Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Henson Park Raffles

Mr_Smith

I know that the club has 3 very prominent arse holes ( a 3 ring circus) but why in the name of god do we have to put up with a raffle seller walking around Henson park with his strides half way down his backside?
We on the hill got a great laugh out of it but it disgusted a young family in our vicinity!

maybe he should attend the clothing company and seek some assistance in acquiring suitable attire!

P.S credit should be passed onto Steve Helmich, a great day was had by all and the foresight in bringing new and more adventurous ways into the club is very much appreciated.

Thanks Steve

Ball_Licker

i saw that bloke too! agree with that Mr Smith!

Big crowd but what about the wait for the hill bar. what the heck has gone on there!! not only did i have to 1/2 hour to get a beer but then i didnt get any change cos the people in the shop said they didnt have any

big crowds like that wont come back if the service has slipped. Never used to be like that!!

thumbs up

Ball_Licker said:
i saw that bloke too! agree with that Mr Smith!

Big crowd but what about the wait for the hill bar. what the heck has gone on there!! not only did i have to 1/2 hour to get a beer but then i didnt get any change cos the people in the shop said they didnt have any

big crowds like that wont come back if the service has slipped. Never used to be like that!!
here here, my third visit to Henson park was Saturday just gone, I thought it was fantastic to see so many smiling faces, hear the laughter and the cheering, the booing of the referee, Saturday arvo footy had come back to life.
that was until I got hungry and waited what seemed a life time to get food just as "ball licker" has previously said, the change thing to me was also an issue but not as disturbing as having a canteen attendant unable to accurately calculate my change.

Can someone please direct my in the right direction to lodge a formal complaint about what seriously put a huge dampener on my day.

To those who worked feverishly your efforts are appreciated and I am not about to take a shot at any of you guys, you seemed to have very little support from your management.

Mr_Smith said:
I know that the club has 3 very prominent arse holes ( a 3 ring circus) but why in the name of god do we have to put up with a raffle seller walking around Henson park with his strides half way down his backside?
We on the hill got a great laugh out of it but it disgusted a young family in our vicinity!

maybe he should attend the clothing company and seek some assistance in acquiring suitable attire!

P.S credit should be passed onto Steve Helmich, a great day was had by all and the foresight in bringing new and more adventurous ways into the club is very much appreciated.

Thanks Steve

So you'll be doing the rounds on Wednesday night selling raffle tickets then? Rather than the said fellow with his arse hanging out...

Mr Smith, never afraid to tackle the important issues. Seriously though, attacking volunteers for their attire is pretty low. My advise would be to stop looking at his arse because I didn't notice.

Something has to be done about the line at the Hill bar though, that was pretty bad.

Die-Hard p/t Jet Fan said:
Mr Smith, never afraid to tackle the important issues. Seriously though, attacking volunteers for their attire is pretty low. My advise would be to stop looking at his arse because I didn't notice.

I don't think anyone did. Every Eel supporter who went that I've heard from had a great day - even those with losing raffle tickets.

Something has to be done about the line at the Hill bar though, that was pretty bad.

Probably not equipped to deal with a crowd of around the 3,000 mark. Though it's not a problem restricted to Henson Park. Happens everywhere. Parramatta Stadium, SFS, etc. etc. all have big queues for food and drink. Parra Stadium even has trouble having enough ticket windows open when they get a big walk-up crowd.

Jeffles

The problem with the Hill Bar, besides it being too small for the crowds we now get, was the absence of my brother! He was at his proper job that afternoon.

Even if he was there, it would still have been packed. We probably should have gone for a can bar up on the hill instead of next to the grandstand.

Have to admit that the queues on Sat were a bit longer that I was used to.

Can't have a go at the people behind the counter as they were doing a smahing job, but they just seemed a bit underprepared for the crowd. Guess it was a record afterall!

