Coach Bennett.

Big Norm

morris_magic

try not to read that sh*t , i do sometimes but i cant help myself but dw we should find our form with weyman coming bak, he is our best forward. gaz is slowly blending into his old form.

ME SO HORNBY!

I fail to see how Gasnier has effected our team negatively. He has come into our structure very well and proved that his apparent defensive liabilities have had no effect. In attack he has made our left hand side look much more dangerous than previously imo.

Our problem at the moment is not Gaz. Its the fact that our forward pack are about as effective as 10 year old girls at the moment.

Dragon Dave

Too early to call.

I saw Gaz make a run on Sunday in the first half, he did his famous 'shimmy shimmy woosh' looked to have beaten his marker and was just tackled around the ankles.

The more football he gets, the more likely it is that he will beat that player and run 30, 40, 50 metres and score. That's what we need in our team.

Give him time.

I think he'll go some way to finding it this week. I cannot see anything but a win, our outside backs should have them covered quite easily.

Graham v Nighty, Linnett v Gaz, Kenny-Dowall v Coops, Perrett v Morris.

Mighty Saints

I fail to see how Gasnier has effected our team negatively. He has come into our structure very well and proved that his apparent defensive liabilities have had no effect. In attack he has made our left hand side look much more dangerous than previously imo.

Our problem at the moment is not Gaz. Its the fact that our forward pack are about as effective as 10 year old girls at the moment.

Gaz effects the team in this way...... Josh Morris moved on because we thought Gaz was staying.
Over recent months there's been talk of Josh coming back, which I'm sure Brett was happy about.
Now.....Gaz is back. Do you think there's ever a chance of Josh coming back now ? I wonder how happy Brett is.

It's all about team harmony. I'd be genuinely interested to know exactly what the feel of the team is about Gaz returning.

Dragon Dave

Gaz effects the team in this way...... Josh Morris moved on because we thought Gaz was staying.
Over recent months there's been talk of Josh coming back, which I'm sure Brett was happy about.
Now.....Gaz is back. Do you think there's ever a chance of Josh coming back now ? I wonder how happy Brett is.

It's all about team harmony. I'd be genuinely interested to know exactly what the feel of the team is about Gaz returning.

Well I know guys like Hornby, Coops, Young, Creagh etc would be delighted to have their mate back.

Question for you - is Josh Morris better than Mark Gasnier? Sure, he has youth on his side but we all know what Gaz can do and Josh hasn't exactly set the world on fire this year.

The key here is time. If Gaz is still quiet, unfit come week 2 of the finals, I'll have my doubts but until then we can not judge Mark on his last few appearances. I'm confident he can find form.

smi962

Another possible issue is that we had this socialist structure in our salary cap where there were not huge gaps in player contracts. With Gaz back, its a small step back in the opposite direction, like 3-4 years ago, where a majority of our money was spent on 5-6 players.

I am unsure how this effects NRL side's in general, does jealousy and some mis-harmony creep into sides when team-mates see high paid players not performing at a superior level than them and getting paid significant amounts more. I am wondering if this socialist structure is PART of the reason we have seen such good team harmony over the past couple of years.

But anyway, we need game-breakers and at his best Gasnier is definitely one.

saints4ever

swear that half break gasnier made in the first half was like deja vu. plus, there was a chance for him to put florence away in the second but the pass just wasnt there. imo he, like the rest of the sides attack, is building up to where it needs to be.

all it is is timing, this time last year we looked flat and tired, our defence was struggling as well as our attack.

one could argue that our biggest problem this year is crispness, not much of an issue with 5 rounds to go. lets see how we go this week, confidence and momentum is key to winning a premiership, a few more losses then ill be hitting the panic button, but not yet.

_snafu_

Doesn't make a difference.

We were ordinary this time last year and Gaz was not about.

We are ordinary now. I can't see how it can be a Gaz issue.

nrlnrl

try not to read that sh*t , i do sometimes but i cant help myself but dw we should find our form with weyman coming bak, he is our best forward. gaz is slowly blending into his old form.

yep, agree with this - the suspension might be a blessing in disguise for the Dragons campaign in 2010. He was carrying a few niggling injuries & his consistent runs attract multiple defenders. This should create some momentum & confidence for other forwards, plus put us in better field position for 5th tackle options.

Something else for this Sunday, I think Beau Scott might target Todd Carney whose running has been a key to the Roosters winning streak.

USDragon

I don't think there is a huge problem with jealousy in the team about Gaz coming back. Anybody remember the post try celebrations of the team when Gaz scored his first try in his second game? Everybody seemed to be thoroughly happy for him.
I do think the timing of our current slump has to do with his return as the team has to find a new structure in the game...however...we all knew this slump would come (every team had it) and I much prefer it to have come now than in two weeks.
With Gaz getting better each week (and he is), it will put the other teams more on edge as well, because nobody will know when he will be at his best again...I do think our best is yet to come....I just hope it's this season and not early next season :)

There's definitely no evidence to say players are jealous of Gaz's paypacket. But there's plenty of evidence that the players are happy to have him in the team.

That should be the end of it, but it won't stop the speculation.

It wouldn't surprise to see a tabloid gossip columnist to run with this now. Will be big news in Crap Paper after 'sourcing' it from an internet forum, and the forum speculators coming away convinced that they were on the money. lol.

No, he moved on because the Bulldogs offered him more money. He could have stayed.
Mighty Saints said:
It was talk, that's all. You do realise that Josh has a contract? Unless he is released, he'll be at Belmore until the end of 2011 at least. Granted Josh doesn't look happy there and has been down on form, but feel free to correct me if I missed the report where he asked for a release.
Mighty Saints said:
With Cooper retiring around the same time as Josh's contract ending with the mongrels, I'd say there's a fair chance he'll be approached.

As for Brett, he was also offered a deal to play with the Bulldogs, reportedly more than Saints were offering, but knocked it back. Just because they are brothers doesn't mean they are going to make the same decisions. Josh went after the money, and good luck to him. Brett is scoring tries, is in fine form. Looks pretty happy to me.

Mighty Saints said:
Maybe you should ask club management. I understand the Red V meeting is at Kogarah next week.

With respect, until there is evidence that team harmony is down, you'll only be getting worked up over nothing. The only team problems I'm seeing are on the field and a lack of go forward. That can be fixed.

Is it just me or does it feel like the ever since Gaz has come back we've palyed like the Dragons of old? apart from the defense of course...I mean we've only won one game out of four with him playing...

silverfox

weyman has been missing for most if not all of our losses this year - think you find that is more of a disruption