Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mt Smart, Melbourne, Canberra, Newcastle and NQ

forward pass

One thing that really frustrates me is our complete inability to win games out of town. For some strange reason we have a reasonable record at Suncorp and have won a couple on the Gold Coast.

But we just can not win at the venues above. Our away record is dismal overall but looking at these particular grounds it is simply appalling.

Canberra - last win 2006. Have lost the last 5 there and won just 1 from our last 10 games.

Melbourne - last win 2005. Have lost the last 6 games down there and have won 1 from the last 9.

Mt Smart - last win 2007. Have lost last 4 games there. (Although we did manage a win at Eden park in 2011)

Newcastle - last win 2009. Have lost last 5 games there and won 1 from our last 8.

Nth Qld - last win 2010. Have lost last 3 there and won 1 from last 9.

That makes 5 wins from our last 41 games at those venues! And the good news is we play at all those venues this year except Canberra.

eel01s

This just shows how poor we have been since 2007 - magic 2009 run excluded.

You are right though, we never seem to show up when we play away.

Townsville and Melbourne. Last few years, not just beaten, humiliated, thrashed.

We seem to enjoy playing in Brisbane ever since 1993.

How do other teams fare at those venues?

They call it a home ground advantage for a good reason. Not that it should be an instant dismissal based on that BUT most teams don't travel well either....

forward pass

How do other teams fare at those venues?

They call it a home ground advantage for a good reason. Not that it should be an instant dismissal based on that BUT most teams don't travel well either....

Saints have beaten Raiders down there last 2 seasons now. Titans have won in Canberra last 3 occasions - they won in Melbourne last start and won in Newcastle last year - on 'Rise for Alex' day !

Sharks have won recently at Mt Smart and several years ago in NQ.

Without spending all day on it - I reckon we have the worst record for sure.

Kornstar

The Eels are like government workers. The culture is that if you have a job in that organisation you are not held accountable for anything. The organisations accept mediocrity, hence why we see efforts like we have all these years.

Until everyone is on the same page from top to bottom we will always be the same!

Someone

not really related but I was thinking the other day I cant remember the last time we beat the rabbitohs, home or away.

was it 2009 or 2010?

they must be close to our longest losing streak.

2010 was our last victory against Souths which was a home game at ANZ.

I did some research.

Currently the losing streak against Souths stands at 7 in a row. That's also the same amount against Newcastle which we haven't won against since 2009.

The longest losing streak against any club is 12 in a row which is equal to Wests and Manly both from 1956-61.

In terms of winning streaks against clubs, 10 is our record which is against Balmain (1978-83), Illawarra (1982-86), Norths (1981-86), Penrith (1975-80)

With current winning streaks, it only stands at 2 which tells you how bad our previous years have been. 2 against Dragons, Manly and Sharks.

I have no life. :D

Incorrect

I think these stats indicate how mentally fragile our footy team has become in the last 5-6 years and there are several contributing factors. A revolving door of ordinary coaches, recruitment of ordinary, injury prone players past their used by dates and overpaid juniors, political infighting and a seemingly fractured belief in being able to compete with teams away from Parra Stadium.

The number of times we have found oursleves 3 and 4 tries down at other grounds before we have even got off the team bus are becoming Groundhog Day-like. For a team/organisation starved of success for so long, these gameday debacles are just way too hard to recover from, and only further damage the psyche of the roster. I keep hoping for evidence of a change in that psyche, and I know it's not a quick fix, but I'm not sure we're any closer to that fix in 2015 with Brad Arthur at the helm, than we were with Karney and Stuart around... but I would say that of all the coaches post Brian Smith, BA seems to be making the right moves to bring about change... Proper execution is now required.

forward pass

I think these stats indicate how mentally fragile our footy team has become in the last 5-6 years and there are several contributing factors. A revolving door of ordinary coaches, recruitment of ordinary, injury prone players past their used by dates and overpaid juniors, political infighting and a seemingly fractured belief in being able to compete with teams away from Parra Stadium.

The number of times we have found oursleves 3 and 4 tries down at other grounds before we have even got off the team bus are becoming Groundhog Day-like. For a team/organisation starved of success for so long, these gameday debacles are just way too hard to recover from, and only further damage the psyche of the roster. I keep hoping for evidence of a change in that psyche, and I know it's not a quick fix, but I'm not sure we're any closer to that fix in 2015 with Brad Arthur at the helm, than we were with Karney and Stuart around... but I would say that of all the coaches post Brian Smith, BA seems to be making the right moves to bring about change... Proper execution is now required.

x2

I would love to know how many times we have been 3 or 4 tries down after 20 odd minutes. A ridiculous amount of times.

BigErn

2010 was our last victory against Souths which was a home game at ANZ.

I did some research.

Currently the losing streak against Souths stands at 7 in a row.

But only 1 of those 7 was at Parra Stadium (last year when Toutai dropped it cold over the line).
We've won 10 from our last 12 at Parra Stadium. Our record at ANZ is woeful.
Wish we would stop taking games there.

forward pass

Ok - let's see what happens this week. Lets' see if anything has changed with our terrible travelling culture. Mt Smart was an epic fail again.

Can we aim up in a hostile environment? This will be interesting. I say no.

Chipmunk

Ok - let's see what happens this week. Lets' see if anything has changed with our terrible travelling culture. Mt Smart was an epic fail again.

Can we aim up in a hostile environment? This will be interesting. I say no.

I honestly think we will get a real pasting this week. I'd definitely back the Knights by 13+.

If we are a fair dinkum team with Top 8 aspirations for this year, we really need to come out and show something though.

I think you will get a good gauge on the season we're going to have this year by the performances we put in over the next couple of weeks.

Obscene Assassin

I'm surprised people find it surprising that we couldn't win games away in that period. We were going through a change, both on and off the field. We'd lost a stable coach in Brian Smith, but that needed to happen. We lost our long-serving captain in Cayless, and we were going through coaches very quickly. There was no one to create a foundation to work off. So obviously the players were able to find a winning place at home at Pirtek where they knew one thing, that the mighty Blue and Gold fans would turn up and cheer them on.