Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How will your team line up in 2006/07?

Eddie.

Don't matter if it is Man U, Sydney FC, NZ, Barcelona or Hursltone Park Over 40's. Let us know.

Chelsea

Gains - Ballack, Shevchenko. John Obi Mikel, Solomon Kalou

Obviously 2 massive gains. Watched Ballack closely during the WC and he was impressive. Seems to have alot of time on the ball and a good passing range. Has a strong shot and is dangerous in the air.

Sheva was always Jose's number 1 target since he became manager. Drogba and Crespo, before so JFH, Gudjohnsen ann Mutu have all been sources of frustration up front at times. A truly world class striker was the only piece of the jigsaw missing.

Both will have to adjust to the fast pace of the English game.

Losses - Gudjohnsen, Carlton Cole

Im Glad Eidur went to Barcelona. He is a creative midfielder and could really shine their. He gave Chelsea 6 great years and will be remembered fondly by the club.

Rumours -

* Has been alot of talk that Asier Del Horno will be sold. Good ridance i say. Wayne Bridge is returning from loan at Fulham and will slot back in nicely should Del Horno go. Ashley Cole rumours have not gone away.

* Gallas to Milan was the talk when we signed Shevo? Looks like the club has said no way. Billy is an awesome, versatile player, and was Chelsea's best player last season.

* Robert Huth was all done and dusted to the Riverside however he has failed a medical after the WC and the deal has fallen through. Joy :sarcasm:.

* Damien Duff has been linked to Tottenham. He lost his touch last season and looked more a workmanlike player then the dynamic player he was in 2004/05. Would be sad to see him go because he has given good service to Chelsea and isone of the fans favourites.

* Crespo's supposed return to Italy seems to have died down. I'm surprised as he might find himself 3rd choice striker, certainly not good news if Chelsea continue to play 1 up front. Crespo is a fine player although there is a chance he could become disenchanted.

Possible Starting Line Up

------------------- Cech -----------------------

Gallas------ Carvalho-----Terry----------Bridge

-------------------Makelele---------------------

--------------Lampard-----Ballack--------------

----Cole------------------------------Robben----

-------------------Shevchenko-------------------

Other Possibilities

* Jose likes Drogba so i wouldn't be surprised if he played 2 up front.

* Obviously Michael Essien demands a place in the starting Line up. He is a box to box player and a huge presence with his bustling type play in midfield. He will start if Chelsea play only one wide player. He will put heat On Lampard on Ballack. He can also cover Maka's defensive midfield role. Needs to find a few more goals this season

* Damien Duff and SWP provide Sufficent cover for the wide players

Expectations

* 3rd straight Premiership title will be sweet. Im not sure who will run second, Liverpool seem the only side who have a bit on us, so maybe they could challange. I Doubt it though. Last Season We belted Man U 3-0, Liverpool 6-1 aggregate in the premiership, and Arsenel 3-0 aggregate in the premiership. They all have their work cut out considering the side is even better.

* Be good to win the CL or FA Cup, although they remain trophys which you can never bank on as one bad day and you are gone. Premiership remians the main goal.

domdom

good summary eddie. good idea for a thread too.

my team's real madrid, so here goes.

gains: new coaching staff (fabio copello + pedja mijatovic - both old faces at the club) no new players as yet. hell of a lot of rumors flying around. looks like cannavaro and emerson of juve are following fabs. also are chasing ruud and rumours abound with cris ronaldo, cesc fabregas and any other halfway decent player in italy. looks like barca are getting zambrotta, which is a shame, as i'd like to see robby carlos get shown the door (doesnt look like it'll happen).

losses: not many as yet. again, lots of rumours. fabs is yet to start his cleanout, expect one soon. i have a feeling raul might get the punt as will becks.

prospects:

i doubt fabs can build a team capable of knocking barca off its perch just yet, he'll needs a season at least to put it together, as for the kings cup and CL, i think we have a chance. with all knockout comps, you just need to be the better team on the day, and with that much talent, anything is possible.

to be continued i guess........

Iafeta

Fair dinkum Eddie, Chelvski are looking brilliant.

Viva la revolution - Go Chelvski!

Bumble

So far this thread is a massive wankfest for the two biggest scum clubs on earth, lovely.

