Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

It's not rocket science, Sheens!

ShanghaiCharlie

Sheens' team selections are way out of hand.

A couple of things are plain and simple:

Moltzen is not a fullback FFS!
Carrying Meaney on the bench is farkin ridiculous.

Brown is not a centre. Excellent winger. Very good fullback.
Ashford is not a first grader.

We need to buy a dominant prop.
We need to buy a quality goalkicker.

Heigington and Fulton add very little to the team.

We have the most impotent front row rotation in the comp.

Lui has nothing and is a hinderance rather than a help.

Beau Ryan has nothing Sami Latu hasn't.

This is not a reaction to tonight's game but to two years of simple strategic mistakes by Sheens and I'm f**king sick of it.

Absolute crap, that has nothing to do with injuries, it was just crap.

Bring on Meamy at the 75th for what exactly. Fulton thought he was just another playmaker and Ryan, f**k Me two tries off his direct dropped balls.

Oh and the entire teams defence in the first half, what exactly are they tackling at practice.

wade77

I was actaully at the game Charlie don't worry about Lui he was the only likely looking player on our side all night. Moltzen is a pussy I don't care what operations he has had he always was a pussy so no injury excuses. Marshall went missing tonight and the forwards did nothing Fifita was non existant. To the only prick wearing fluoro boots on the WING we are not laughing at your basic low brow Footy Show humour we are laughing at the fact your going to be the funniest dude in State Cup for the next couple of years before you end up unemployed. You're a f**king winger how hard is it dickhead

super_coach

Its funny we are a team known for our blistering attack and now we have the slowest backline in living memory. Put Wade back to no1 and with Ryan and Utai on the wings and you have three pedestrian as the back. Very hard to win matches without speed, but really what are the options.

I think we have to have a big re think about our to 25 contracted players and our future.Injuries or no injuries you cant deliver every five years for a couple of months and run dead for the rest of the time. Give Brown the gig in 2012 and see if he can lift the place, whats to loose?????

glockers

I am a Moltzen in the 7 fan and even I have to admit Lui was one of the only positives in tonight's game. Robbie played ok as well.

Our forwards completely went missing, Dwyer and Galloway showed some signs of being there. The rest should have stayed home.

Moltzen in attack looks fine from fullback. The problem is I cringe when he is under the high ball and his awful kick return options. It also doesn't help when Ryan and Utai are useless twits.

Could we play Moltzen at centre in defence and Brown at the back? Then switch them in attack? Just an idea.

I think our team needs to run out.

1. Meaney
2. Latu
3. Moltzen
4. Daniela
5. Brown
6. Marshall
7. Lui
13. Ayshford
12. Ellis
11. Dwyer
10. Galloway
9. Farah
8. Woods

14. Ndaira
15. Fifita (he can't start, he is an impact prop. if he doesn't find form though he gets dropped)
16. Schirnak 1
17. Schirnak 2

Once Lote and Lawrence are fit they come in. That probably results with Moltzen going to the bench and Latu getting dropped

hybrid_tiger

We need a new coach. We are coached to surrender in tackles, we are coached to show no aggression, we are coached to go down the blindside on every f**king play and almost go into touch. We are coached to use 15 players for the majority of the game, and 16 players for 78 minutes.

Sick of the same old shit year in year out. Sheens is a stubborn prick.

Mader45

Isn't Daniela out for the season?

I'd go as per below. Brown is a competent fullback who always tries but no centre. Miller showed heaps of energy in his games when not so damn busy at halfback. Dwyer has a bit of speed and is not dropping the ball so much. And Utai over Moltzen because we can't win with someone who won't compete in defense.

1. Brown
2. Miller
3. Ayshford
4. Dwyer
5. Utai
6. Marshall
7. Lui
8. Gibbs
9. Farah
10. Galloway
11. Ellis
12. Heighington
13. Fulton

13. Fifita
14. Woods
15. J. Schirnack
16. Moltzen/Meaney

R2Coupe

Lui had a very good game and continues to develop as a fine half.

The lack of pace on the wings is hurting with a number of overlaps unable to be taken advantage of because Ryan and Utai are far too slow for the NRL. All the good work done by the halves is undone,

It is time to promote Finau and one of the Fijian wingers.

