Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How the NRL should look like.

The Great Dane

I am not sure what you are crapping on about here with your dumb point of view that has missed everything.

I am talking about Magpies to Adelaide and Tigers to Perth. You do it the same way the Swans did moving to Sydney. Keep a spiritual base in the original city and keep as many of those fans on board as possible. The Swans have stacks of Melbourne members.

Play a few of their home games at Campbelltown. What the big deal?

Bull shit, you were talking about the Tigers and Magpies sharing games between Sydney and Adelaide and Perth respectively, not relocation's to Adelaide and Perth, you're just back tracking now.

And WTH is this?
GWS did OK in Canberra for years while they were stone cold last. The Rabbitohs have been ordinary the last couple of year, but draw OK Perth crowds. You are talking complete nonsense dude.

An Adelaide Magpies club would be playing a lot of games in Sydney whether you like it or not. So would Western Tigers. Fans in those cities aren't going to let that stop them getting on board.

The Rabbitohs are still treated like a glamour club by the media, and GWS pulling frequent sub 10k crowds in a competition with an average attendance of 36000, having to pump up their numbers by giving thousands of tickets away to school children, and frankly having to fudge their numbers, is doing ok then we have different definitions ok.

And what about the failures that I talked about? What about the fallout from said failures that I briefly addressed?

Big difference between relocationand rebrand ala swans and a few games taken to a city ala gws. I'm not sure tboonknows which model he is advocating. IF the nrl wanted to address the Sydney overstairation then magpies to Perth with the benefits of Wests LC support and jnr system link up, but rebranded Western Magpies and adding gold to the black and white jersey could work, but that would mean the end of Wests Tigers and the Tigers brand which I couldn't see ever happening.

BuffaloRules

Yep... Must be rep weekend....

No interesting footy games to talk about so let's bring up the Tigers to Perth for the umpteenth time....

Like I say every time this happens.... They got the highest average crowds last year of all the Sydney teams..

Souths crowds are back in the gutter 2 years after their premiership....

Move them to Perth instead...

T-Boon

Bull shit, you were talking about the Tigers and Magpies sharing games between Sydney and Adelaide and Perth respectively, not relocation's to Adelaide and Perth, you're just back tracking now.

You've got mental problems.
8 games in Perth and Adelaide is a relocation in any sane persons book. It is a sensible number of games to play at home in a city like those two who have minimal interest in League. Saturate the town with 12 games and you just reduce crowds. Everyone agrees we play too many games for crowd purposes anyway.
You really need to get it together.

You've got mental problems.
8 games in Perth and Adelaide is a relocation in any sane persons book. It is a sensible number of games to play at home in a city like those two who have minimal interest in League. Saturate the town with 12 games and you just reduce crowds. Everyone agrees we play too many games for crowd purposes anyway.
You really need to get it together.

Wouldn't work, especially in Perth. Any relocated team would need a rebrand and relocation fully to make it work. I could see ten games in Perth and two at the old teams ground but that would be as much as would be acceptable.

T-Boon

Wouldn't work, especially in Perth. Any relocated team would need a rebrand and relocation fully to make it work. I could see ten games in Perth and two at the old teams ground but that would be as much as would be acceptable.

You think Perth is ready for 12 games? I think 8 would be heaps, 10 would be too many. Agree to disagree.

Newcastle are struggling to field a First Grade side and the NRL are propping up at least 4 Clubs in the NRL and people are spruiking more teams.

f**king madness!!

Keep Newcastle. Keep Gold Coast. Sort out Tigers permanently in Macarthur/Campbelltown. Shit can the 4th. Bring in Perth.

How many new teams does anyone propose?

Next step show me their squads of 30 players for next season made up of all the players in State Cup for whatever new teams you want and post them here.

This will show you how stupid expansion is without getting rid of any existing teams.

T-Boon

Next step show me their squads of 30 players for next season made up of all the players in State Cup for whatever new teams you want and post them here.

This will show you how stupid expansion is without getting rid of any existing teams.

The big problem is the quality of coaching. There just is none. They all come from Bellamy's stable (or have adopted his style). The only difference between all the coaches is their ability to man manage and recruit.

If there were different styles of play being coached we could get heaps of players from the lower grades.

Hopefully a Perth club might try to play its own style.

siv

In my opinion the Tigers and the Magpies would be happier if they separated. Its just not working out. I like the idea of the Adelaide Magpies (or maybe Southern Magpies or South West Magpies). They could play up to 5 games a year at Campbelltown (better than the present deal). The Tigers could move to Perth and call themselves the Western Tigers and likewise play 5 games a year at Leichhardt (better than the present deal).
Make it a bitter split with allegations of infidelity (and DV) and you could have their yearly clash at ANZ in front of every League fan in the city.

Wests want to stick to their Ashfield roots

How many new teams does anyone propose?

I reckon if you took the best player in their position in nsw cup, qland cup and the top 5 under 20's players, added some SL players and built stronger development pathways in png and Fiji you could introduce competitive new teams without weakening current clubs within 3 years.

Haffa

I reckon if you took the best player in their position in nsw cup, qland cup and the top 5 under 20's players, added some SL players and built stronger development pathways in png and Fiji you could introduce competitive new teams without weakening current clubs within 3 years.
The best players in those comps are all contracted to the top 6 or 7 teams in the NRL. The current bottom 8 teams can't sign them what makes you think a team in Perth can?

jim_57

The best players in those comps are all contracted to the top 6 or 7 teams in the NRL. The current bottom 8 teams can't sign them what makes you think a team in Perth can?

That's a very broad statement which I think you'd find hard to back up. The team sitting top of NSW Cup are linked with an NRL team that is 11th and one of the teams joint top of QLD Cup has no NRL club link and no NRL contracted players.

Stormwarrior82

Even if that was the case, concessions should be made for any new team and they should be allowed to raid any player not in Nrl and those nrl players that are on the market are free for all. Union, overseas sl/union or anywhere on the planet. However teams need to have a core group of players from the area to have any sort of local affiliation/support.