Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Vs the Panthers

fat_mike

round 2 has our mighty chooks up against our old mates the penrith panthers. i bloody love these games against the panthers. gonna be a bloody good battle in the forwards and anything can happen with both sides set of backs. we always seem to play top footy at penrith or we have in the recent seasons. who can forget the perfect half of footy we played in 2003.

the panthers are an unpredictable bunch and can attack from anywhere on the park but i can see us getting up over them. big hits on clinton early will shut him out of the game but i see ben ross and the real danger man in the penrith team. he seems to keep going and always seems ready to hit it up.

i cxan wait to see sia match up against another good young centre in luke lewis. lewis is a sound defender and sia is a powerful runner. should be great to watch these two at it.

attacking defernse is what is needed and the backs will do the rest

how do we all see the chooks taking the 2 points in this one.

GO You Chooks!!!!

ozzie

yes should be a cracker - if our halves jell then I think we can get away with it - hope firman's been proctising his kicks.

fat_mike

yeah firman definetly needs to improve his shorter kicking game big time. i think we definetly have the grunt and allround hardness int he forwards to get over the top of the panthers but i think the backs will need to be on song big time. should be a great game to watch, hopefully a big crowd out at penny park.

Bubbles

Can't wait for this one - I'm with you mike, love the games against the Westies!!!

Our kicking game is going to be the key. The kicking game against the Bunnies in the first half was atrocious - the buildup of pressure on the back of kicks, repeat sets of six etc., that we play our best footy off, was just not there. The halves combination need to fire, not so much swapping and changing would be good. But you’re spot on in regards to the forwards battle, it should be massive.

Bottom line for me is that we need to give the boys a bit of leeway to develop new combinations. But there's a lot to like about the team this year, despite the obvious loss of Freddy. Especially seeing the talented bunch of rookies we've got coming through to first grade!

Can't wait - Go Chooks!!

choc_soldier

Should be a beauty out there on Sunday, the ground will be packed, and it will be an evenly matched battle by the looks of it. I love the matches against the Chooks too.

Judging on the past few years, we will either shut you out, or you will thrash us.

I am hoping for the first one. ;-)

fat_mike

cheers mick, good luck to the penrith boys in what will hopefully be another gripping contest

I hate it when someone uses the term "westie" to speak of the panthers.

I am a westie but it will be a cold month of sundays before I was ever a panther.

now I have that off my chest, bring on the pussies.
I saw a great bumper sticker the other day......if you've lost your cat, check under my tyres..........here kitty kitty.....:)

dougthelegend

should be a fantastic game. Will be good to sia on lewis - loved his hit last week on Harrison (not sure if it was harrison or not though) left him seeing stars with a beauty of a shoulder charge.

If we can shut down the penrith halves with some good attacking defence, then our backs should dominate and run up a cricket score ;)

best of luck panthers - these games are always brilliant - its good to have it nice and early in the season!

dougthelegend

ozzie said:
ok - you can have him

sounds like a fantastic idea to me!! :D

Walker is a waste of space - i wish we'd never picked him up in the first place!

great game anyway Panthers - i must say - i didnt predict you guys being 0-2 after two rounds (although i did tip us to be 2-0 ;))

choc_soldier

We'll hopefully break the duck against the Dragons next week.

Those two intercept tries broke our back. But well done to the Chooks... see you again in Round 22.

Walker is a wanker.... *clap clap clap clap*

Well I think Walker is a top player when on his game.

tell me, which combo would you all prefer

Walker/Cross

or

Walker/Hodges

I know which I'de rather see.
Get off his back and he just might have a chance.

Fibroman

:( I spent the last 2 days looking for an exposed beam to throw a rope over. I can't believe it. What are they putting in the bloody coffee thesedays?

ozzie

Fibroman said:
:( I spent the last 2 days looking for an exposed beam to throw a rope over. I can't believe it. What are they putting in the bloody coffee thesedays?

lol - wb fibroman - a lot of people didn't like the game etc - but I thought it was good and hard - your side will beat more sides than they lose to. cheers and see you next round - if not before

Fibroman

I'm back. Don't you worry about that. No longer looking for that exposed beam. A victory against the Dragons and you guys losing to the Broncos has given me a new lease on life. I spent all day celebrating by drinking cheap coffee out of a cheap and nasty Go-Low coffee cup with just a dash of long life full cream milk. YUMMY. ;-)