ShanghaiCharlie

Those criticising Utai...yes, he may not have much pace but the work he provides for us in the rucks is immense, not so much last night, but this season.

Those praising Lui...his defence last night was abysmal. His work in offense was without structure and nobody had any idea what he was doing, let alone him. And it's not the unstructured nature of a star like Benji, it's lost little boy in a man's world unstructured.

Lui had a very good game and continues to develop as a fine half.

The lack of pace on the wings is hurting with a number of overlaps unable to be taken advantage of because Ryan and Utai are far too slow for the NRL. All the good work done by the halves is undone,

It is time to promote Finau and one of the Fijian wingers.

Lui is our future half, clubs are already lining up for him in 2013, he should be the first bloke given a new extended contract. Moltzen is a very good player and should when we are full strength be our bench utility back ( would be amongst the best in that role in the NRL).

Finau for mine is ready for first grade on the wing, should be there instead of Beau.

After watching the 20's a few times I wonder if Miller or Sironen could play centre. They are a class above the 20's competition and both appear to have enough pace to play centre. Either at centre would give more options to the outside men than Brown would.

For mine Brown should be our Fullback when Wade is out.

jasonl

It's weird.

Sheens has been playing against Broncos teams for more than a decade and knows what Lockyer is capable of. Specifically, as it related to his WT team last night, Lockyer's attacking bomb. It's not the highest or the most difficult to catch kick but it's usually absolutely pinpoint.

Now, surely for the love of god, it occured to him that putting Moltzen at the back would put enormous pressure on Utai's wing from this very kick?

At yet that was considered acceptable risk?

Grab a still frame from the front on camera of Yow Yeh's try at the instant he is 3 feet in the air catching the ball. Moltzen is standing about a meter to his left, both feet on the ground and with both arms pathetically outstreched - haplessly watching events unfold like a moonstruck field mouse.

And where was the one WT player who realistically could have defused the situation? Sorry fellas, we're playing him at centre this week.

The heads went down right after that first try, reason being that every player on the field knew that Lockyer, should he wish, could keep doing that to them all night.

As it turned out he didn't even have to (Beau Ryan, take a bow eh?)

Sheens is a premiership winning professional coach but some of these selection decisions are just batshit crazy. Either that or there is a stubbornness in this man that equates to tenacious obsession (John Morris and the curious case of Danial Fitzhenry spring to mind).

Either way, it all seems pretty unhealthy.

Still, there's an upside:

To the lunatic who put 33 grand on WT to win, many thanks champ. A minute before kickoff and with Moltzen already standing at the back Betfair had Brisbane going off at $2.42.

Wow.

Right at that point, figuratively speaking, Lockyer was simply grinning at the WT back three and trying to suppress an erection that under normal circumstances could probably be seen from outer space.

Money for jam.

Like the title of the thread says: "It's not rocket science".

Ron's_Mate

I wrote last year that what the club really needs is an impact prop, someone like Webke who barges straight up the middle & is always hard to put down. Our props just run to the defence & surrender, as hybrid says. I even saw Galloway trying to put a step on a couple of times as he hit the line. What sort of prop tries to step like that? Compare that with the meat & potatoes forward game of the Broncos & you have most of the problem last night.
I can't blame players like Marshall & Lui too much as they rely on the forwards to lay a platform. Lui is an excellent half & should be first choice & signed to a long contract. Miller as reserve. Moltzen is a cat & might be useful as a bench utility. If I was coach I doubt he'd even be in the squad after some of his pathetic efforts. Same with Ryan, he has no place in first grade. Who cares if their Benji's mates.
Brown at fullback for mine, I think he'd develop well there.
Ayshford & Utai are OK, they just had shit games last night.

I do agree that most of the problems come from sheens & his absurd, stubborn selections. The same crap was happening last year, it's like he's determined to prove he's a genius. The strange thing was, when they made the finals last year they showed incredible form, particularly the games against the Raiders & Saints. I thought, if he can get the team playing like that he must have something going for him. Yet here we are again with the same early season rubbish.

Ron's_Mate

Grab a still frame from the front on camera of Yow Yeh's try at the instant he is 3 feet in the air catching the ball. Moltzen is standing about a meter to his left, both feet on the ground and with both arms pathetically outstreched - haplessly watching events unfold like a moonstruck field mouse.
Haha. God, so true. He can hit a hole & score a try but he'll probably let in more than he scores.

