Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hindy's comment on Finchy ??

forward pass

Did anyone else catch Hindys comments on Finchy on the Sunday Footy Show?

I thought he was talking tongue in cheek but there was no smirk or cheeky grin which made me think he meant it. What did everyone else think? They talked about them last night on Triple M and Gus reckons Hindy was dead serious.

For those that missed it - Hindy was asked about Finchys game against Bulldogs and his comment was " He played well and its about time. That was his first decent game since he joined us".

What did everyone else think. I was pretty surprised he said it - even if he was joking - I still don't think he should have said it !

Thoughts ?

I've learnt over the years that when ever a quote of this magnitude comes from Hindy, it's all tonque and cheek, I remember him biting back a few years ago after Brian Smith made a little remark about his big butt.

Hindyisms...aren't meant to be serious.

The Colonel said:

Hindyisms..... :lol:

one of the funniest PTV clips came when Hindy had his athroscope recently and he was just about to leave the hospital to go home and you can tell he was pissed about having to go home to look after the kids while Bonnie went to work..it was a classic :lol:

Bigfella

And to be honest it wasn't a statement Finchy could take a lot of offence at even if he took it as gospel.

But yes, IMO it was a typical Hindy throwaway - but it was perfectly deadpan and did make you wonder.

FROSTY319

A mate of mine in Sydney just told me that Hindy was interviewed on radio after saturday's game and they asked him about Finch's mom performance.
Supposedly he said something like 'it's about time' and that he had an 'ordinary year' last year and it was a long time coming etc.

Any truth to this ? Did anyone hear this ?

Hindy has a dry witt always has, i reckon he's the sort of guy that would say no instead of yes at the alter just for a piss take.

yeah, fp is a like a really bad fart, sometimes it just goes away but than there's a wind change and it's like....look out!

Kornstar

It was actually probably a fair comment from an attacking view, it was Finch's first good game since he got here, he has never really been any good with ball in hand at our club before that.....

I am sure Hindy meant it tongue in cheek though

forward pass

Utey said:
Umm are you serious?

About what ???

The point is, that even if it was tongue in cheek, it did not come off that way and maybe a wry smile would have let everyone know he was having a go.

The fact that supporters were sending emails to radio stations indicate that it was not taken that way. If it was on Parra TV - I would have pissed myself, but on Ch9???

Daneel

I didn't see it, but my cousin told me about it, and he reckon Hindy was dead set serious.

I prefer to believe it was tongue in cheek, however hindy has said some cranky things when interviewed after matches before.