Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Henson Improvements

G

gorilla

Marrickville Council will be informed of the following at their Technical Services meeting Tuesday, 16th November 2004.
"Henson Park Upgrading works are currently being planned for player amenity facilities at Henson Park. The works, to be completed by the beginning of the winter season in April 2005, include new showers and toilets, an additional change room (total of four), upgraded referees and first aid rooms and new fixtures and fittings. The new amenities will be universally accessible."

Jeffles

This is consistent with their plans of Annual Report of 2003-04. It isn't anything extra. But having said that it is good to see things done.

As I understand the showers are being relocated to downstairs. I haven't seen this but I hope it is true. The additional dressing room will be good for our double headers. The current arrangement was too cramped, especially when we play the Sydney "we spend more time at ICAC than we do at Potts Park" Bulls.

2 True Blues

How about fixing up the supporter toilets ? Is the council interested. ?

It is also hard to see the good work of the volunteers who thanklessly man the gates each home game come partly undone, by the fact that the metal mesh gate/fence between the scoreboard and the other amenities block/grandstand, is often get with wire cutters, and people are gainign access without paying in droves.

I do understand the difficulties associated with the maintenance of the fence during the week, but couldn't we board it up with metal sheets securely, as these people are always doing it EVERY home game, and apart from undoing some of the good work of the volunteers, it is also costing a battling club an entry fee. It pisses me off !!!!

2 True Blues: Maybe you could organise a squad of real Bluebag supporters to watch the game from near there?

As you know, the Blues volunteers are always short-handed on match day, and anyone who sneaks through there could then be given a hard time by a pack of Newtown supporters. Maybe that'd persuade them to cough up?

The main problem is the dog-walking types who chop it open every time it's patched up (yes, they walk their dogs while carrying bolt-cutters!).

Just an idea.

Regards,
TDT-1

2 True Blues

Well I geuss you never do know when you'll need a good pair of bolt cutters do you. It's better to be prepared. I wonder what they've got in their other pocket, a stick grenade.

I have been told that many of the dog walkers have their own key to the gate lock which is a kind of worry in itself. Might be time to change the lock, or maybe this will just increase the fence damage.

Anyway it was just a thought. I've got no problem in telling those cheap arseholes off if they come in through the fence, however expect to be allowed to stay and watch the rest of the game prior to be charged up the local lock-up for the all in brawl that is most likely to occur.

Can't we just board it up with strong metal sheets. Or even better metal sponsorship boards that may pay for themselves.

I don't want to miss a second of the Jets game when it's on, even if it is a slight pause to throw an empty at some cheap ****
coming through the fence.

Jeffles

I was walking through Henson the other day and there were ads everywhere.

"HENSON PARK DOG WALKERS CHRISTMAS PARTY"

Tuesday 7 December from 5pm

Anyone want to go down and give them a gob full?? I'd love to but my civility refrains me.

FFS they can go to Marrickvilee High, Wilkins School, Marrickville Oval or Wicks Park. Greedy pricks.

True, the tin sheets (or maybe heavy armour plate in view of the bolt-cutters) would be a more solid solution.

Perhaps a sign at that gate directed at the sneaker-inners saying something like:

"If you are sneaking through this gap in the fence on a Newtown Jets home game day you are a low scumbag who's stealing the life-blood of Australia's original Rugby League club.

"Real Jets supporters who are happy to pay full freight to barrack for their team wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire, you parasite."

Here's an off-the wall suggestion:

I remember reading that domestic animals can sense the origin of wild animal manure - i.e. dogs are terrified by lion and tiger crap - they can tell that something's around that could devour them in one gulp.

Anyone know someone who works at the zoo who could supply us with tiger, lion or grizzly bear shite to scare off the dogs who are walked at Henson.

Also, re their "Christmas Party", Jeffles, maybe you should put up your own notices about the "Henson Park Korean Dog Eaters' Christmas Party" to be held on the same date.

Regards,
TDT-1

2 True Blues

You didn't happen to have a dog or two with you did you Jeffles??

10 out of 10 for keeness. It's the off season mate. Did you run a couple of laps like in that power drink commercial with the sounds of cheering in your head, or were you just there to sniff some arseholes with some friends.

G

gorilla

Jeffles,
sorry about the delay - had the bum up (working, thank you.... :roll: )
go to the council website and check out the Technical Services Business Papers - these are what is put before Council, the Minutes should show the resolutions about the business paper items. 8)
see, click, go:
http://www.marrickville.nsw.gov.au/council/meetings/businesspapers.htm

The holes in the fences has been a problem for ages. If access was easier (like a walkway) then less people would cut fence to get in and the access could be closed on game days. Trouble is then you make it easy for vandals to get in. Which is worse the vandals or doggies ? Either way the cut fence doesn't help.

Glad to see the changerooms getting fixed and those showers being brought down from those bloody stairs - what a menace !

The public toilets are a mess to, over on the hill a bit of tree planting shouldn't go amiss.

Jeffles, there should be a thing called a 'community land plan of management' for the Park - ask Richard Sage at the Council (parks and reserves manager) about getting a copy and have a squiz at it. I don't know whats in it but it should exist (under Local Govenment Act 1993) and would be (as Sgt Schultz used to say) verrry interesting reading :idea: .
cheers

Jeffles

Thanks Gorilla.

The Council now opens the Park. The steel mesh doors next to the north wester and the Charlie Meader gates are open. The holes are created at night I think.

With this in mind I skim the ground on match day. It is not uncommon to see the odd stubby or long neck. Obviously they aren't ours - we have cans.

I'll do a check with the Council for that document. Would it be on the website?

G

gorilla

I'll do a check with the Council for that document. Would it be on the website?

No it won't be on the web, but they are required under the local government act to provide copies for the public. They might be allowed to charge a fee - should be reasonable (to purchase) and well worth it for the club
cheers mite
Goz

G

gorilla

Jeffles, if you get the chance can you email it to me also. I could have a squizz and perhaps help with the odd detail.
cheers

Jeffles

No worries.

I notice it is slightly out of date. It says that certain parts of the ground are not in use that we have started to use in the past couple of years.

PM your email address to me.

G

gorilla

Ta Jeffles, received and A-OK.

I'll have a squizz over the next month or so (VVVV busy) and let you know what I find.
cheers
;-)