Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joey has signed with................

So after all that back and forward public nonsense... everything remains the same as it ever was? Why couldn't they have just compared the deals behind closed doors like the old days...

Oh well, at least Joey and his manager got some extras for their hard few weeks of agonising soap opera work. :roll:

eelandia

Colonel Eel said:
Damn, I was hoping we could get rid of the overpaid egotistical media whore. :roll:

colonel - that's either harsh or tongue in cheek. Just the publicity for union if he switched would have been enough to annoy me, just as I was in the lead up to their world cup. Imagine the propaganda tosser journos such as Peter Jenkins would have come up with.

I'm thankful he's stayed and we get to see him for another two years. Let's hope we'll see the banana kick, spiral bombs, curling grubbers, big hits on frontrowers twice his size..??

eels_fan

eelandia said:
I'm thankful he's stayed and we get to see him for another two years. Let's hope we'll see the banana kick, spiral bombs, curling grubbers, big hits on frontrowers twice his size..??

Not against Parra though.....

eelandia said:
Colonel Eel said:
Damn, I was hoping we could get rid of the overpaid egotistical media whore. :roll:

colonel - that's either harsh or tongue in cheek. Just the publicity for union if he switched would have been enough to annoy me, just as I was in the lead up to their world cup. Imagine the propaganda tosser journos such as Peter Jenkins would have come up with.

I stand by what I said and I will even expand further.

The soap opera we have been subjected to ended up exactly as it would have had they kept it out of the papers.

It wasn't about playing Union or League - it was about the money. When blokes his age (Tallis and Fittler) are taking pay cuts so the young players can stay at their club all he was worried about was the dollars. He may be a good footballer but he needs to learn a lot about being an immortal.

I wish the egotistical media whore of a super star had of gone to Union. He isn't a pimple on the arse of Churchill, Raper, Gasnier or Fulton when it comes to class.

Good call Colonel....its a disgrace to Newcastle that they have to keep forking out so much money for a guy who, while very talented, is getting on and spends as much time (if not more) on the sidelines than on the park.

And what good is continuing to throw all their money at Joey doing?...Newcastle are really starting to struggle to keep a competative franchise...they still have a bunch of rep players, but the stocks coming through behind are dwindling...and when injuries hit, as happens to all clubs these days, they fall in a heap.

Joey thinks he's doing a great thing for Newcastle - I think he's screwing them.

eelandia

Have you considered how much money he brings in to the knights through extra sponsorships, gate-takings, prospective player signings. Everyone is entitled to their point of view but you're a bit over the top. He'll make the knights and league in general much more than he is taking out + the money was comparable as has been bandied about by all commentators.

And in regards to Fulton, he was one of the most painful players in his day - he'd take a dive at every opportunity and is currently a Hadley stooge. Definitely not an immortal or classy imo.

strider said:
Joey thinks he's doing a great thing for Newcastle - I think he's screwing them.

Mate, they have lost more talented players than we have and mainly because Johns demands so much money.

I think the guy is a brilliant footballer but when it comes to poise and class....... he has little.

eelandia said:
Have you considered how much money he brings in to the knights through extra sponsorships, gate-takings, prospective player signings. Everyone is entitled to their point of view but you're a bit over the top. He'll make the knights and league in general much more than he is taking out + the money was comparable as has been bandied about by all commentators.

And in regards to Fulton, he was one of the most painful players in his day - he'd take a dive at every opportunity and is currently a Hadley stooge. Definitely not an immortal or classy imo.

Fulton may not be a good call I agree.

He does bring heaps of money into the club but how many players has Newcastle let go? Plenty and their last big signing was - Ben Kennedy. They have had to pick half their first grade side out of the local Newcastle Comp. If Joey really had Newcastle's best interests to heart he would have signed months ago to a lesser deal and helped them recruit some talent to the club. They have had to sit and wait for so long for Johns to do what everyone knew he would that its likely that they will end up losing more players again.......

Freak

Colonel I think you are being a bit tough

I generally respect your opinions but this Joey propaganda which has been going on for too long now has been produced by his manager Fordam!

Yes of course Joey had to tag along for the ride but at the end of the day the mastermind behind it all was his manager!! and good luck to him after all that is his job isn't it!!

IMO I think Joey is starting to settle down a lot! Yes he was an immature little spoilt brat with the world at his feet who could do no wrong! But I have seen a change in him in recent times where he has considered others and not acted like a pork chop!
Lets hope it continues for everyones sake!!

Freak said:
Colonel I think you are being a bit tough

I generally respect your opinions but this Joey propaganda which has been going on for too long now has been produced by his manager Fordam!

Yes of course Joey had to tag along for the ride but at the end of the day the mastermind behind it all was his manager!! and good luck to him after all that is his job isn't it!!

IMO I think Joey is starting to settle down a lot! Yes he was an immature little spoilt brat with the world at his feet who could do no wrong! But I have seen a change in him in recent times where he has considered others and not acted like a pork chop!
Lets hope it continues for everyones sake!!

Generally things like this tend not to wrangle me but the whole drawn out process - remember the Knights approached him in October 2003 to commence contract talks - has really peeved me. Fordham, Johns or whoever it is that has drawn it out needs a good kick in the rear.

They guy is a great footballer but if like he says he has Newcastle best interests to heart than maybe, for the sake of Newcastle's supporters and club who have idolised him for so long, he should have been a little quicker to show it. If he had of there is a good chance blokes like Tahu and Kennedy would have stayed.

I think if you read the majority of the posts on the Newi forum you can see how it has affected them. I am quite surprised at how they have turned against him. It has shown that he has really stretched and in some ways damaged their loyalty to him.

Now that he stays I wonder if those relationships can be repaired.....he took his sweet time about it.

Tosser!!!!

I'm with you Colonel....no one is bigger than the game (take note Jamie Lyon...take note Andrew Johns).

fish eel

I think if you read the majority of the posts on the Newi forum you can see how it has affected them. I am quite surprised at how they have turned against him. It has shown that he has really stretched and in some ways damaged their loyalty to him.

Bet they turn back pretty quick when he is running around, winning them games.

Good luck to him. Sure, he probably could have handled it better, but he's probably been manipulated by John Fordam.

eelandia said:

I think this is the other thing that really rankles me about this whole situation and probnably. Johns knows how much m,oney he makes for the Knights. The media reported that the Knights could lose almost $1 million if Johns left. The Knights, especially without Leagues club backing, cannot afford this. How many people would walk through the gates of Marathon just to watch Joey - there are die hards that are there to watch footy but heaps come because Joey is playing. He basically has them to ransom because he knows they will move heaven and earth to make sure that he stays with the club and help them survive.

Twizzle said:
so we'll see Kirt Gidley on the market very soon, methinks

Nope, his contract stated that he could re-negotiate IF Johns didn't re-sign. I assume that he took a lesser deal so Johns could stay. Arse up if you ask me.......