Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joel Monaghan likely to be centre

• Thread starter Deleted member 10972
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 10972

http://www.sydneyroosters.com.au/latestnews.php?ArticleID=2185

Monaghan ready to make centre spot his own
Friday, November 3, 2006
dottedline_full.gif

Monaghan_Injured_Trial.jpg
The loss of Ryan Cross to the Western Force next year was always going to be a blow. However, the Roosters are lucky enough to have a host of talented speedsters that are ready to fill that void and Joel Monaghan is at the head of Sthe list.
With his horror 2006 season now behind him, Monaghan is back and ready to make up for lost time.
“I’m back to 100% fitness and am ready for a huge year,” Monaghan said.
“I’ve worked so hard to get myself healthy and I’m itching to get back into full training next Monday with the rest of the squad.”
Monaghan is not content on just making up the numbers next year. With players like Setimata Sa and Iosia Soliola making their mark in his absence, the former Raider is ready to do whatever it takes to win his spot.
“I want that centre position,” Monaghan said.
“I want to show everyone that I can be the man to take over from where Crossy left off.”
Monaghan knows 2007 is no ordinary season and wants to be at the forefront of head coach Chris Anderson’s plans to make the club’s 100th year a memorable one.
“100 seasons is a special achievement. On top of that we will be chasing our 1000th win against Souths in round one and I’m desperate to make sure I play a major role in helping the club achieve a unique feat I will remember for the rest of my life.”
It will be a great feeling for Roosters’ fans to see a rejuvenated Joel Monaghan and fellow injured star Anthony Minichiello run out together onto Aussie Stadium for the 2007 season that is already shaping up as unforgettable.

What do you guys think? I think he is a far better centre than a winger, but we need him to really be our key strike centre in 2007. Soliola has a unique power style as a centre, which is very very good in his own right, but he needs to be partnered by a centre in the Ryan Cross mould, who is fast, can break the line & has a knack of scoring tries. We know Monaghan has this potential, to be our next big strike centre since Hegarty, Hodges & Cross, but he really needs to step up. IMO, give him the 1st few rounds, & if he still can't find his feet, give Setaimata Sa or Sam Perrett an extended run at centre.

For Round 1, our backline should be:

Anthony Minichiello
Amos Roberts
Iosia Soliola
Joel Monaghan
Vince Mellars
Jamie Soward
Josh Lewis

with PL being

Shaun Foley
Shaun Kenny-Dowall
Sam Perrett
Setaimata Sa
John Williams
John Doyle
Mitch Pearce

Perrett is a better centre than winger, & thats where he belongs, whether in FG or PL. Mellars can play a bit of both, but is more of a safety-first option. Sa is an excellent player, similar to SBW, but should be introduced to FG in the centres. Williams will probably see FG by later in the year, playing on the wing whilst Mellars either drops to PL or replaces Monaghan by shifting into the centres.

D

Deleted member 10972

As long as Roberts is paired with Soliola, i'm happy. They work magic off eachother.

not a bad idea. i was thinking we had too many wingers i guess that solves that problem a bit. I dont remember him playing centre before though is he any good?

D

Deleted member 10972

Our actual problem is our shortage of wingers. That's why we bought Williams. Perrett, Mellars, Monaghan, Soliola, Sa are all centres, & Aubusson & Flannery can both play centre well too. Any of them on the wing is playing them out of position. But as for wingers, we have Roberts, Williams, Shaun-Kenny-Dowall. That's all. That is why we should play Mellars aon the wing in FG to start the season, he is safe as a house, & can score tries.

Rotten Rooster

I think Monaghan is a centre a good one, he is a very strong runner and a gun with cross field kicks he was top try score'r for the Raiders as a centre but Ricky insisted he was a winger. Watching him play it was pretty clear he was uncomfortable, often out of position and slow to turn and chase at wing.
Perrett for me over Mellars any time, Mellars has the same problem at Wing as Monaghan toooooo slow to turn and chase. Perrett is very fast and has Minnichello like assets in his kick returns.
Sa has shown some very strong potential, especially with his first touch in FG when he palmed off Luke Bailey like he was a rag doll, I dont think he has shown enough to be compared to SBW.

Sanchez

LeagueFanNumeroUno said:
That is why we should play Mellars aon the wing in FG to start the season, he is safe as a house, & can score tries.
have no idea why the warriors released him

monaghan was always a better centre then he was a winger
the only time the iceberg should be on the wing is on 5th tackle, in side the attacking 20, as to utilise his height and leap

D

Deleted member 10972

Raider_69 said:
monaghan was always a better centre then he was a winger
the only time the iceberg should be on the wing is on 5th tackle, in side the attacking 20, as to utilise his height and leap

Bulls eye.

on his form since signing for the chooks, he'll be lucky to play PL centres... he was playing top footy for us, then signed for you blokes and i dont think he has ever played nearly as well since

D

Deleted member 10972

Raider_69 said:
on his form since signing for the chooks, he'll be lucky to play PL centres... he was playing top footy for us, then signed for you blokes and i dont think he has ever played nearly as well since

Wrong. He played top footy for yous in 2003. Then had a very average season in 2004. Continued his average run by playing out on the wing in 2005. Injured through 2006. Hopefully will excel in his fresh start at centre in 2007, & fill the strike centre role vacated by Cross & Hegarty in recent years.

2 True Blues

Raider_69 said:

Thats a bit rough when the bloke didn't play a game all season due to injury in 2006. If anyone is hungry it would be him. Should be very interesting to see what a year watching has done. This bloke will come out all guns blazin in 2007 for sure !!

Choppies

He looked very good in the trial against Manly early this year. I was looking forward to him playing a full season but a week later and 1 minute into the match he f**ks up his knee on a dodgy bit of turf.

2 True Blues

Yeah was a real shame mate, at the time. But I expect he will be giving it 110 percent in 2007 to make up for time lost and show those who have stuck by him what he can do on the paddock. Can't wait till the new season starts !!

PeoplesChamp6

Surely, bare injury, Joel Monaghan will be a certain starter in the backline this season for the Roosters? (Whether it's on the wing or in the centres)

Is he that Injury prone? As far as I know, Monaghan has only had one serious injury and that was in 2006.

Correct me if I am wrong? Is Monaghan prone to injury?

Choppies

He played all games for us in 2005 and I don't recall any major injuries at Canberra so I would say no he isint.