Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights V Tigers - Post Match Thread

Burwood

IanG said:
Yeah definatly a disappointing finish. Handling was tricky out there but still need to hang on to the pill. We still need to play for the full 80 minutes. We were in it for most of the match but we slacked off and the Tigers ended up running away with it. Not good for Kurt Reynoldson though. Listening to Gazza's call suggested he's done a crusiet(spelling) ligament If so that's his season gone

I wouldn't be too harsh on the boys- 70 minutes without Reyno and MacDougall gone for most of the 2nd half really took it's toll on the players and the bench rotation.

Whats Doing

For his first match in 1st grade this year, Bailey went very well. 45 tackles for Young and he came off the bench - great game

IanG

Burwood said:
I wouldn't be too harsh on the boys- 70 minutes without Reyno and MacDougall gone for most of the 2nd half really took it's toll on the players and the bench rotation.
Very true. Being reduced to 2 bench players certainly didn't help our cause.

Burwood

Did anybody else notice how much Patto got his hands on the ball in the opening 20-30 minutes of the match? Walsh and Bailey went to him a lot!

He has to be a very good chance for rookie of the year.

Bad luck on the result guys, but your young blokes had a real dig, they can be proud of themselves...some promising signs for the future up there, Walsh, mullen, seu seu, Snowden & Bailey....term deposit.

IanG

innsaneink said:
Bad luck on the result guys, but your young blokes had a real dig, they can be proud of themselves...some promising signs for the future up there, Walsh, mullen, seu seu, Snowden & Bailey....term deposit.
Thanks innsaneink. Your guys were just too good.

roopy

I think i said the other day that the 2 points this week would be won by the side that didn't have the NSW hooker.
If we had Buderus and the tiges didn't have Farah the two points were ours easily.

Didn't see much of the game except Tighe's first try, and Paterson's second attempt hitting the post. So I'll watch it tomorrow. At the very least, sounds like a few of our young guys got a bit of a rap from just about every commentator.

About Michael Young - where is his place in the team? Seemed to tackle an insane amount, but I swear every time he passes from dummy half he waits a second to take a breath. Really odd to watch. Has a bit of a hooker's brain perhaps, so I dunno. I'd really, really like him to do well, and am impressed by his loyalty, but I wonder where Smith sees him.

And Apey, unless I've got the wrong location, there seems to be something big and red missing from your sig ;-)

Burwood

strewth_mate said:
Didn't see much of the game except Tighe's first try, and Paterson's second attempt hitting the post. So I'll watch it tomorrow. At the very least, sounds like a few of our young guys got a bit of a rap from just about every commentator.

About Michael Young - where is his place in the team? Seemed to tackle an insane amount, but I swear every time he passes from dummy half he waits a second to take a breath. Really odd to watch. Has a bit of a hooker's brain perhaps, so I dunno. I'd really, really like him to do well, and am impressed by his loyalty, but I wonder where Smith sees him.

And Apey, unless I've got the wrong location, there seems to be something big and red missing from your sig ;-)

Lol, that is one aspect of his game that I have definitely noticed. There is also the part where he appears to put so much effort into his dummy half passes, but they only seem to go 10m. It is like he's throwing a filing cabinet.

Ben

The side played really well today and i never really expected a victory, only because of the inexperience of the team. But i was surprised that we were still in the game until the last ten minutes. I have to really commend the boys for hanging in there. Crucial errors at crucial stages of the game cost us the two points, but that is expected seeing how young the team was. But they really stood up and showed that they can play without the notable senior players in the team. Add to that, the injury toll and we played really well.

Tighe's first try really showed what the team is capable of with Walsh in the team. He is the halfback of the team and when Mullen comes back they will make a deadly combination. He has an excellent passing game, and really has a footballer's brain. In the past we would've seen the Johns Kennedy combination, and later, the Johns Simpson combination, but i think we should be looking towards the Walsh Patterson combination.

Burwood

How fired up does Paterson get when he scores off Walsh! It has happened the last two weeks where Paterson has gone straight across to Walsh after the try and given him a big rev up- you can tell these guys have played plenty of footy together in the lower grades and are excited about getting the opportunity to play alongside each other in the top grade.

tigerdan

u guys played well today there were some great signs there for ur team
im glad we went up to watch and it is a great ground
good luck next week

CJKnight

Young had one of his better games IMO. 45 tackles and was 6 inches away from scoring a try on the chalk. Definately winning me over as a benchie.

~knights~

M.Young was hitting everything out there yesterday as well as snowden

He can also fill in any position

Good benchie !!

Ben

I feel sorry for Hinton. He played a great game was everywhere in attack but will miss out next week if Kidley is fit.

Jono078

He's played wing all year in PL, why not FG?

He definitely doesnt deserved to be dropped.

Ben

Oh yeah, i forgot Luke Macdougall was injured. Well the way he played he doesnt deserved to be dropped, so i think he might find a spot on the wing outside Mad Dog.