Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ideal Games allocation??

BuffaloRules

I wouldn't mind having a discussion on this free of the usual LO/Cambo angst...

I think that we should accept that the number of games at each ground will be the same as one side wont let the other side have more games... Agreed??

Some comments/questions...

Telstra

Doesn't the 5 game a year deal with Telstra finish this year?

Are we still that hard up for the money that we need to play 5 games a year there??

I would like to see us go to a 4-4-4 split next year between the 3 grounds for say the next 2 years.

After that I would still like us to play Parra and Canterbury at Telstra. Hopefully these games should be attracting 30,000 minimum which makes them too big to be held at LO/Cambo...

So I think the ideal split should be 5-5-2...

Cambo

I think the thing missing about Cambo is that it doesn't have its annual grudge match.

Leaving Parra/Dogs out of the equation, I think that the Manly home game should be played every year at Cambo and really hype up the nostalgia about the Fibros V Silvertails...

I know that Balmain had a big rivalry with Manly to, and I love seeing Manly play at LO, but I think the game can be a bigger event longer terms at Cambo..

LO

Continue having Souths as the big grudge match. I have attended the last couple of Souths games at LO on Sunday arvos, and the atmosphere has been great..

Heritage Day

Other than the big grudge match day, have another home game at LO and Cambo where the old jerseys get a run...

Bluetongue

We got a good crowd there this year, but not a fan. We should be getting 19,000 to LO and Cambo every game with a bit smarter promotion...

The Draw

There should be no excuses why the NRL cannot come up with a draw that at the very least ensures annual home and away clashes with Dogs, Parra, Souths and Manly at a minimum...

Also, it seems like ages since we played the Broncos in a regular season match in Sydney?

4 & 4 with 3 at Telstra sounds the best we'll do with one elsewhere. I'd like to say "Screw Bluetongue" but I think they're going to keep that going.

Canberra should definately be at Campbelltown and Souths at Leichhardt. I'd like to see Manly at Campbelltown too and Parramatta at Leichhardt.

Funnily enough, I feel that the Canberra thing is going to evolve, the crowds have been good and the Canberra supporters seem to travel to Campbelltown in numbers. The Cronulla thing is going ok, but who seriously can hate a team with their record? (Apart from Saints supporters).

Agree with most of your post mate, it's too few matches at either ground at the moment and even at 4 it's not enough, but it's probably the best we can hope for.

We have an advantage at Leichhardt and I'd like us to play the top sides there as much as anyone but we need to slot at least one top-line game at Campbelltown each year. Anyone who though that the Tits, Sharks or Warriors was mouth-watering for potential supporters has rocks in their head.

alien

I reckon we should play 4 @ c'town, 4 @ telstra and 4 @ leichhardt but I'm not sure exactly how much money we need from playing @ telstra.

6 and 6. Win football games and bank balances, merchandise sales, sponsorships etc look after themselves. It is hard enough to make a 4 or 8 without selling home ground advantage like Canterbury Rd crack whores

Gus22

At the time of signing the Telstra Stadium deal, TS Management would have been very keen to sign up another tenant as the Bulldogs (& possibly the Swans) were the only contracted organisations. As a result the deal they offered was pretty sweet. With Souths now on board as a permanent tenant, along with the Bulldogs, Swans, & Cricket Australia/NSW (I believe), I doubt that any offer they submit will be quite as enticing as last time around.

If that’s the case then the number of games at CS & LO should be increased to 5 each. Two games at Bluetongue if Singo makes an offer too good to refuse (which I believe will happen), otherwise 6@CS & 6@LO.

super_coach

I would give telstra the big flick if possible , 4 at lords 4 at cambo and melbourne and auckland games at gosford. My maths a bit shoddy make it 5 and 5 at lords and cambo

Gus22 said:
At the time of signing the Telstra Stadium deal, TS Management would have been very keen to sign up another tenant as the Bulldogs (& possibly the Swans) were the only contracted organisations. As a result the deal they offered was pretty sweet. With Souths now on board as a permanent tenant, along with the Bulldogs, Swans, & Cricket Australia/NSW (I believe), I doubt that any offer they submit will be quite as enticing as last time around.

If that’s the case then the number of games at CS & LO should be increased to 5 each. Two games at Bluetongue if Singo makes an offer too good to refuse (which I believe will happen), otherwise 6@CS & 6@LO.

I agree with you, TS next offer wont be anything close to what the original one was.

The thing is this deal equates to 1/8th of our cap, were going to have to find another $.5m and more in the coming years if we dont renew....I doubt BTS will be good for anything more than the odd 1 or 2 also.

The only thing TS offers the real fans is some comfort over atmosphere...gimmee the latter any day.

TS doesn't have money to spunk like it did before. If I recall correctly the company STadium Australia LImited was effectively taken over by the ANZ bank. SAL wasn't even turning over enough (let alone making enough profit) to cover the interest on it's $150m debt. They won't be spunking what they did last time, especially given the perilous financial state

http://telstrastadium.com.au/upload/file/file_200741616401414630.pdf

http://www.smh.com.au/news/business...control-for-10m/2006/11/15/1163266637056.html

Yes it's comfortable and a great view but it is a sh*thole unless there are 35,000 people there and that rarely happens.

