Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Raiders @ GIO Stadium Canberra

Who will win? Round 2: Raiders v Knights

I just saw the game. I'm so bloody thrilled for the Knights. You guys are the best supporters in the game - turning up week after week knowing you'll be flogged by 50 for 3 years but always there anyway.

Really hope you make the 8. It'll be good for the competition.

And what about Ponga?! He's the kind of guy you watch neutral games for just to see him play.He's looking really cheap at 450k now isn't he?

PhilGould

I still think Slade's service from dummy half leaves a bit to be desired, but what he brings to our middle defensively is too valuable to consider dropping him at the moment.

PhilGould

The Saifitis were both really strong off the bench I though, according to NRL.com they made 80 & 70 metres respectively but it was more the quality of their runs that I was impressed with.
I was shocked when I saw their metres gained numbers were that low. Thought they would've both cracked 100 easily. They both need to be in the 17 somewhere.

Noname36

I just saw the game. I'm so bloody thrilled for the Knights. You guys are the best supporters in the game - turning up week after week knowing you'll be flogged by 50 for 3 years but always there anyway.

Really hope you make the 8. It'll be good for the competition.

And what about Ponga?! He's the kind of guy you watch neutral games for just to see him play.He's looking really cheap at 450k now isn't he?

Thanks mate, that’s good of you to say!

Noname36

I was shocked when I saw their metres gained numbers were that low. Thought they would've both cracked 100 easily. They both need to be in the 17 somewhere.

I know Jacob sometimes cops some criticism but I think they’re both wonderful. Lillyman and especially Heighno don’t exactly have heaps of footy in front of them so they’ll both have spots soon enough but for now it’s good they have those experienced blokes to lead them and learn from. Those two in addition to Sione and Barnett had to lead the pack last year at a really young age so I bet they’re loving having the experience around them.

Interesting to watch both press conferences.
Brown recognised the good performances and noted we need to work on some areas.
Stewart basically said he can't do anything because they played well and only lost by two points and questioned if they had one by two points then why should he get up them.

Brown said he is still uncertain about the halves situation in the future but is happy with the situation now and hopes Lamb will be a long term part of the team.

Credit given to both Safiti boys and some recognition they play well when both are in the team and a hope they will take the team forward

Zoidberg

Was at work so only got to see the first half and updates of the 2nd.
Thought we were no chance when we were down 28-20.
So happy when I saw we got up.
Having less possession and getting the win is such a rare thing for us, even before the last few years so that’s definitely a positive.
Defence seems like it needed work but Canberra are one of the best attacking teams around so we were bound to let a few tries in.
So proud of the guys and hope they can continue to improve and keep up the intensity they are playing with.

aqua_duck

I know Jacob sometimes cops some criticism but I think they’re both wonderful. Lillyman and especially Heighno don’t exactly have heaps of footy in front of them so they’ll both have spots soon enough but for now it’s good they have those experienced blokes to lead them and learn from. Those two in addition to Sione and Barnett had to lead the pack last year at a really young age so I bet they’re loving having the experience around them.
I think Lillyman and Heighington were brought in as mentors and also just to set a standard of where the young guys need to be to get into the team. You know what you're going to get from Heighington and its up to guys like Jacob, Josh King, Pasami Saulo, etc to displace him.
I know most of the attention in terms of new signings was focused around Ponga and Pearce but I think Ese'ese will prove to be just as valuable an addition

Allstar Knights

Herman isn't overly big but he's a nice athlete, has incredible leg speed and makes intelligent lines that gets in behind the defence.

Very good player

Still Nutty

...Pearce - Again, he stepped up when we needed him to, controlled the team and structured the final try.....

Started to put this into KOTR thread off the back of Swarzey's post but thought it better in here as I added more...

What I loved more was the 60 m kick just short of the in goal and stayed in field in the set after we scored the final try that really took the wind out of their sails...with just under 5 minutes to go, that sort of quality is what you get from a player of Pearce's calibre in being able to execute how you close out a game.

