Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Its now official

<table align=center border=0 cellpadding=2 cellspacing=0 width="100%"> <tbody> <tr> <td align=left colspan=2 width="70%"> Dragons welcome Blacklock back to doing what he loves </td> <td align=right width="30%"><u>Talk about this article</u></td></tr> <tr> <td align=left colspan=3 width="100%">Written by:Dragons Media Release</td></tr> <tr> <td align=left colspan=3 width="100%">21/5/03</td></tr> <tr> <td align=left colspan=3 width="100%">Views:10</td></tr> <tr> <td align=left colspan=3 width="100%"><a target=_top>&lt;&lt;&lt; Go Back</a></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=3></td></tr> <tr> <td align=left width="35%"><a target=_top>
art_email.gif
EMAIL THIS</a></td> <td align=left width="35%"> PRINT THIS</td> <td align=left width="30%"></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=3></td></tr> <tr> <td align=left colspan=3 width="100%">
Mercurial winger Nathan Blacklock re-signed with the Dragons today to resume doing what he loves most of all … scoring tries.
Blacklock, who was granted a release from his NSW Rugby Union contract on Friday, finalised arrangements with the Dragons for the remainder of the 2003 season this morning and immediately started training with the club.
“We are happy to see Nathan Blacklock back at the Dragons even though he left us mid-season last year,” Doust said. “Anyone who knows Nathan, knows he is passionate about his footy and his personal life. Last year was difficult for him from a personal point of view.
“Sometimes when you get into personal difficulty you make decisions about change because you need change, but in hindsight realise you’ve gone in the wrong direction. Nathan said that rugby league gives him the freedom to score tries as much as he loves to do.”
Doust said Blacklock’s contract with the Dragons had been approved by the NRL and the payments would not put the club in excess of the salary cap.
“Our position with regard to the future for Nathan has to be clarified as we work through our salary cap position,” Doust said. “The priority has been to get him back into rugby league and playing with the freedom he thrives on.”
Dragons coach Nathan Brown included Blacklock, who scored a record 27 tries for the Dragons in the 2001 season, in the NRL squad training today, but he will train with the Premier League side tomorrow.
“We have two wingers in front of him in our NRL side who have been playing well in Amos Roberts and Hassan Saleh,” Brown said. “We all know what Nathan is capable of but he will have to play his way into first grade through Premier League.
“I’m very happy he’s back with us – he’s a great asset for the club and the NRL. More importantly, it’s the best thing for Nathan Blacklock. He’ll be doing what he really loves.”
Blacklock said he was very grateful to the club and the team for welcoming him back.
“I am very excited about playing rugby league again,” Blacklock said. “It’s where my heart is. I feel like I’ve come home and I can’t wait to play this weekend. I won’t let anyone down.”
</td></tr></tbody></table>

LOL... Souths, Leeds and probably Easts have all got their bids in early.
Personally, I'm just pleased to the good bloke coming back to the good guys.
2004 is too far away to make any guesses.

Guesses? Who is guessing? I had a chat to Blacklock before. He was going to join me for a beer actually.......but then he changed his mind ;)

Did I mention Mundine? Mundine and Blacklock, the saints connection, headed for chalmers street in 2004 :)

On other matters, saints v souths at the SCG this Sunday. Will be a great atmosphere. I haven't been to a RL game at the SCG my whole life, this weekend may well be the first, the NRL should be doing more to promote the bloody thing!

Cheers,
Moffo

"I haven't been to a RL game at the SCG my whole life"
Really? FMD... Been there plenty of times since but I can tell you all about the 1977 Grand Final... perhaps another day.
My advice is to get yourself down there. There's been a few returns to the SCG in recent years... I think its an excellent promotion and the best hope Souths have got of getting a decent crowd.
The Bill O'Relly stand is good value if you want comfort. But I'm sure there'll be room on the otherside as well.

Well, ive only just ticked over to 20, and seeing that they stopped using the SCG in 1987, i haven't had a lot of chances!

I hope everyone does get out there so that a bit of atmosphere can be created. Ill be doing my best to get out there.

