Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Making better use of the Video screen.

Who else thinks the Video screen could be better utilised at game day?

There is alot of dead time often at a game of footy, and I don't mean actually utilising it during a game of football other than for it to be used for football replays and video ref decisions.

BUT...When opportunities arise during breaks in Premier League etc..

How about if they would put on footage of flashbacks from great games in the past even going back to the 70's. I think that would be of a big interest to alot of people.

How about a couple of profiles of our mermaids. Say 2 each game.

Profiles of some of the league players. Especially the new guys, and even extend it to some of the upincoming lower graders we don't know much about their history before they came to the club.

Sponsors could still be promoted inbetween segments.

I think it's part of life that we're all addicted to the big screen wherever it is whether at home or out.

I mean this is just a few ideas there must be more. I would much prefer to see the Mermaids do a routine and then flash to the screen for some of the above than seeing some of the most boring entertainment ever invented including Dog Show routines, Leaping Loonie acts, Catch the bomb competitions, kick a goal competitions etc.

Oh and please no more Parachuters, I think we know that it's possible to land on a football field now. :roll:

How about if they would put on footage of flashbacks from great games in the past even going back to the 70's. I think that would be of a big interest to alot of people

I thought about that one a while ago too!

Cant understand why they dont do it...
people arent stupid...if you just give them adds they wont watch the screen....but if they put something on thats worthwhile interesting and relevant ALL eyes will be on the screen.

Booyah

I'd like to see the Cheergirls on the big screen alot more. I don't think anyone would have any objections to that. :D

Maybe a quick shot of the line at the bar every couple of minutes so as you know when to make a quick trip.

Booyah

carcharias said:
Maybe a quick shot of the line at the bar every couple of minutes so as you know when to make a quick trip.

In all seriousness, that's a pretty damned good idea.

MERMAIDS!

Great idea. They definatley need better entertainment, it has gone down hill big time over the last 2 or 3 years. I remember in 2000, every Saturday night was huge.

You should write an email to the club!

shadowboxer

hte idea for vision of the bar queue is probally one of the better ideas ever mentioned on here. I reckon we put it management...

carinashark

Mermaids and a bar que would be great. But really I was on about this a few years ago . Stuff like sincronization of the player picks and names plus old footage of the 78 gf. But no one listened , I wrote , phoned , offered to help. But nothing , Zip . And so it goes on every year same old stuff ups . The screen might not even work !I bet they havent even tested it or wont till game day. Pathetique!
Carinashark

Sharkie73

I'd like to see bits of the 73 GF and I'd like to see a split screen showing the great Steve Rogers and Matt Rogers in full flight. How many clubs besids ours have ever produced A father and son who where both Internationals, top point score holders?????

The Popper

Yeah! I agree. More of the Mermaids.
Hey, Jimbo. The Club in non-discriminatory. They shut the Summertime Bar and related toilets mid way thru last season so now there's a queue for the blokes too.
Bloody ridiculous.
But then I did know a bloke who couldn't get to the Grand Final one year but wanted the atmosphere. So he threw grass cuttings over his lounge room floor, locked the toilet door and stood on his esky in front of the TV. :shock:
Maybe the Sharks Management is just trying to create some of `that' atmosphere for us long suffering Sharks fans.