Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lui

DanOz

Did you watch us in 07, 08 and 09 when Morris was at 7?

Sorry but you have to be kidding...Lui would have more try assists in a dozen or so games than Morris collected in three years.

Look Lui is no superstar, but FFS the kid is 20 and probably wouldn't be in the side if Moltzen was fit. He has deficiencies but you can see there is talent there, even if it's pretty raw.

Can't agree with you. And look at the other side of the coin - can Morris tackle? Morris will not win you a game with his attack, but he has about as much chance as Lui to have the odd good game. In defense, Morris wont lose you a game but Lui's attrocious backslapping arm grabbing has and will continue to contribute to us losing. I see nothing in Lui to look forward to except his departure from 1st grade. But that is just my opinion.

TroopyF

To what extent is it up to him to take control of the game?

To what extent is it up to the other playmakers to ease him into it?

To what extent is it up to the coach to come up with some new plays to help bring him into the game if he's struggling?

I don't just mean now, I mean over the last 26 weeks...

Maybe he's not any good; maybe our other playmakers are glory hounds; maybe our coach is inept...

Probably it's a mixture of all these things. It's a real shame.

You're probably onto something there.
Maybe at this stage of his career it IS all three.
I just hope he gets plenty of help in defence against them chooks.

hybrid_tiger

Can't agree with you. And look at the other side of the coin - can Morris tackle? Morris will not win you a game with his attack, but he has about as much chance as Lui to have the odd good game. In defense, Morris wont lose you a game but Lui's attrocious backslapping arm grabbing has and will continue to contribute to us losing. I see nothing in Lui to look forward to except his departure from 1st grade. But that is just my opinion.

Since when is a halfback in the team to tackle? We won a premiership with a halfback who couldn't tackle.

John Morris has about as much creativity as my f**king grandmother. Damn right his attack would never win you a game...never seen someone murder so many overlaps, or stifle our play as much as he did. He couldn't kick for sh*t, passing was atrocious most of the time. He is a great example of a good athlete, but does not have any ability as a "footballer" whatsoever.

I'd take Lui any day over Morris, even on a bad day. Lui has deficiencies in defence, so did Chris Lawrence two years ago. Lui showed against Parramatta his defence CAN improve. It will be up and down and will mix good with bad, but that is what we have to deal with. There is nobody better with Moltzen unavailable.

DanOz

Opinions vary. Lazarus is better than Lui imo. And every footballer is required to tackle.

If you don't like criticism then you may not like life a great deal.

For f**ks sake, stop being a softcock wanker. We give praise and criticism where it's earned.

What the f**k has Lui done to deserve praise other than 'being a kid'

If you don't like the comments, get the f**k out dickhead.

We're all better supporters than f**kheads like you will ever be. Head on over to the official forum where you can all hold hands and dance around in the land of marshmallows and lollipops and fluffy kittens, giving everyone handjobs about how great every missed tackle by Lui which leads to a try, really is.

I used to visit the official forum on a regular basis,dont bother anymore. Your right ,to angelic & delusional.Love this forum,there is large number of contributors with whom i hold in high regard.

We all agree to disagree at times but that is the nature of the beast.

Keep up the good work boys & girls for it is a pleasure.

Borat.

Helpful as always Borat.

What is it? Mother issues, small penis, no personal power in the workplace?

It's OK pal, I understand.

I was actually talking to the other guy but if my comments somehow help with your self-esteem issues, hey, I'm happy to help.

Much love,

Jase

I'm here to help???? WTF

What is it -I'll tell you

You state the f##king obvious as if it is some type of wisdom you have acquired over the course of you lifelong journey of learning.....

Magpies Forever

Well, for better or for worse, Lui will be the 1/2 for the finals series. He will have to step up and he can learn a lot. 2011 will see Moltzen return and I hope return to the 1/2 role and Lui can drop back and continue developing some more away from the blow torch of NRL standard and be a useful standby in case of injury.

Yep, his defense aint the best at present but he is all we've got. We cant clone another Tom Raudonikas at this stage unfortunately :p

We might as wel strap in and enjoy the ride for as long as it lasts.

ShanghaiCharlie

First class game by Lui. It's the first time I've ever seen him back himself and believe in his own ability and he looked like a different player and one who adds real substance to the team.

hybrid_tiger

He played well against Parramatta and Penrith too, as I said earlier.

He was pretty good last night, should have nailed that field goal though.

DanOz

First class game by Lui. It's the first time I've ever seen him back himself and believe in his own ability and he looked like a different player and one who adds real substance to the team.

He didnt do anything wrong, but what did he do that you were so impressed with? This is an honest question by the way, I am trying to get a handle on what his supporters are seeing that I am obviously missing.

andrew9148

Ricky Stuart said he had a great game. I dont think anybody played terribly. Looks like he will get to run the show this weekend!!

ShanghaiCharlie

He didnt do anything wrong, but what did he do that you were so impressed with? This is an honest question by the way, I am trying to get a handle on what his supporters are seeing that I am obviously missing.
Didn't do anything special but his involvement was 10 times above anything I've seen from him before. He actually looked like a first grade footballer. He looked comfortable on the football field and not like a boy caught in headlights and ran the ball more than I've seen him before and reasonably effectively and dangerously too.

hybrid_tiger

Provided an option all night with ball in hand, passes were generally crisp, he took on the line more than once, saved a try by running down a player into touch, defensively solid., kicking game was good.

Ron's_Mate

That was the best I've seen the Tigers play all year & I also thought Lui was very good. Timed his passes well & was a good ball distributor. I feel all we were really lacking last night was a specialist fullback. No matter what happens this year I'm feeling very good about next year.

DanOz

Provided an option all night with ball in hand, passes were generally crisp, he took on the line more than once, saved a try by running down a player into touch, defensively solid., kicking game was good.

This is what I saw -

Provided an option - not sure what you are saying he did, I can't remember him providing any try assists?
Passes were crisp - as you would expect from a 1st grader?
Took the line on, but never made a line break,
That tackle he made was fantastic, I cheered my arse off!
Defensively solid, I will agree somewhat, but imo the Roosters did not effectively target him, but he still defended better than previous weeks.
Kicking game was good - average is my opinion, no try assists from kicks, no 40 / 20's, no kicks that stood out.

DanOz

Didn't do anything special but his involvement was 10 times above anything I've seen from him before. He actually looked like a first grade footballer. He looked comfortable on the football field and not like a boy caught in headlights and ran the ball more than I've seen him before and reasonably effectively and dangerously too.

I agree with you that he looked comfortable compared to previous games. I did not see him as dangerous at any time though to be honest.

N.C.

He kept a bit of pressure of the others just by being there. You don't have to break the line in order to keep it moving backwards. It was no match-winning performance, but it looked like he was playing with a bit more confidence than usual.