Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help needed to attend game

Hi Tigers fans, I am in town for the Rd 1 clash so thought I'd get along to see the TigersvRaiders. Just a couple of questions:

1. Is Campbelltown likely to sell out and would you recommend me getting tickets before the game?
2. Where's the best place to be in the stadium?
3. Any ideas how to get from Nth Sydney (Ryde area) to the ground?
4. Any other helpful advice for someone attending the ground for the first time? (especially best place to get a beer before the game!)

Thanks for any answers.

tiger_nick

i think your best off catching the train to leumeah and walking to the stadium.

does anyone know how long that takes?

macnaz

i think your best off catching the train to leumeah and walking to the stadium.

does anyone know how long that takes?

Dont ask a question like that here , it'll start another arguement like "the walk to sfs" one lol:lol:

round 1, might be a good idea to buy a ticket

see www.131500.info for transport info. Not sure what's the closest station to Ryde, but change at either Strathfield or Granville for a South Line train to Lumeah. Cambeltown Sports Ground is right next to the station I think.

gallagher

As others have said its right next to Leumeah train station, Cambelltown line. As for a drink Wests leagues is next door to the ground too. You'll be amazed what pokies can do for beer and food prices!!!

Tiger Hawk

MNF at Campbelltown won't be sold out. 15,000 tops. Only about a 7 second walk from Loomeah to the ground. *edit*

Last edited by a moderator:

If youre driving, as ive done from nearby eastwood on several mondays, be prepared for a good 2 to 2.5 hour drive there, and 60/90 minutes back.

*edit*

Last edited by a moderator:

Surely would be quicker to catch a train then drive.

Cambo line at 10pm....dodgy as.

Just to satisfy my curiosity, and seeing as were in a time/distance rut here, theres a 9.37pm on Mon's and a 10.10pm mon's from leumeah heading to strathfield....you'd wanna get the first one cause the 2nd, changing at Strathfield gets to West Ryde at 11.50.

Bastard of a place for a Mon niter, driving or not.
More than likely will give this game a miss myself

The Gambler

There will be plenty of people catching the train home after the game surely?

Pack a knife if you have to.

macnaz

Anyway, back on topic, definitely think twice about taking a train at night - if this happens during the day at a shopping centre out in the slums I'd hate to think what might happen once the sun goes down:
Hey arent you from London TH ??? http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4661059.stm So why try score cheap points because a couple of 14 year old kids have a fight in a shopping centre .

Tiger Hawk

No. I lived in London for a couple of years. And it's not cheap points, I was only elaborating on what others had already said about the dangers of travelling in that area at night.

But good job with the London terror bombings reference by the way. A brawl in a shopping mall and one of the darkest days in Western society, up there with 9/11, have so much in common. Mug. :lol:

SaveTheChildren

Hi Tigers fans, I am in town for the Rd 1 clash so thought I'd get along to see the TigersvRaiders. Just a couple of questions:

1. Is Campbelltown likely to sell out and would you recommend me getting tickets before the game?
4. Any other helpful advice for someone attending the ground for the first time? (especially best place to get a beer before the game!)

Thanks for any answers.

Oh mate. The most deluded man on LU. We should meet for a beer at Cambo.

Probability of a sell out at Cambo == probability of man walking on the sun.

I've only ever driven there, but they appear to be on the train line. Outside of that, no one in their right mind has ever been there!

SaveTheChildren

Thanks for any answers.

If you wear a retro Wests jersey I"ll buy you as many beers as you can drink for the game :)

Wear your Wests jersey so I know who you are! Looking forward do ssing you and good luck in the jim beam cup!

Palms

To give you a straight answer mate (which is impossible to find here usually):

1. The crowd figure is likely to be pretty high as the Tigers get a pretty good ground average and being the first game of the year i'd imagine people would be itching to get to some footy. Ring up the leagues club for ticketing info or get it through ticketek.com which would prob be your best and easiest option as you can get the ticket sent to your email.

2. Anywhere in the seated stadium is good viewing, it just depeds on how comfortable you want to be and how much money you want to spend on tickets. The hill can be nice but if its crowded then invasion of space is pretty annoying so id recommend the stadiums.

3. As the lads said earlier you'll need to get onto the south line if you want to get there by train. www.cityrail.com will give you all the info necessasry including train timetables and routes. Alternatively if your hiring a car go to www.whereis.com and type in your starting destination to your finishing destination. This will give you a map and directions of the fastest way there. Traffic will be a problem on the way there though because of peek hour so get out and see U/20's and allow plenty of time.

SaveTheChildren

To give you a straight answer mate (which is impossible to find here usually):

1. The crowd figure is likely to be pretty high as the Tigers get a pretty good ground average and being the first game of the year i'd imagine people would be itching to get to some footy. Ring up the leagues club for ticketing info or get it through ticketek.com which would prob be your best and easiest option as you can get the ticket sent to your email.

2. Anywhere in the seated stadium is good viewing, it just depeds on how comfortable you want to be and how much money you want to spend on tickets. The hill can be nice but if its crowded then invasion of space is pretty annoying so id recommend the stadiums.

3. As the lads said earlier you'll need to get onto the south line if you want to get there by train. www.cityrail.com will give you all the info necessasry including train timetables and routes. Alternatively if your hiring a car go to www.whereis.com and type in your starting destination to your finishing destination. This will give you a map and directions of the fastest way there. Traffic will be a problem on the way there though because of peek hour so get out and see U/20's and allow plenty of time.

I am going from Nth Syd. I'll give him a lift! It isn't safe going to Cambo by rail or any means.

The outer is the only place to watch the game! He loves the jim beam remember!

I'll be on line line for at least another hour Perth. I'll drive you down from Nth Syd oval and buy you beers for the whole game. You can spend the whole time telling me why Perth should be in the NRL!
Gimme a line Perth!.....