Leeds - Championship Winners 2006/07
Celtic - SPL and Champions League Winners 2006/07

MrSharky

Real Madrid next season (likely):-

Casillas

Salgado-S.Ramos-Cannavaro-R.Carlos

Emerson

Guti

Beckham-----------------------Robinho

Raul (c)

Ronaldo/RvN​

Manager: Fabio Capello

Gains: Fabio Cannavaro, Emerson (both Juventus), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United)

Losses: Zinedine Zidane (retired), Roberto Soldado (loan, Osasuna), Alvaro Arbeloa (Deportivo la Coruna)

Rumoured Gains: Kaka, Andrea Pirlo (both AC Milan), Cesc Fabregas, Jose Antonio Reyes (both Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruud van Nistelrooy (both Manchester United), Joaquin (Real Betis), Xabi Alonso (Liverpool), Mahamadou Diarra (Lyon), Borja Oubina (Celta Vigo)

Rumoured Losses: Thomas Gravesen, Javier Portillo (loan, Bordeaux), Roberto Carlos (Fenerbahce, NOOOO), Francisco Pavon (Villarreal)

We NEED an a replacement for Zidane soon, and Roberto better not be leaving... :(

icon6.gif

borat

Chelsea have lost Damian Duff and Del Horno. Should replace one if not both before the transfer window closes.

aqua_duck

FC Barcelona

Gains:Eidur Gudjohnsen, Lillian Thuram, Gianluca Zambrotta

The big gain for me is Zambrotta because he can cover so many positions. He's abit like the Chris Flannery of soccer. Barcelona's weakest area's on paper are the left and right fullback positions nwith Oleguer being useless most of the time and Gio Van Bronkhorst, who is solid but will never quite be world class. Zambrotta can cover both left and right fullback, he can play as an overlapping nwingback, defensive midfielder or on both flanks in midfield, so in essence we're getting about 5 different players in one. Thuram will add steel to the back, whilst I don't see him displacing Carles Puyol, and Rafa Marquez (who I thought had a very good WC), he's more than adequate defensive cover in the centre. In the past he's also played as a RB, which is good since Oleguer is pathetic, and needs to go ASAP. Gudjohnsen will be a straight swap for Henke Larrson and will warm the bench alot but like Henke will be given sufficient playing time.

Losses:Henke Larrson, Gabri
Sad to see Larrson go, will always be remembered for the last game he ever played for Barca in the CL final. Even though he was only at the club for 2 years he seemed to really take the club and the fans to his heart. Utter professional who always did the job he was asked. Just on Gabri, he was barcelona through and through but he just couldn't crack the line up, will dop well at Ajax

Line up
------------Valdes
Thuram--Puyol--Marquez--Zambrotta

---------Xavi--------Iniesta--------

--------------Deco-----------------

--------Messi--------Ronaldinho-----

----------------Eto'o----------------

Other possibilities:
In all honesty Thuram probably won't start the season at RB, I reckon Frank will play Zambrotta at RB and stick with Van Bronkhorst at LB. The only other position in contention would be in midfield, with Thiago Motta, Mark Van Bommel and Andreas Iniesta competing for 1 spot.

The squad in anycase looks alot better than the 1 that won the La Liga/Champions League double. Messi will be there and 1 year older and wiser, but the big gain for me is Xavi, who missed most of last season with injury. Also Zambrotta is a valuable recruit who strengthens the areas that we need strengthening.
Also, look out for a youngster in Giovanni Dos Santos, will be 17 or 18 this season and could have a Messi like influence

Expectations:
Obviously a repeat of last season would be pretty good, maybe add the domestic cups as a target too.
With an even stronger line up than last season its hard to see anyone challenging for La Liga, so I guess the big one will be back to back CL titles.

weasel

----------------Willis-------------------

Dilevski--Gibson--McCloughan--Buess

-----------------Seo--------------------

Murdocca------Packer------------Mckay

----------Reinaldo-----Milicic-----------

Dunno how we'll go, looks a bit weaker than last season; unfortunately we're governed by a salary cap, otherwise we might still have the a-league's finest at the club.

Tom Shines

I don't know how they would line up, but here is my preferred City line up.

James

Mills---Dunne---Distin---Thatcher

Sinclair---Reyna---Barton
Sibierski

Vassell---Sampras
Bench:
Schmeichel
Sun Jihai
Hamann
Cole
Dickov

Tom Shines

Not a bad side, but doesn't look quite as good when Anelka/Wanchope/Tarnat/McManaman were doing the round.
Samaras has been a good buy last year, plus Hamann, but I think age and depth is a concern.

Mr. Fahrenheit

aqua_duck said:
FC Barcelona

The big gain for me is Zambrotta because he can cover so many positions. He's abit like the Chris Flannery of soccer. Barcelona's weakest area's on paper are the left and right fullback positions nwith Oleguer being useless most of the time and Gio Van Bronkhorst, who is solid but will never quite be world class. Zambrotta can cover both left and right fullback, he can play as an overlapping nwingback, defensive midfielder or on both flanks in midfield, so in essence we're getting about 5 different players in one. Thuram will add steel to the back, whilst I don't see him displacing Carles Puyol, and Rafa Marquez (who I thought had a very good WC), he's more than adequate defensive cover in the centre. In the past he's also played as a RB, which is good since Oleguer is pathetic, and needs to go ASAP. Gudjohnsen will be a straight swap for Henke Larrson and will warm the bench alot but like Henke will be given sufficient playing time.

