Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Langmack a racist?

Rabbitohs race row
By Peter Frilingos
March 26, 2004

RUGBY league descended into further trauma last night, with South Sydney coach Paul Langmack under investigation for an alleged racial insult to Aboriginal player Owen Craigie.

The latest bombshell comes hard on the heels of the Bulldogs sexual assault inquiry and drugs testing scandal.

Craigie claims Langmack insulted him over his weight and his colour during a training session at Cranbrook late last year.

Langmack denies the claim but Craigie says he told senior player Terry Hill at the time before deciding not to take the matter any further.

Craigie changed his mind yesterday and employed high profile solicitor Chris Murphy to take action against Langmack and Souths.

Souths board discussed the claim during a lengthy meeting at Souths Leagues Club last night before forming a special sub-committee to handle the affair.

That sub-committee headed by Rabbitohs chairman Nicholas Pappas and chief executive David Tapp will meet this morning in a bid to conciliate the issue with Langmack and Craigie. Other members of the committee are club directors Sol Bellear, Ray Martin and Nick Greiner.

Before last night's board meeting Craigie confirmed that he intended to take action against Langmack. "I don't like what Paul has been saying to me and I've decided to do something about it," Craigie said.

"That's all I want to say, you'll have to talk to my solicitor Chris Murphy."

Club sources say Craigie will claim he was called "a fat black c . . ." by Langmack. In recent seasons Craigie has had trouble controlling his weight and is currently trying to get it down to an acceptable level.

Mr Pappas said there was an allegation brought to the board's attention last night.

"It was by Owen Craigie in relation to words allegedly said within his earshot by Paul Langmack," he said.

"The allegation, we understand, is vehemently denied by Paul Langmack. The sub-committee has been formed for the purpose of hearing the conflicting accounts and reaching a position on the matter.

"South Sydney absolutely abhors any suggestion of racial vilification or any display of intolerant behaviour on the basis of racial grounds. One of our great inner-strengths is our close bonds with the indigenous community, we are a truly multicultural club.

Langmack said last night he couldn't believe the claims being made against him.

"It's come as a complete shock to me, I haven't said anything detrimental to Owen," he said.

"As recently as last week in Souths Leagues Club I told Owen we desperately needed him back in first grade once he got himself fit.

"There didn't seem to be a problem then. I really can't understand where he's coming from."

This is the second time Craigie has complained about racial vilification.

In 1997 when he was playing for Newcastle he complained about comments made by North Sydney's Chris Caruana who was later fined and dropped from first grade.

Then following year Canterbury's Barry Ward was fined $10,000 by the NRL's racial vilification tribunal after a complaint from St George's Anthony Mundine. The fine was later reduced to $5000 on appeal.

The NRL has had an anti-discrimination policy in place for nearly a decade.
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,9080761-23209,00.html

For starters, Craigie cant whinge that Langmack's had a go at his weight. In this regard, he's an embarrassment.

But if Langmack has said something racist towards Craigie, IMO he's a disgrace.

What's wrong with calling a spade a spade. Are you not allowed to call someone black anymore? I am white, if someone calls me white I don't get offended. Calling someone a fat c..t is pretty normal these days. I think Owen should grow up and dry his eyes. He's supposed to be a tough footy player.

Calling someone a fat black c..t is an insult but he should have taken it on the chin. I can't see him playing much first grade.

Uhh.. so because you wouldn't take offence to a racial slur, nobody should?

I think its a massive disgrace if Langmack treated a player that way. No player should have to stand for that shit from their coach.

The Popper

In the past I've been called a `white merkin' and an Aussie merkin and other stuff too. I took it that they just didn't like me. :( :lol:

wittyfan

It's not good for someone in Langmack's position to make those sorts of comments. But I can't believe Craigie still has weight issues!

Sharkie73

Owen you little tele tubby buy a box of tissues and get over it you need to harden up a bit your to soft. I guess this is one way to force your self back into first grade.

millersnose

looks like owens feelings were hurt

coachs should not be permitted to criticise a players weight

otherwise some players might make a grab for some cash

So if he said you are a fat black man, would that be rascist? Or does it become rascist because he used the word merkin?

cheese

Craigie's been playing in 1st div, and from all reports, playing poorly.

It reeks of someone not getting what they want, so they have one last potshot before their final demise

Langmack is a disgrace regardless

I guess, if he said it, he should have just said you fat merkin and left the black bit out. Either way, I don't GAF. Craigie is yesterdays news, if news at all.

This reeks of opportunism and spitting the dummy.

This alleged incident happened in December so why complain now???

Maybe because he's jealous and fustrated that he is not in first grade?

A footballer who is all but washed up going for the easy cash and playing the race card to get back into first grade.

Pityful tactics.

For the record Langmack lacks personnel skills required for coaching. He'll be in the dole queue soon enough.

Forget the fat part of it. Forget it was Craigie. How would you people, as loyal Sharkie fans take it, if someone said this to Peach? Preston when he was here? Merritt? Not real well I'm thinking.

I'm not a fan of Cragie and I'm not a big fan of political correctness, however these comments, if Langmack said them, are totally uncalled for in any shape or fomr whether it be about any culture or race or colour. I personally don't see what it had to do with him being over weight. Plenty of non-indigenous fat people around. Leave the colour out of it and there's no problem!

It's also how the word black is used. I've got heaps of Aboriginal mates and a few relatives to boot. I call them blackfellas all the time and no problems. It's when it's used in derogatory terms that it becomes an issue.

I'm on Coastal Shark's side. What relevance to anything is Craigie's skin colour? If Langmack wanted to have a go at him about his weight -- fair enough. But why bring race into it?

Why? Because he wanted it to be derogatory. That's WHY black was mentioned and that's WHY he's pissed off.

Fat = insult (but true)
merkin = insult

It was a put-down and his race was added in in a negative way. It's not like he was given an effectionate nickname, eg. I dont think most dark people would take offence if the word black was used as part of a compliment, like say if Owen Craigie was called (for example) the black assassin or something.

There is a difference between using the word 'black' to describe someone as in "he's black" and using the word 'black' whilst putting someone down. It's completely obvious and he would have known it was meant to be offensive.

I've had Arabs call me a "white piece of shit" or whatever and you know the white bit is meant to be insulting. Obviously I couldnt care less what some Arab wants to call me, so it doesnt offend me. But as garbo says:
so because you wouldn't take offence to a racial slur, nobody should?

When it comes down to it, it's disgraceful behaviour from a first grade coach, particularly considering Souths' ties to the indigenous community.

Foz

A tough call this.
I've heard footy coaches use all sorts of language.
As popper related to I've heard guys called big fat white c.... ,made mention to their heritage and everyone else's.
Most people would take it as a rev up. I dont agree with this but (rightly or wrongly) it is accepted culture of League.
I know you cant say anything like this to people you work with etc but it seems to me you find it more offensive when you are in Premier League and not the NRL.
Will this end one or two people's career?

Alan Shore

The black part is certainly offensive. However, 'fat merkin' is not - it's calling a spade a spade. Craigie is on the edge of obesity and has constantly had a weight problem throughout his entire career.

beerboy

im also being called a skip and all that, but i love it, im proud of being an aussie and if ur not f**k off

BTW getting a southern cross tattoo this W/E unless i chicken out