While he is here for a good stint, the value he is going to bring to Lamb's game in the next 2 to 3 years will be immense for us and I hope Lamb can now see his long term future at the Knights.

The balance of Pearce half, Lamb 5/8, with Ponga as the extra 'running 5/8' in attack and Connor utility should be the settled combination going forward that I honestly believe would see this team making up the 8 this year. The flexibility to have Griffin swapped out for any of the back row, Watson to dummy half covers a bench forward plus he can shuffle to fill any of the other spine roles (and probably most backline positions at a pinch)

I'm really not sure what this means for Danny Levi (who hasn't been setting the world on fire in Reggies either) but he is young and there is still scope for him to be in the long term plans for the club but he is going to have to be patient, continue to work on his game and his durability to become an 80 minute player and show he is ready when the chance presents.

Yosh

Couldn't find fault with any one player the whole game. There are definitely aspects we can improve but everyone was at least solid tonight.

It felt like the first time in a long while since I felt I was watching a first grade side. The last couple of years it felt like we were always fielding a reserve grade side against firsts. We look so good across the park. We have a great combination of experience, skill, physicality, youth and energy in all positions across the pitch.

Was great to see us attack the left after BJ went off injured. Pearce setting the tone and taking advantage of an opposition's weakness, kicking it out to give oue guys a rest and stop Canberra's momentum, these sort of tactics that are basic but have been missing from our play the past few years.

Also, a but early but there seems to be a paradigm shift in mentality. After we got a win it used to be 'yes, we didn't lose' to now 'yes, we got the win'.

The players deserve a lot of praise but Brown has been through real champ and drive behind the team's growth and hope he starts getting the recognition he deserves.

Mr_Knightside

Started to put this into KOTR thread off the back of Swarzey's post but thought it better in here as I added more...

What I loved more was the 60 m kick just short of the in goal and stayed in field in the set after we scored the final try that really took the wind out of their sails...with just under 5 minutes to go, that sort of quality is what you get from a player of Pearce's calibre in being able to execute how you close out a game.

While he is here for a good stint, the value he is going to bring to Lamb's game in the next 2 to 3 years will be immense for us and I hope Lamb can now see his long term future at the Knights.

The balance of Pearce half, Lamb 5/8, with Ponga as the extra 'running 5/8' in attack and Connor utility should be the settled combination going forward that I honestly believe would see this team making up the 8 this year. The flexibility to have Griffin swapped out for any of the back row, Watson to dummy half covers a bench forward plus he can shuffle to fill any of the other spine roles (and probably most backline positions at a pinch)

I'm really not sure what this means for Danny Levi (who hasn't been setting the world on fire in Reggies either) but he is young and there is still scope for him to be in the long term plans for the club but he is going to have to be patient, continue to work on his game and his durability to become an 80 minute player and show he is ready when the chance presents.

Totally agree with all of this. I think Lamb will be back in the starting 5/8 role by mid season and Watson may have to settle for being the bench utility. All of a sudden we have heaps of flexibility with Griffin being able to move from hooker into the forwards or for Watson to plug any holes in the back line or at hooker.

If Levi wants to get back into the team he will need to work really hard with his fitness and will need to improve his defence as he seems to be out of favour at the moment because it looks like Brown prefers a defensive hooker who can tighten up the ruck which isn't really a big part of Levi's game a the moment.

Burwood

Also, a but early but there seems to be a paradigm shift in mentality. After we got a win it used to be 'yes, we didn't lose' to now 'yes, we got the win'.

I think it was in an interview with Fitzgibbon during the preseason where he mentioned that the atttide has shifted from hoping to win, to expecting to win.

Bring it home Knights

I like Levi as a hooker when we are on the attack. His passing is well timed, crisp and he has a good running game. His defence is the biggest issue for mine. He doesn't hit hard and isn't as busy as Griffin is there. If he wants to get back in the team, thgis is the area that he needs to greatly improve.