The greatest attraction for a potential sponsor is to be associated with a winning team. Therefore if home games are played at proper home grounds and the team wins more games, gets on TV more etc, sponsors will come. Will sponsors come if we are getting lapped weekly at a white elephant like telstra.

I hope we give it the arse. Then i can flog my membership off

gr8_1

6-6 split is ideal. Just can't see it happening in the near future.

How are the WT going to cater for the corporates ? LO and CS have poor corporate facilities. Both grounds also have poor amenities and limited seating.

For me its ok as we generally stand at games, but Telstra offers more for a family who needs a bit of comfort.

Hopefully, at least one (or both) of the traditional grounds get upgraded soon !! Cause at the moment the only thing that has been 'upgraded' at both grounds is the lighting.

alien

I think most of us would like 6 at c'town and 6 at leichhardt but they say we wont make enough money that way so we might have to play some of them games at telstra. atleast that is easy to get too. stuff playing homegames @ gosford and christchurch

gallagher

themanonthehill said:
The greatest attraction for a potential sponsor is to be associated with a winning team. Therefore if home games are played at proper home grounds and the team wins more games, gets on TV more etc, sponsors will come. Will sponsors come if we are getting lapped weekly at a white elephant like telstra.

As stated in another thread, when we DID play at only LO and CS we attracted less sponsors and won less games. I suppose you'll just brush over this fact and start insulting people as usual.

If I wanted to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on sponsoring a footy team I'd want to entertain clients/customers at a world class venue.

Do you think we lost more games because back then we had a Joel Caine whereas we now have a Hodgo ... or a Senter where we now have a Farah ... or a Withers where we now have a Benji .. or a sparkles where we now have a Collis ? We have a good to very good team now. You strike whilst the iron is hot. We have the team and if we play out of proper home grounds the rest looks after itself.

Ninja

Lets face it both grounds are sh*t holes.

Leichhardt, although with a fantastic view and great positioning is like visiting a football ground in a 3rd world country. Rotting stands, people sitting on top of toilets a bloke puting cardboard cut out numbers on to the scoreboard.. its embarrassing.

Campbelltown is, although not rotting, still a lifeless sh*t hole. Who ever was behind the redevelopment needs to go stand out on the M5. That thing on the Eastern side is not a stand- it is a hill with seats on it with a cheap ass tin roof over the top of it. And Im not even going to start with the Western stand. Lets just say we played our under 6s Grand Final there and the facilities weren't good enough.

I say level the both of them and play out of Concord while they both get redevoloped into stadiums fit for football in the 21st century.

super_coach

It will never happen but Leichardt council west-tigers should join forces and devolpe LO with a grand stand going fom Mary street right round to the goal posts at the northern end. Leaving half the ground grandstands and 1/2 hill. The difference from now, make the back of the grandstands into a corparate park with offices overlooking iron cove with gyms etc. Perfect place for an accountant or what ever to run a buissness. Than the ground becomes a all year round revenue raising venture. But after the dogs disaster with the oasis development will not happen

colonel_123

themanonthehill said:
Do you think we lost more games because back then we had a Joel Caine whereas we now have a Hodgo ... or a Senter where we now have a Farah ... or a Withers where we now have a Benji .. or a sparkles where we now have a Collis ? We have a good to very good team now. You strike whilst the iron is hot. We have the team and if we play out of proper home grounds the rest looks after itself.

Don't we have a good team now because we can afford to spend the entire cap and hold onto players like Farah, Collis, Marshall and Hodgson, where we couldn't before the Telstra deal?

gallagher

colonel_123 said:
Don't we have a good team now because we can afford to spend the entire cap and hold onto players like Farah, Collis, Marshall and Hodgson, where we couldn't before the Telstra deal?

Well your talking sense there mate. Themanonthehill wont be able to comprehend you.

simon says

colonel_123 said:

We won in 2005 without spending all our cap.

And the players you mention are home grown.

Aside from the Doggies game which could draw the 30k.....I cant see any reason to have Telstra anymore.

If the team is going well......the crowds should be close to full if not that way,and surely we would win more with a 6/6 split.

I hate watching teams like Manly have this great home ground record.....when I know we could be the same.

We got the money of TS when we needed it,its time to show some balls and pay the fans back by giving us ALL home games next year and beyond.

Nook

I think we are over-estimating the crowds we will be getting at Leichhardt and Campbo if we go back to a 6:6 split.

Having a good team is obviously a big part of it but I also reckon the reduced number of games at each of the 'local' grounds has played a role.

I think 4:4:4 would be a decent way to do it, and although the current split isn't ideal I can't say I have a huge issue with it (over and above Campbo not getting at least one big opponent).

6:6 is the dream but with two pretty dodgy old grounds that can't generate the same cashflow of the big stadiums what is the point?

Telstra will not be offering what they have in the past. The purse strings have been tightened since the ANZ took effective control. Telstra has had 3 yrs of us and like you say Simon it is time the games were returned to where we were promised they would be in 1999 at both the Balmain and Wests AGMs

gallagher

themanonthehill said:
Telstra will not be offering what they have in the past. The purse strings have been tightened since the ANZ took effective control. Telstra has had 3 yrs of us and like you say Simon it is time the games were returned to where we were promised they would be in 1999 at both the Balmain and Wests AGMs

At last someone said it.
Was that so hard?

All you had to say to start with is that you want games at LO because you love going there. There was no ned to try and come up with other reasons like it will mean winning more games and greater profitablility.