ShanghaiCharlie

After 25 years supporting this club I'm just so fed up. The team put on the park last night was beaten before they stepped out due to fundamental positional mis-selections or unwarranted selection (Ryan, Moltzen, Brown, Ayshford). I'm sick of preferential treatment...Morris, Fitzhenry, Moltzen, Ryan, Heighington, Gibbs, Fulton, Payton. These guys get a walk up start when fit and the backs just slotted into any position available and have played a handful of reserve grade between them and only then coming back from injury. And the continual misuse of the bench over so many years, the lack of buying a quality prop or goalkicker or half... He's got a core of players who will back him to the hilt and die for him because they know they will never get dropped. I wonder what the opinion of fringe players is.

And we keep signing this farkwit to contract extensions! Selection policy needs to be taken out of his hands or at least put in the hands of a select committee with no emotional investment in the players themselves or this will just continue year after year.

I will be interested to see the team next week. If Moltzen is at fullback I'll blow a gasket and write a personal letter to Humphries if I haven't done it by the end of the weekend already.

Tigers Tale

You are spot on with your comments Charlie. I have been a supporter (originally Balmain) for 50 years so I can feel your frustration.

Why doesn't Sheens, Humphreys, Folkes and the whole Tigers management take a walk down the main street of Campbelltown, any of those suburbs, they could sign a dozen big islander kids that would make mongrel forwards. What we have now is quite sadly a joke.

Forwards since day one were meant to take the ball up hard, there is no need to prance around like Fafita does...friggin run hard man. A wide running second rower can develop a fend, not a forward on a hit up.

If Sheens is teaching these forwards to surrender to speed things up in the ruck he needs to relaease it ain't working, it hasn't for some time.

Get some mongrel boys. Pretty football just ain't cutting it any more.

Why doesn't the club just put the usual suspects (Ryan,Moltzen etc.) on one year contracts,at least each time they run out they know they have to perform to earn another contract.

R2Coupe

Lui is our future half, clubs are already lining up for him in 2013, he should be the first bloke given a new extended contract. Moltzen is a very good player and should when we are full strength be our bench utility back ( would be amongst the best in that role in the NRL).

Finau for mine is ready for first grade on the wing, should be there instead of Beau.

After watching the 20's a few times I wonder if Miller or Sironen could play centre. They are a class above the 20's competition and both appear to have enough pace to play centre. Either at centre would give more options to the outside men than Brown would.

For mine Brown should be our Fullback when Wade is out.

Insightful post. Time to promote youth.

wade77

Yeh wade hop on the wing, its easy as: ****head.

I don't really give a shit what you think your a Knights fan, and I think I read a post of yours complementing Ben Rogers as a player. By the way Gidley is shit and shouldn't be in the NSW side. If you like Beau Ryan so much take him and he can play alongside Shannon McDonnell that would be funny.

After 25 years supporting this club I'm just so fed up. The team put on the park last night was beaten before they stepped out due to fundamental positional mis-selections or unwarranted selection (Ryan, Moltzen, Brown, Ayshford). I'm sick of preferential treatment...Morris, Fitzhenry, Moltzen, Ryan, Heighington, Gibbs, Fulton, Payton. These guys get a walk up start when fit and the backs just slotted into any position available and have played a handful of reserve grade between them and only then coming back from injury. And the continual misuse of the bench over so many years, the lack of buying a quality prop or goalkicker or half... He's got a core of players who will back him to the hilt and die for him because they know they will never get dropped. I wonder what the opinion of fringe players is.

And we keep signing this farkwit to contract extensions! Selection policy needs to be taken out of his hands or at least put in the hands of a select committee with no emotional investment in the players themselves or this will just continue year after year.

I will be interested to see the team next week. If Moltzen is at fullback I'll blow a gasket and write a personal letter to Humphries if I haven't done it by the end of the weekend already.
I wrote one to RLW last week,it got letter of the week,complaining about Moltzen at fullback and Sheens over all,did no good he picked Moltzen at fullback last week and we got done again.
I am so over Sheens and his try and make a fullback,make a half back,just go and buy a bloody fullback(a fit one) or what ever position you need,not waste 3 seasons trying to manufacture one.