Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jersey quality

Misty Bee

I am about to make my first Parramatta Jersey purchase in 8 years! But before I jettison the hard earned on such a garment, I must first seek the advice ofeels jumpers owners on this site as to their quality.

I was led to believe that when clubs went from the old jumpers to the new style cooler fabric ones, that a drawback was that they didn't last long because of deterioration after a few weashes. Is the same true of supporters jumpers? My old one has lasted for years. I want my new one to as well.

I would be most grateful for any advice re this dilemma. Cheers!

Easy - do what I do. Buy one, get the players to sign it and hang it on the wall. Simple, straight forward and no hassles with washing!

But as long as they are washed in cold water I haven't had any problems - i have a couple of other jerseys that are made of the same material that don't seem to fade at all either!

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
my jersey is the swishy material, and there's no hassle in washing it. its just that the signatures fade reallyy quickly

BD5733

Ive had the current jersey since it came out for the 2001 season, so for 3 seasons.

My superstition is that if we win, the jersey doesn't get washed but if we lose, it must be washed.

So the jersey was pretty dirty in 2001, but has had more than a few trips to the washing machine in the last 2 years.

I would struggle to find a difference in what the jersey looks like now to what it did back at the start of 2001. STILL IN TOP CONDITION!! Doesn't wear at all Misty.

Misty Bee

Well, BD, Colonel, Jess and HJ, thanks heaps for the advice. Next time I'min the big smoke, it's off to Wally Wynn's I go! Cheers!!!

Misty Bee

Hollywood Jesus said:
can't get em out your way?

or just loyal to good ol' Pete?

I can get 'em at Gary Bridges store in Taree (that's a name from the past, isn't it!), or a few shops in Port. However, the range isn't what Wally offers. Besides, TBH I have come into a bit of spare cash after a few lean years, and I'd like to let my kids pick theirs as well. My luck is that locally they would be out of the right sizes, and the juniors would instead go for that nice blue and white one or something. Nope, it's Eel legend for mine on the next trip to the big smoke!

Maroubra Eel

Misty Bee said:
Hollywood Jesus said:
can't get em out your way?

or just loyal to good ol' Pete?

I can get 'em at Gary Bridges store in Taree (that's a name from the past, isn't it!), or a few shops in Port. However, the range isn't what Wally offers. Besides, TBH I have come into a bit of spare cash after a few lean years, and I'd like to let my kids pick theirs as well. My luck is that locally they would be out of the right sizes, and the juniors would instead go for that nice blue and white one or something. Nope, it's Eel legend for mine on the next trip to the big smoke!
If it was my spare cash I would head straight down to the TAB and put the lot on Philippa's Gem in the sixth at Rosehill tomorrow.

Misty Bee

I'd rather have a jersey than a financial arrangement based on the running performance of pre packaged dog meat! LOL

Ron Jeremy

I got my Hardiflex jersey in 87 and i still wear it on my lazy days and it's in magnificent condition along with my RATT "Out of the Cellar" t-shirt which is my favourite thing besides there records.

Maroubra Eel said:
If it was my spare cash I would head straight down to the TAB and put the lot on Philippa's Gem in the sixth at Rosehill tomorrow.
Great tipping! Pity I didn't checkthe board BEFORE the race was on...

tracksuitman

Misty Bee said:
I was led to believe that when clubs went from the old jumpers to the new style cooler fabric ones, that a drawback was that they didn't last long because of deterioration after a few weashes. Is the same true of supporters jumpers?

The on-field jersey is made out of a material called Honeycomb, similar to last years material but abit more durable. The supporters jersey's are made from a different material which last's a long time, I've had mine since before the 2001 season!

Cupid Stunt

Give some thought to your kids growing Misty before you buy. I went to get my sons last night & once again Classic have stuffed them up. The neck holes are way to small & between the blue & gold were different sizes. My 6yr old couldnt even get any of the gold ones on at all & the blue got on with a bit of manipulation (re: brute force :lol: ) but after 3 or 4 wears I doubt his ears would still be attached as taking it off was nearing child abuse. They had the same trouble last year & I'll be buggered if I know what the hard part is about learning from your mistakes. Once on the size I tried would probably do him till the next jersey is released it just wouldnt get over his noodle.

OK here is my vent about jerseys...their prices anyway....

If I have to pay $150 for a jersey then I guess I'll just have to but paying $100-$120 for a kids jersey is absolutley ridiculous. I reckon that ALL kids should have access to jerseys for no more than $20.

I know that the club sees it as extra income from merchandise but I won't buy them at that price which means it is $100 (or $200 as I have 2 kids)the club will never see.

Particularly if they would probably grow out of them every two years. At least if they were cheaper, the club would see money spent by me to either replace one that is too tight or out of date every couple of years.

When you look into the stands on game days you want to see all of the kiddies sporting an eels jersey but from what I can see it is just hats which is all that can be afforded.

In short, I just can't see the justification in outlaying that amount of money for kids....no matter how much I (and they) love the team.

Anyone else have the same gripe??

Clarkie

Belly in Brisvegas said:

If I have to pay $150 for a jersey then I guess I'll just have to but paying $100-$120 for a kids jersey is absolutley ridiculous. I reckon that ALL kids should have access to jerseys for no more than $20.

I know that the club sees it as extra income from merchandise but I won't buy them at that price which means it is $100 (or $200 as I have 2 kids)the club will never see.

Particularly if they would probably grow out of them every two years. At least if they were cheaper, the club would see money spent by me to either replace one that is too tight or out of date every couple of years.

When you look into the stands on game days you want to see all of the kiddies sporting an eels jersey but from what I can see it is just hats which is all that can be afforded.

In short, I just can't see the justification in outlaying that amount of money for kids....no matter how much I (and they) love the team.

I understand where you're coming from but I do know that the adults jersey's cost the club about $100+ each, I'm not sure about the kids shirts but I wouldn't be suprised if they're cost the eels about $80+ each. You can email Parra Footy Heaven on - parrafootyheaven@parraleagues.com.au, maybe they can answer any questions you have...

Maroubra Eel

Clarkie said:
Belly in Brisvegas said:

I understand where you're coming from but I do know that the adults jersey's cost the club about $100+ each, I'm not sure about the kids shirts but I wouldn't be suprised if they're cost the eels about $80+ each. You can email Parra Footy Heaven on - parrafootyheaven@parraleagues.com.au, maybe they can answer any questions you have...
I reckon everyone is getting ripped off if they are paying the manufacturer $100+ for them. I reckon a jumper would cost no more than $15 to make. But I guess the manufacturer has to make money somehow.

Misty Bee

I have to agree.

The last jumper I bought for myself was a NSW one circa 1990. Cost $60. Back in those days I made sure I was stocked. I had Parra, a Emus jumper (remember the test jumper with the yellow stripes beneath the V? I had an All Blacks jumper from NZ - all great casual wear that kept me warm during winter. back in those days you say club colours everywhere. I did a trip to NZ, and the most common jumper there was not the All Blacks, but Balmain!

In 1994 my wife bought me an eels jumper a factory second for $80 (new ones were $100,and we were at the have babies and strugle stage. Now, at $160 or whatever, they are beyond reach. I offered my kids the choice, and after a bit of umming and ahhring over weather to go the test jumper, the blues or a club I realised that maybe the $100 could be better spent elswhere.