Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne~NFL~RU~Tits~Eels~Dad~Jailed~Mistrial~Jailed~Retrial~Jailed~Appeal~Quashed-Sued~Fat Coach

I'd like someone from the pro Hayne camp to explain to me why he deserves our well wishes, when we released him from his contract early after he made overtures that he had signed "for life" which was certainly not an actual contract but certainly an emotional investment, took money from us for the 2 years he was away, earned cash from our merchandise stores (physical and on-line), continued to make representations to the coach that he remained invested in the club and wanted to play - then when push came to shove took the higher offer.

Now taking the higher offer, is something that we would all do after due consideration, however he then proceeded to bag the very club and fans that he was so "committed" to and carried on like a good sort in a vein attempt of justifying his decision.

Yes he's a good player and yes it's good that he's back in the game, but to pretend that there's nothing to see here and anyone who harbours resentment is a hater is plain and simple f**king wrong.

phantom eel

No worries. I can understand your anger towards him - I just don't understand why you take it so far. I know you regard him highly as a player, because you've said so before. I'm disappointed that he didn't come back to Parramatta but for the most part I don't blame him at all. Anyway, I'll surely be cheering him on when he runs out for the blues next year at outside centre.
I don't actually have anger toward him, that's the faulty assumption at the core of teh misunderstanding.

Hayne is a talented individual, but imo not a great fit for a club rugby league side - when you take into account salary cap/squad balance, and positional structures. That's not anger or hatred, that's just opinion about my rugby league fundamentals. But my opinion seems to cause some people some constant troubles of their own.

If Hayne is selected for Origin next season - which depends a lot on what position he settles down to play for Titans in the new year - then yes I will cheer him on in those three games. However I fear if Daley selects Hayne anywhere other than fullback or wing, it will come to Blue tears....

phantom eel

There's only so long that you can use that excuse without people thinking you are truly a f**kwit.
And do I care what people on the internet think of me on the internet?

Refer to the same quote as above - it's only the internet, it's not real life.

But please, continue to be irrationally upset about my on-topic posts... :p

Our club seemed quite fine when Jarryd wanted money. He was paid the past two years as he 'fulfilled' his dreams. Our club also seemed competent when he needed us to help promote his brand and sell his merchandise thru the club. Had he simply signed with the Titans and said, "unfortunately we couldn't come to terms on a deal", maybe he wouldn't have so many haters. But Jarryd, for the second time left us high and dry. He always knew he wouldn't be returning to the eels. But he played his fans and followers to continue buying his merchandise and lies...
I dont buy into this whole - we got f**ked over - routine. Reading Arthurs' comments, we made an offer that was a fair way under what we knew was "market value". Take it or leave it, sonny.

Kornstar

Friday we won without Hayne, today Titans lost with him......game over!

Seriously though, I was annoyed that he lied and said he didn't receive an offer from us but after watching him today (he was very good for someone out of the game for 2 years) I don't care that we don't have him. We've dealt with not having him since he went to the NFL so it wasn't weird watching him run out for another team.

25,000 people there today, impressive. We'll see if they stick around if they keep losing......

IFR33K

I dont buy into this whole - we got f**ked over - routine. Reading Arthurs' comments, we made an offer that was a fair way under what we knew was "market value". Take it or leave it, sonny.

I'm comfortable with the decision the club made. It's a shame seeing Hayne in opposition colours, but the manner in which he carried himself is a disgrace.

No its not. He expected us to roll out the red carpet for him & arthurs essentially told him to get f**ked. Ever had to deal with a jilted lover? Hayne was devastated.

I'd like someone from the pro Hayne camp to explain to me why he deserves our well wishes, when we released him from his contract early after he made overtures that he had signed "for life" which was certainly not an actual contract but certainly an emotional investment, took money from us for the 2 years he was away, earned cash from our merchandise stores (physical and on-line), continued to make representations to the coach that he remained invested in the club and wanted to play - then when push came to shove took the higher offer.

Now taking the higher offer, is something that we would all do after due consideration, however he then proceeded to bag the very club and fans that he was so "committed" to and carried on like a good sort in a vein attempt of justifying his decision.

Yes he's a good player and yes it's good that he's back in the game, but to pretend that there's nothing to see here and anyone who harbours resentment is a hater is plain and simple f**king wrong.

A few points.

1.You're right. He doesn't deserve anyone's well wishes. He certainly however, doesn't deserve some of the juvenile abuse he has received.
2. Maybe because the offer we made was an insult? In saying that, I've already stated that I understand why we offered what we did, and can live with that fact.
3. Where did he abuse fans?

I'm not gonna claim to be pro or anti ... i'm a bit on the fence - so you will probably see me bag him one minute and think he's great the next

Im not sure i would say he bagged the club ... he said we were in a bad place - its probably partly true ... I am generally of the opinion most of what footy players say is not their own words - they regurgitate what others say - coach, manager, etc ... i am betting most of what hayne said came from his manager ... and i suspect his illustrious manager has reasons for guiding him away from parra

I think the guy would dearly have loved to be playing at parra ... money and whatever else guided him elsewhere ... its his life to live with, so he makes his own decissions (or his manager makes em for him)

ash411

3. Where did he abuse fans?
I can see both sides, cause I was always pro-Hayne, even when he left for the NFL. Followed his time at the 49ers.

With his return to the NRL I understand why Parra fans feel slighted. But I haven't seen anyone say that he "abused" fans. But he did treat Parra fans with a large amount of disrespect, and treated us all like idiots.

Acting all cut and claiming that we hadn't put an offer in for his services, which that simply couldn't be further from the truth was insulting. If he had just been plain about his intentions from day one, and instead of continuing his charade about "coming back to Parra if they wanted him" instead of saying "I'll be happy to return if pay me what I want" He wouldn't have put so many Parra fans offside.

Go look at his twitter responses where he referred to "true fans".

Wahhhhhhhhhh!!!
Fair dinkum mate.
I consider myself a true fan (whatever the f**k that is??), and I didn't even notice the comment, or possibly be offended by it.
He's got a life to live and a public one at that.
He's also got a life to support in 5 years when his career is finished and well short of the time you'll be worried about your career finishing.
So get off your f**king high horse. The guy is looking after himself.
f**king good luck to him.

Wahhhhhhhhhh!!!
Fair dinkum mate.
I consider myself a true fan (whatever the f**k that is??), and I didn't even notice the comment, or possibly be offended by it.
He's got a life to live and a public one at that.
He's also got a life to support in 5 years when his career is finished and well short of the time you'll be worried about your career finishing.
So get off your f**king high horse. The guy is looking after himself.
f**king good luck to him.

Pot. Kettle. Black. Merkin