Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Any Publicity Still Good Publicity?

A small item in this morning's SMH could be the start of a lot more mentions as Les Mara joins the pantheon of past Jets greats who've spent some time on the run from the authorities.

Perhaps our recruitment slogan could become:
"Join The Jets and See the world (at least until they catch you).

PICS IN DEMAND: Old footy cards showing former Balmain, South Sydney and Newtown five-eighth Les Mara have bobbed up for sale on eBay.

He is at large after being named by police for his alleged involvement in a cocaine syndicate.

I wonder whether G Sullivan has a spare bunk in his cell?

It's interesting that whenever a past player does something good that their time at the Jets goes unmentioned in the press, but when they stuff up, we always get a namecheck.

greg

Correct me if I'm wrong but Mara couldn't crack first grade with us. The papers should name him as exclusively a Balmain boy!

True. I do recall seeing his firsts record for us as being one goal as a replacement or such.

I don't think he started any games for the Jets.

See what I mean? But now he's a crim on the run, he's automatically a Bluebag through and through as far as the papers are concerned.

What say we put together the all-time Jets/Bags crim side? I'll start off the selections with some modern candidates:

Halves: T. Trindall, W. Patten

Second row: G Sullivan. J. Elias - also allegedly some twin or other.

Any other names?

P. Heyward - too tragic and not an actual crim. Just in the wrong place with the wrong people (W. Fellows) at the wrong time.

Plenty of others to choose from - get going...

Weekday detention, that's what happened. Made getting him and Simpson, R. to our Friday night games very difficult, I must admit.

Something about a ciggie machine that followed him home, if I recall.

2 True Blues

Reckon this is a bit heavy cause like him as a bloke and a great player that he still is, but what about Craig FIELD. Wasnt it assault charges, and cocaine etc ( tongue in cheek ). Sorry FIELDY, you are a great player mate......

2 True Blues

Paul HAYWARD was a 1970's hooker/half wasnt he. Spent time in Bangkok gaol for drug offences didnt he.

Hey, heard a "rumour" Tricky might be going to play Premier League for Bulldogs again later this season, however wont be given the op to play 1st grade with them etc.

He was a great player, shame about his grog probs, what a waste of talent.

2 True Blues

Paul HAYWARD was a 1970's hooker/half wasnt he. Spent time in Bangkok gaol for drug offences didnt he.

Hey, heard a "rumour" Tricky might be going to play Premier League for Bulldogs again later this season, however wont be given the op to play 1st grade with them etc.

He was a great player, shame about his grog probs, what a waste of talent.

Wouldnt call two games for Bluebags, ( gettin sent off and suspended several weeks ) then getting kicked out of the club for trying to fight fellow teammates, and jumpin on their cars, a career with the Bluebags though.

MRLA

You're getting some publicity through Tim on Big Brother who has been wearing that Newtown Jets shirt on air, a fair bit!