Mr_Smith

Die-Hard p/t Jet Fan said:

if you bothered to read I said "We on the hill got a great laugh out of it but it disgusted a young family in our vicinity!"

you will also find that the so called volunteers are paid. thus a uniform maybe an option so that they are noticable to the crowd? maybe the clothing company could come onboard and assist? that i am sure would be a few quick dollars in the coffer of a director and his family member pocket at the expense of Newtown yet again.

dont let the 3 ringed circus pull the wool over your eyes, the lack of directors help with the hands on approach to setting up, cleaning etc etc has bought this on.

yet they will release a statement on this very forum that I have been told "NOBODY" of any importance reads, a 6 point outline of what the board has done. that in itself reeks of hypocritical bullsh*t.

get your hands dirty and save the club a dollar!!

Mr_Smith

Henson Park Hornets said:
So you'll be doing the rounds on Wednesday night selling raffle tickets then? Rather than the said fellow with his arse hanging out...
Hornet, the difference being, I spend my fair share of money supporting Newtown, I don't expect to be treated any differently than the next bloke, I read on here time and time again what a greta job the "VOLUNTEERS" do for our club.

rest assured there is maybe 1 genuine person at Henson who does not take any money out of there, the others, including the sellers of merchandise, get paid from the game day takings, is that fair? a clothing company expecting Newtown to pay the wages of there casual staff?

The director of dictatorship, the owner of the clothing company should be utterly ashamed of himself, what would someone pay a casual for 3 hrs work? $30-$50 i would guess, yet they get the club to pay the wages.

look at last years financial report, not a mention of profit payed to the club from the clothing.

newtownbluebags

Mr_Smith said:
a uniform maybe an option so that they are noticable to the crowd?

not a bad idea really, often it's teenage kids & I'm a bit to :alcho: to notice whether they're fair dinkum or not? a "possible" scam in the waiting perhaps? yet a shirt clearly labelled would be very hard to obtain by anyone with less than honourable intentions now wouldn't it ;-) - > this was just thinking out loud btw :crazy:

2 True Blues

Jeffles said:
We probably should have gone for a can bar up on the hill instead of next to the grandstand.

A can bar on the Hill is an excellent idea mate. That way people who want to eat can go to the Hill Bar and still get a drink with their food, and the many that just want to have a few " Quick " beers can also go to the Can bar. In fact I reckon a LOT more cans of beer/food would have been sold if people hadnt have looked at the line , and then thought, f**k it. I will wait or just give it a miss as the lines too long. Top idea jeffles !!!!

Ball_Licker

Mr_Smith said:
Hornet, the difference being, I spend my fair share of money supporting Newtown, I don't expect to be treated any differently than the next bloke, I read on here time and time again what a greta job the "VOLUNTEERS" do for our club.

rest assured there is maybe 1 genuine person at Henson who does not take any money out of there, the others, including the sellers of merchandise, get paid from the game day takings, is that fair? a clothing company expecting Newtown to pay the wages of there casual staff?

The director of dictatorship, the owner of the clothing company should be utterly ashamed of himself, what would someone pay a casual for 3 hrs work? $30-$50 i would guess, yet they get the club to pay the wages.

look at last years financial report, not a mention of profit payed to the club from the clothing.
are these coments true?

does the president know his responsability's?

brendothejet

Until the owners/directors/coaches all hand over power to BTJ lets face it, the club will struggle.

If BTJ was a regular onfield performer the crowds would flock.

If BTJ was in charge of marketing, the sponsorship would roll in.

If BTJ was coach, the premiership would never leaev.

Sadly, people just don't reailse this.

Ball_Licker

Previously at big days it was organised to have extra catering, ie bbq and bar on the hill but not last weekend, was this due to poor management and that the club did not expect such a large crowd or lack of volunteers now as many seemed new and very few of the old ones and what actions did the board do from their perch in the lounge think.
Was it a case of look at the great crowd, the queues and thinking money money money, did any go and help the staff or just look from afar.
I feel for the canteen staff no back up to give them a break. no change, and no help for them.

This club has boasted about its working committe but how many were actually working for the day or just patting themselves on the back.

Why dont the club give the staff selling tickets a tshirt like other staff have saying they are staff, it is open to cons