Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mortimer clan dines with the enemy

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...s-with-the-enemy/story-e6frfgbo-1225860393728

Mortimer clan dines with the enemy

* Nick Walshaw
* April 30, 2010 12:00AM

STEVE Mortimer isn't sure which is more painful: the three fractures in his jaw or one request to be wined, dined and hosted in a plush corporate suite by the Parramatta Eels.

"Because, mate, you saw what happened in the '80s," the Canterbury great, who almost lost his life in a car accident last Saturday, laughs.

"We were bitter rivals. Arch-enemies.

"So my jaw may be a bit crook but I'll still be cheering the Doggies home."

In a move that would've brought bloodshed 30 years ago, champion Bulldogs Steve, Chris and Peter Mortimer will tonight be special guests at Parramatta Stadium as the latest member of their clan, Eels halfback Daniel, takes on the club they represented for 652 games.

Not only has Eels CEO Paul Osborne flown Peter from Orange and Chris from Wagga for the event, he's also showering the group with a range of freebies as a unique but touching way of thanking the men who moulded the club's newest sensation.

Thanking Peter for breeding son Daniel's work ethic on that Orange vineyard. Thanking Turvey for his anticipation and speed off the mark. And thanking Chris for not only gifting the grit of a fella who once removed a surgical pin from his thumb with pliers, but that Wagga property where his nephew took sanctuary before signing that new $500,000 deal with the Eels.

"Which is a little weird because, mate, I hated Parramatta," laughs the Kangaroo centre nicknamed Louie. "Well, we all did. But it will be nice to watch Daniel go around and, given the events of the past week, nice to just see with my brothers again."

By "the events", Chris means a horrific car accident that almost saw brother Steve, who was driving to visit his mum in Millthorpe, killed when a young bloke lost control of his ute and veered on to the wrong side of the road.

Turvey's car was completely written off. Three factures to his jaw and a heap of stitches, too.

A deployed air bag saved him, allowing him to share a beer with 1980s rivals Ray Price, Brett Kenny and Eric Grothe tonight.

Not that the trio are guaranteed to give young Daniel such good luck, however. You see, the Mortimers have only come together twice to watch Daniel play. Once for the 2009 grand final, which Parramatta lost. The other was Parramatta's round 18 match against the Gold Coast last year, where the young No. 7 lasted only 10 minutes before being helped off with injury.

"Yeah, that one was fairly embarrassing," the Eels halfback says with a grin.

"I had my parents, uncles, aunties, cousins, everyone there. And then to only last 10 minutes ... "

So, did he ever consider telling Osborne to keep the trio away?

"Oh, no way," Mortimer continues. "We're a real close family and I love having them there.

"Besides, there's always the chance Pricey and Uncle Louie will get stuck into each other up there in the President's Suite."

Not only has Eels CEO Paul Osborne flown Peter from Orange and Chris from Wagga for the event, he's also showering the group with a range of freebies as a unique but touching way of thanking the men who moulded the club's newest sensation.

is Schubert going to count this in the cap :?

1 Eyed TEZZA

Actually, he might. Only for every 50th match after the 100th can be discounted from the cap when bringing in family for the match. But honestly, how much would it cost to fly from Orange and Wagga?

pauljc26

In a move that would've brought bloodshed 30 years ago, champion Bulldogs Steve, Chris and Peter Mortimer will tonight be special guests at Parramatta Stadium as the latest member of their clan, Eels halfback Daniel, takes on the club they represented for 652 games.

They might get a bit lonely watching at Parramatta stadium

i dont get turvey's continuing love for the bulldogs after they dumped him like a sh*tty nappy during the coffs harbour scandal i guess he's just a forgiving guy