Ive been to the SCG, but only for cricket, so ive always sat in the Yabba section. Great atmosphere for cricket bar the flying meat pies and beer bottles :eek:

Bill O'Reilly, which bit is that? Do i have to dress up to get in? Is it a saints section? :pI sat with souths fans once at the sfs and that was enough, they are quite a rabble lol

Cheers,
Moffo

Been to SCG twice - once in can't remember for a match between Saints and West - some anniversary of the 1963 Grand Final - needless to say we won both ;)

And in round 4 1999 when Laurie the Poet came on at half time, when they were down by 10, reckon the crowd was worth 10 points to Souths and a Tricky Trindall field goal would get them over the line- he was bloody right :mad:

So this will be my 3rd visit for Rugby League- need a crowd of 20,000 to create any kind of atmosphere and its a shit of a place to watch Rugby League from- much prefer to be seeing game at Aussie Stadium

Souths fans are jibbers- right you are MFC :p

"Ive been to the SCG, but only for cricket, so ive always sat in the Yabba section. "
Ah yeah... 'the hill'. Mate, I'm so old that remember when it was all grass and beer cans (before they had ring pulls). Thankfully I'm not old enough to remember the legendary Yabba. I dont think even my Dad is old enough to recall him.

"Bill O'Reilly, which bit is that? Do i have to dress up to get in? Is it a saints section? "
Nahhh... its the big eastern section.Costs a few bucks more but its real good becuase it has better facilities...no lines of people. It looks over the Souths rabble below but you can wear what you like.
The old Saints section used to be the Sheridan stand but that was a quarter of century ago. I have no idea where they'd be hanging out. But I think you're safe now mate. ;)

Buddley2003

I went to the training today to get a jumper signed and Tinga had a constant smile across his face.
Back home in 'Koorie corner' it seems.

"Tinga had a constant smile across his face"
Its a beaut thing to hear. All indications are that he can't wait to prove the knockers wrong. But he'll be playing in the reserves this weekend at least. Nathanmay play his return match in the firsts at Kogarah against the Cowboys.... a match I'm going down to see.

For the record, Blacklock has scored exactly 100 tries in first grade... but he scored one of those tries for Easts years ago during a brief stint with them. So he has scored just 99 tries (112 matches) for Saints.

His next try in the Firsts will number 100 for the mighties. If he plays at Kogarah on June 1st, we may just see Tingha notch up the milestone.

Great to see Blacklock back in the Red Vee. Pardon my ignorance, but why is there all the talk about him going to South's next season?. I've read or heard nothing substantial to suggest that this will eventuate.
Onto other matters, I am presently counting down the days to our next Jubilee Oval clash. I had tickets for the shark's game, but my boss screwed me into working the Sunday.....very long and painful story (includes violin melody). My respect for him has been reduced to almost nil as he okéd the game 5 weeks out and again in the week leading up to the historic return.

Geez Ghost, if I did that to any employees, they'd go on strike. In fact, I think you should take it up with the tribunal or the industrial relations mob. Its a kneecapable offence.

I think the Souths thing stems from last year when Hookey went there and Blacklock's manager had a chat with Souths. There were presumptions going on but nothing came of it.

Apparently Souths have put out a feeler for next year but it has the smell of manager intervention again.

Leeds were more fair dinkum and actually came out and admitted that they had approached Blacklock but were knocked back.

Thank's for the update regarding Blacklock. Once Isaw your comments I realized I had heard it previously, I'll blame that tempory stuff up on 3 years at uni many moons ago;).
Missing the Jubilee return was the bitterest St. George related pill I'd swallowed since the1999 GF. Knee-capping would not have been sufficient in my opinion, thanks for the suggestion never the less. Will you be making the Cowboy's game???. I've been iching to wear my PROVAN 9 throwbacks jersey into battle;).

Yeah, Ghost.
I'll be at Kogarah on June 1st for the Cowboys match... literally a flying visit to Sydney. Meeting mates for lunch at the club beforehand and then wandering over in time for the reserves. Hope to catch you at either location.

imported_midas

Does anyone know if Blacklock has signed a Verbal Agreement Form or a Clayton,s Contract?And was it written on A4 80gsm or Sorbent ?

Cheers mate, i do believe ive freed (ive never typed that word before lol, is that how its spelt?) enough time today to get to the SCG in the rain and watch this, should be good!

Ill get to the ground early just to give Blacklock some curry ;)

Cheers,
Moffo

Terrible for the indigestion Moffo, but I'm sure he'll appreciate the sentiment.

Looking at that pic, you can see how dominant the Bill O'Reilly Stand is. You'll stay dry in their mate.

Traditionally, Saints used to sit in the Sheridan stand which has now been replaced by Churchill Stand. Not sure but I think the Sheridan was sold to North Sydney Oval- I may have to be corrected on that.

When the Sheridan stand was full, Saints supporters used to spill over into the Brewongle Stand and onto The Hill... I say 'used to' because its been a while sincethe game had a 'Match of the Day'.

The big eyesore at the SCG was the Doug Walters stand (built about 1990) which blocked the old scoreboard. I heard that the trust were doing something about that but I don't know what the conclusion was. Dougie deserves better anyway.