Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matthew Nicholas - Confirmed

I think it all comes down to the Witt/Morris. Them to were outstanding last year. We won 11/13 games. If Witt gels he will be able to lead and organise. But with seasoned forwards like Vella and Pearson, Witt probably feels a little inexperienced in telling senior players what to do. Its rumoured if we get Marsh he wont be able to playh till 2006. So Witt/Morris for my two cents.

That's right.

I think that, on paper at least, our forward pack for next year looks the best it has in ages.

Vella has been outstanding in recent weeks; Stringer is a metre-monster, as is Cannings; Cayless has great mobility and ball skills; Riddell is a line and tackle breaker; Robinson is very under-rated; and with a second row of Hindmarsh and Morrison, with Wagon to do most of the defensive work, we look to (at least on paper) have great go-forward.

With this new go-forward pack, I think Witt and Morris will blossom. Both these guys have a good feel for the game, as evidenced last year when they formed our halves combination, and we can pile on the points with them (as shown last year).

And then add our backline, including stars like Guru, Tahu, the young guys and Wade, and we are looking great in '05 (on paper at least).

GAME FIRST said:
Willi Hungi- your name says it all sweety!

Maybe you should hang yourself? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

That's just disturbing...

Injuries are gonna have a huge impact next year too. Our team does look very good on paper but it has for the past 3 seasons as well. We've underachieved for sure, don't wanna see it happen again.

oldmancraigy

<UPtheEELS> - I think it was 9 of 13 - but the last loss was against the Panthers - we sort of gave up when they had scored a few points and we realised we couldn't win by 26 anymore....

I think centers is probably our shallowest position for next year at the moment

Tahu and Smith look pretty good, but the backup is a little ordinary

Burt is poor in the centers = most try incidents in the NRL!

O'Dwyer and Graham are pretty much unproven as centers (in either of the top grades!)

And we don't have a lot else.... be good to see how Nichloas goes in lower grades!

I think it was 10 of 11 - Dykes was back in for the last two games, including the Panthers loss?

Eelementary said:
We arent that bad in that department
we have:
Marsh (maybe)
Witt
Morris
Blake
Smith
Mateo
We need seasoned halves which i believe we will sign one soon.

Yeah, that's fair enough mate, and I see the point.

But in the centres we have:

Burt
Smith
O'Dwyer
Widders
Tahu
Graham
Langi (?)

First of all Langi wont be at the club next year, Graham has been well below par this season, Widders is mainly a backrower or an impact from the bench and Burt can see himself mostly on the wing or fullback.

So I reckon we've pretty much got the halves position covered, the centres is something we've got to fill. And Im glad we've brought in a Parramatta junior, its what we need. Just hope Smith doesnt screw him up like the others. :x

Hurriflatch

Good news, would be better if Mick Gordon also came but I read in another post he was headed for Penruff

Utey

Yes he does play centre. He started there once this season. Howvere all the tries got scored on Burts side. He isnt a starter but a good hole runner. A shame he coudltn continue that form we saw during the middle of the year.

PARRA_FAN said:
Eelementary said:
We arent that bad in that department
we have:
Marsh (maybe)
Witt
Morris
Blake
Smith
Mateo
We need seasoned halves which i believe we will sign one soon.

Yeah, that's fair enough mate, and I see the point.

But in the centres we have:

Burt
Smith
O'Dwyer
Widders
Tahu
Graham
Langi (?)

First of all Langi wont be at the club next year, Graham has been well below par this season, Widders is mainly a backrower or an impact from the bench and Burt can see himself mostly on the wing or fullback.

So I reckon we've pretty much got the halves position covered, the centres is something we've got to fill. And Im glad we've brought in a Parramatta junior, its what we need. Just hope Smith doesnt screw him up like the others. :x

OK mate.

1. At the time of writing this I was unaware of Langi's situation.

2. Graham HAS been well below par, but once he gets back to 100% fitness there is no reason he can't make First Grade.

3. Widders has played 60-ish minutes at centre this year.

4. Burt is a winger/fullback, but he played his junior footy at centre.

And the sad fact is neither you nor I am in charge - Brian is, and he sees Widders and Burt as quality centres.

oldmancraigy

Eelementary said:
OK mate.

1. At the time of writing this I was unaware of Langi's situation.

2. Graham HAS been well below par, but once he gets back to 100% fitness there is no reason he can't make First Grade.

3. Widders has played 60-ish minutes at centre this year.

4. Burt is a winger/fullback, but he played his junior footy at centre.

And the sad fact is neither you nor I am in charge - Brian is, and he sees Widders and Burt as quality centres.

:? :? :? :? :? :? :?

So - because Widders has played 60 minutes of football in the centers this year, he is seen as a quality center??

And because Burt is our 4th choice center for this season sees him as a quality center??

I think the fact that we've already signed two new centers says that Brian Smith DOESN'T see those two as quality centers....