Sad to see Larrson go, will always be remembered for the last game he ever played for Barca in the CL final. Even though he was only at the club for 2 years he seemed to really take the club and the fans to his heart. Utter professional who always did the job he was asked. Just on Gabri, he was barcelona through and through but he just couldn't crack the line up, will dop well at Ajax

Line up
------------Valdes

Other possibilities:
In all honesty Thuram probably won't start the season at RB, I reckon Frank will play Zambrotta at RB and stick with Van Bronkhorst at LB. The only other position in contention would be in midfield, with Thiago Motta, Mark Van Bommel and Andreas Iniesta competing for 1 spot.

The squad in anycase looks alot better than the 1 that won the La Liga/Champions League double. Messi will be there and 1 year older and wiser, but the big gain for me is Xavi, who missed most of last season with injury. Also Zambrotta is a valuable recruit who strengthens the areas that we need strengthening.
Also, look out for a youngster in Giovanni Dos Santos, will be 17 or 18 this season and could have a Messi like influence

Expectations:
Obviously a repeat of last season would be pretty good, maybe add the domestic cups as a target too.
With an even stronger line up than last season its hard to see anyone challenging for La Liga, so I guess the big one will be back to back CL titles.

thx mate, and some good points made... but isnt ur diagram a bit f**ked up? like the left is right and the right is left... but anywayi disagrtee on oleguer... he is decent id rather get rid of bronckhorst.

aqua_duck said:
FC Barcelona

Line up
------------Valdes

Other possibilities:

Expectations:

omg, jizz. we will f**k sh*t up next season, noone can stop us. Som la gant blaugrana tenim un nom el sap tothom barca barca barca!

Phillips

Arsenal

Lehmann​

Cole/Clichy -- Senderos -- Toure -- Eboue​

Reyes -- Fabregas -- Gilberto -- Rosicky​

Henry -- Van Persie​

Subs

Almunia -- Flamini -- Hleb -- Ljungberg -- Adebayor​

Other

Poom - Cygan :)crazy: ) - Djourou - Lauren - Hoyte - Song - Muamba - Larrson - Diaby - Walcott - Stokes - Aliadiere - Lupoli - Bendtner​

Gilbert (on loan)​

Bumble

Coleman said:
I don't know how they would line up, but here is my preferred City line up.

James

Mills---Dunne---Distin---Thatcher

Sinclair---Reyna---Barton
Sibierski

Vassell---Sampras
Bench:
Schmeichel
Sun Jihai
Barton
Cole
Dickov

Barton on the bench and in the team?

And where's Hamaan? I assume one of the Barton's is meant to be him..

Daza_06

Phillips said:
Arsenal

Lehmann​

Cole/Clichy -- Senderos -- Toure -- Eboue​

Reyes -- Fabregas -- Gilberto -- Rosicky​

Henry -- Van Persie​

Subs

Almunia -- Flamini -- Hleb -- Ljungberg -- Adebayor​

Other

Poom - Cygan :)crazy: ) - Djourou - Lauren - Hoyte - Song - Muamba - Larrson - Diaby - Walcott - Stokes - Aliadiere - Lupoli - Bendtner​

Gilbert (on loan)​

hahahahaha Walcott can make the England WC squad but cant even make Arsenals bench. Suppose it is a good looking bench though, he could be loaned out this season

juggalo_strit

The might of Lancashire (Blackburn) will be looking to follow on from a tremendous 2005/2006 season which see them finish 6th in the EPL and qualify for the UEFA cup.
We've lost Bellamy (Liverpool), Dickov (Man City), Gresko (released), Amoruso (released).
We've signed Jeffers and Roberts for replacement forwards and a reserve keeper in Brown.

Jeffers and Roberts are promising players who will lift under the reins of Mark Hughes. There is still a hole left from Bellamy (wanker), i'm sure MH is looking to sign a big name to play alongside either Jeffers & Roberts. Rumours had it that Mido was signing but that deal is looked to have fallen by the wayside. At the moment the 2 players under the microscrope by the Rovers coaching team are Lua Lua and McCarthy.

They've so far play a friendly against Accy Stanley with a promising 3-0 effort with a fairly weak team even though it was against a VERY weak team.

I think we'll run mid table and hopefully have a good run in all 3 cups especially the UEFA Cup.

C'MON ROVERS!!!!!!!!!

Phillips

Daza_06 said:
hahahahaha Walcott can make the England WC squad but cant even make Arsenals bench

perhaps because the kid is only 17 years old and has alot of quality infront of him

not to worry, im sure he will plenty of game time though ;-)

Daza_06

im just saying that it was fairly stupid to put Walcott in the world cup squad when there are heaps of players that should of been in front of him and the fact that he wasnt on the bench for Arsenal. Im sure he will play in the EPL though if he doesnt get loaned out to a Championship club, he has quite a few ahead of him at Arsenal in the form of strikers