Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ICC moves to stop Channel Nine's betting ads

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/news/article/-/5252661/icc-moves-stop-channel-nines-betting-ads

ICC moves to stop Channel Nine's betting ads
ABC - January 9, 2009, 12:12 pm

Channel Nine's cricket commentary has come under fire from the International Cricket Council (ICC) and anti-gambling advocates, who say the on-air advertising for a betting agency puts the integrity of the game at risk.

The ICC has stepped in to try to stop the practice.

The ICC refuses to have any dealings with gambling ventures and goes to great lengths to prevent players from betting on games after the damaging a match fixing scandal in the 1990s.

But Channel Nine has not been deterred by the controversy surrounding its decision to advertise betting agency Betfair during its ball-by-ball cricket commentary.

During the course of their commentary, Channel Nine's team has been giving viewers updates on the latest odds available from the betting agency.

Here is an example of the advertising, from one of the country's most recognisable cricket commentators, former Australian captain Richie Benaud.

"Just a note about the major turnarounds in Betfair trading today. We've taken a first innings lead, Australia were $1.24 at the start of play and they're now $5, so the draw might still be a decent bet," he said on-air.

The advertising tactics have stunned gambling opponents such as independent South Australian Senator Nick Xenaphon, who says it is inappropriate.

"Those revered commentators spruiking Betfair in the way that they have really undermines their credibility and has a potential to undermine the credibility of cricket," he said.

The ICC's president David Morgan is also disturbed by the television advertising.

"That is something that Haroon Lorgat, our chief executive has been in conversation with Cricket Australia about," he told ABC radio's PM program.

"I know that the whole issue of the discretion of odds, on current games being broadcast is something that Mr Lorgat has had some discussion with Cricket Australia about.

"What we are convinced about is cricketers are no longer assisting bet makers."

Cricket Australia has a sponsorship deal with Betfair, as has Channel Nine. It's understood Cricket Australia is pleased with its deal.

The network did not return PM's calls.

Senator Xenophon says the ICC needs to do more to stop what he describes as the blatant promotion of gambling.

"It's clear that what Cricket Australia is doing - cosying up with Betfair is bad for the game of cricket," he said.

"There are real dangers with Betfair's involvement with cricket, the very nature of Betfair where you can bet on a losing event, you can bet on someone playing badly, that opens up the game of cricket to corrupt events.

"The ICC really needs to go much further rather than just skirting around the issue."_Based on a report by Alison Caldwell for PM_

good move

only doing it because 9 and betfair are pretty much one in the same yet rarely disclose it

coach

I wasn't impressed with the likes of Benaud, Chappell and Taylor continually giving us the betting market for the game. It was promoting the game the wrong way. I hope they stop it.

But its not only in the criket coverage that C.9 does it. It also happens in their league coverage.

can't recall hearing it in the footy

they only show 1 game live generally depending on where you live so it would be pretty pointless

byrne_rovelli_fan82

Need to step it up, it was irritating to hear it over the commentary, but considering Aussies are a people of gamblers it doesn't surprise me. haha

Legal product, no issues here.

The commentators did mention betfair, but hey so the f**k what.

They plug lots of legal products

can't recall hearing it in the footy

they only show 1 game live generally depending on where you live so it would be pretty pointless

Ray Warren and Gould talk about betting a fair bit in the coverage.

El's got it right, they only ever mention betting pre-match on NRL live telecasts, not during it.

lockyno1

Meh..the old saying goes "bet at your own risk". If you are stupid enough to bet, then you are stupid enough to lose. My theory is that as long as you only bet an amount that you can afford to lose you will be fine.

It's a bit different though, live coverage of a league match to a 5 day test....

Exactly.

To be honest I don't see the problem. There are sufficient warnings about gambling and from the professional side the players know it's their own heads if they do it and get caught.

I've got no problem with this - it's a legitimate business.

fish eel

Exactly.

To be honest I don't see the problem. There are sufficient warnings about gambling and from the professional side the players know it's their own heads if they do it and get caught.

I've got no problem with this - it's a legitimate business.

Do you really need Richie Benaud encouraging people to take a bet during play?

I don't have a problem with betting on the cricket, within reason, but having the idiot commentators flogging Betfair every 10 minutes sh*ts me.

As does the memorabilia. Why people buy this crap beats me - they flog so much of it that its basically worthless.

Do you really need Richie Benaud encouraging people to take a bet during play?
No different to buying a Ricky Pointing sporting memorabilia or a 3 mobile.
*Still love the skit I saw some show - the "Poohs" best hits. Deltra's panties and Paris' panties*