Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne~NFL~RU~Tits~Eels~Dad~Jailed~Mistrial~Jailed~Retrial~Jailed~Appeal~Quashed-Sued~Fat Coach

I am not talking about his court case. I am talking about the events beforehand.

People (male or female) will try and take advantage of famous sports starts. Only the dumb ones let it happen.
But just because they're dumb doesn't mean it's right for merkins to rort them.

Kornstar

So I assume you haven't spoken to any women about how they feel about gender equality?

That is the best way to get an understanding of the issues.

I completely understand inequality across all demographics and the older i get the more i am aware of just how shit white males were in the past and how many are still around (thanks to Trumps presidency so far).

Now for my experience i have never witnessed gender inequality. My mom is a male hating bitch and i grew up being the lowest member of the family as i have 2 older sisters.

My grandma is the greatest female i know and although she held all the traditions of someone her age in relation to washing, cooking, cleaning etc. there was no doubt she was the boss and didn’t take shit from anyone.

So i have had strong females in my family so it is odd to me personally that a woman would feel unequal to me.

My professional career has been similar, i have worked only in big industries from food, insurance, airline, FMCG and now government where women have always held senior positions and also up until the last 8 years they were paid more than i was. Now it is equal for me.

Reading stories lately completely blow my mind cause i have never been anywhere near that world. I have called out friends though when they have done creepy shit towards females like film them in a club or something without permission.

If she's beautiful then she has massive social power already. They are known as genetic celebrities.
OK, you are doing you typical goal post shift but lets run with this and assume she is 'beautiful'. Yes, that moves her further up the chain but not higher than a famous white male sports star.

I note you've introduced the term 'celebrity' but given we were talking about ordinary people I am going to assume that this is still the case.

Jarryd Hayne might be smart on the footy field, but outside of that I think he is dumb as dogshit. Plenty of people can and have taken advantage of him. This chick might be another one.
Agreed, it appears that even such a significant head start he is still capable of doing some incredibly dopey things. But lets not paint the guy as a victim for his entire life, or indeed someone who hasn't taken advantage of his fair share of people. That's highly disingenuous.

Was he taken advantage of in this instance? Maybe. Hard to feel much sympathy for him though.

I don't care how dumb he is. I care if he's been the sort of person that his accuser has claimed. I doubt it will become totally clear even at it's conclusion but I won't necessarily equate a payout with guilt or a non-guilty finding with innocence. It's far too early to be drawing conclusions.
Let me spell it out for you. If he is the sort of person that his accuser has claimed then he is dumb.

Yep, the exact kind that are starting from an inferior position.

He is in the position of power and if he is smart he can use that to his advantage and not f**k things up. If he doesn't then he deserves everything he gets.

Like the song goes.
First you get the money
Then you get the power
Then you get the pussy

Gaz people with power always take advantage of people ffs.

I work forself. I have to take abuse from customers.

Or are we just talking sexually?

Speak for yourself merkin!

Just because most of the people in power are men doesn't mean most men have power over women. Men provide far more of society's outliers, so the people at the very top and the very bottom are overwhelmingly men. But the majority of men are in the middle of the bell curve with the women. They have no special power over them. In fact most of them don't even get to root them.
Yes, there are sliding scales and not all men are the same. I am not talking about individual examples of where men can get 'one over' women. I am suggesting that as a general rule, it is harder for women to be successful than it is for men.

Which white males Gary? All of them?

The people at the top of the tree are the ones with money. While white males might be over-represented in that group, it doesn't mean that all white males are powerful. A broke white male has no more power than anyone else who is broke. These days he has an even harder time finding a job because he fills nobody's diversity quota.
That goes without saying. I am not suggesting that every single white male is at the top of the tree.

Wouldn't most women see an opportunity for a land grab and cast themselves as victims regardless of the reality? Or is that only the case with men?

My point is why would you trust anyone's perception of their place in the world? Why would women (or any other 'marginalised group') be honest about oppression if there is strong incentive to continue playing the victim?
You are assuming that in gathering information from people (including women) and using it to form a view that I am incapable of determining their motives. You shouldn't.

Men work longer hours, have worse work/life balance, worse mental and physical health, and less satisfying relationships than women.

That's why they get paid more to do the same job. Because they're not doing the same job. For men their ability to earn money is existential. It underpins everything, including reproductive success.

Women complain they have to choose between career and family, but men don't even get a choice. If you're not earning well no decent woman will want to be having your kids.
I'm not suggesting that there aren't challenges with being a man. I'm here for you mate if you need someone to talk to.

T-Boon

Gary, PouPou turned you around last night.
You are trying to salvage something this morning - I think you should just grab his undies and split.

If she's beautiful then she has massive social power already. They are known as genetic celebrities.

Jarryd Hayne might be smart on the footy field, but outside of that I think he is dumb as dogshit. Plenty of people can and have taken advantage of him. This chick might be another one.

TBH I find it hard to believe that JH had non consensual sex with a virgin. I am just making a judgment on his personality from my POV.

Anywho if true, no means no and if in the moment he disregarded the girls message then he is in the shit.

Gary, PouPou turned you around last night.
You are trying to salvage something this morning - I think you should just grab his undies and split.
Get f**ked.

We are now discussing the issue in more detail because Pou is an intelligent guy. He is getting me to consider the other side of the story, which is fine. They are issues I have grappled with and considered in the past. Posting about them now wont change my view about men as a whole being more powerful and privileged than women.

If you think I have changed my position this morning, then I don't know that you understood my position to begin with.