Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Negative ONLY thread

Dragon David

I really think the top 8 promotes mediocrity and also opens up the flukey premiership win from a team that finishes 8th! Imagine if the Sharks win the comp this year how the Storm would feel?

The simple answer is back to a Top 5, reward the premiers w a week off and go from there...no bullshit teams in the semis ...i don't care about TV rights and making more money from an extra week of finals footy..the comp is f**ked, and lacks any sort of integrity...it also allows shitty coaches to hang onto their jobs because they finished inside the top 8!! when they should be thinking - f**k we finished Mid Table!! need to work harder, recruit better ...i Hate the top 8!! (that rhymes)
Mickey, I agree with what you said. You hit a couple of nails on the head (rhymes too).

BBTB

Yeah it was out of him or Tedesco.
You’re right though, “nOrMy” was my man of the match too 🙄
Please,Norman was slightly better than, his usual lazy self....JDB now he was by far the Best Dragon.

Trifili13

Will never go to top 5 as after about 5 rounds the bottom 2 or 3 teams are already no hope of making the semis. By halfway through the comp half the teams will be out of contention and ratings will go through the floor and sponsors would also lose interest if no one is watching.
It's easy for the top teams to sit back and say other teams should improve how they run their clubs to attract players, but when good players are happy to play for unders at the top teams, it's almost impossible for a bottom team to attract a top line player without bending its salary cap out of shape. The NRL has to get off its arse and find a solution to even the talent out otherwise before they realise it people will stop watching except for the ones rusted on and even they will lose interest.

Dragon David

Will never go to top 5 as after about 5 rounds the bottom 2 or 3 teams are already no hope of making the semis. By halfway through the comp half the teams will be out of contention and ratings will go through the floor and sponsors would also lose interest if no one is watching.
It's easy for the top teams to sit back and say other teams should improve how they run their clubs to attract players, but when good players are happy to play for unders at the top teams, it's almost impossible for a bottom team to attract a top line player without bending its salary cap out of shape. The NRL has to get off its arse and find a solution to even the talent out otherwise before they realise it people will stop watching except for the ones rusted on and even they will lose interest.
What's the use of bringing in another Brisbane team when things are tough getting recognised players to these lower clubs like ours. How is everything going to be balanced out? The NRL/ARL will do everything in their power to make sure the new club gets "good" treatment to ensure they are successful. Funding will be "adjusted" so that the new club can secure several marquee players to go with a marquee coach.

We will continue to struggle and not be taken notice of in my view.

TruSaint

What's the use of bringing in another Brisbane team when things are tough getting recognised players to these lower clubs like ours. How is everything going to be balanced out? The NRL/ARL will do everything in their power to make sure the new club gets "good" treatment to ensure they are successful. Funding will be "adjusted" so that the new club can secure several marquee players to go with a marquee coach.

We will continue to struggle and not be taken notice of in my view.

The problem mate is that we have had 20 years to get our act together.
Whether its a new team in BNE or elsewhere, expansion is inevitable. As was the case with Mel, NZ, NQ, etc, these teams will be propped up for the overall benefit of the game. Two of the teams ive mentioned have gone on to secure titles. NZ needs assistance to avoid an embarrassing failure in a union stronghold.

Dragon David

The problem mate is that we have had 20 years to get our act together.
Whether its a new team in BNE or elsewhere, expansion is inevitable. As was the case with Mel, NZ, NQ, etc, these teams will be propped up for the overall benefit of the game. Two of the teams ive mentioned have gone on to secure titles. NZ needs assistance to avoid an embarrassing failure in a union stronghold.
We did in a way get our act together midway through those 20 years but that all changed when we didn't go for a formidable coach to replace WB.

TruSaint

We did in a way get our act together midway through those 20 years but that all changed when we didn't go for a formidable coach to replace WB.

Correct, and that's on the BOD. Not the coach.
1st strike, let's call it an error, giving him the job. Unknown at that point.
2nd and 3rd strikes are the two extensions.
That's my point mate.
We can blame Price, Mary, Dufty and Norman etc etc etc, it all comes back to the decision makers.

BBTB

That's my point mate.
We can blame Price, Mary, Dufty and Norman etc etc etc, it all comes back to the decision makers.
Agree 100%.......Something has to be done about these
pea brains.....Unfortunately
we can't even vote these frauds out.

BBTB

That's my point mate.
Yes 100%. The Board has to go.....Give us a chance to VOTE....You fraudulent parasites....

BBTB

That's my point mate.
Give us a chance to vote u scumbags out.........

Dragon David

The passing of legendary drummer Charlie Watts, sure is a negative and most sad. RIP Legend 🙏
Rest in Peace Charlie. Even though you were part of the iconic group that took the world by storm, you remained humble and kept the group under control and you didn't allow the popularity of the Stones go to your head. You will be missed, being an ex drummer myself, I admired your style, attitude and strength to overcome your anxious moments. Condolences to your family and friends.

Spot on - I've been thinking this for some time and find it near impossible to watch a game that Saints aren't playing ( and even then it's a struggle ).

What's doing it for me is :
a) the constant rule changes, few of which improve the game ie the 40/20 which somewhat did, the 6-Again which definitely didn't, the ten metre rule which also didn't
b) every team has 4/5/6 different jerseys. I can condone three - home, away. ANZAC or Indigenous round.
c) the revolving door of players, even in mid-season. Additionally, I reckon that 50% of all media articles about rugby league are about contract rumours/negotiations/releases. Another 30% would be about feuds/personality clashes/player misbehaviour/Covid violations. The remaining 20% would (perhaps) mostly be about the actual football and that's because
d) it has become REALLY boring. Everything that happens on the field looks like it comes out of the coaches playbook (It's just that some coaches have a bigger playbook than others).

I'm not a bring back the biff type, but I am a bring back the creativity and spontaneity type. I listened to some clown bagging the kicking duel the other day. My argument was that it was a good way to gain territory that gave the rest of your players some recovery time, a break from the bash and barge, and was one of the things that gave the game some variety. Andrew Voss - for one - takes the piss every time a player attempts a chip and chase. There are some good players around now, but mostly it reminds me of FIFA 21 - your players are as good as the AI and the person with the controller.

I agree with a lot of this and similar to replies of others to your post.

I haven’t watched an NRL game since the Broncos win. Main reason is I found myself batshit crazy pissed off every week watching something I love be destroyed..

Rule changes
Crackdowns
Blowouts
Judiciary madness
Elite player favouritism
Fox League
Sensationalism
Agendas
Peter Vlandys ego
Peter Vlandys puppets in fox

And that’s all aside from my beloved dragons. Wouldn’t you know the one frigging game all year they actually played really well (Parra) was the one I missed as I was in the middle of nowhere in the NT.

I’ve stayed in touch on these forums coz I genuinely do love the sport and bantering about it. But right now the sport was doing my head in, and so I cut the cord with the TV.

I miss Rugby league, but not Rugby League 2021. I miss my Dragons too, but not the Dragons 2021.

And as a side note, I recommend watching the Four Corners special on Murdoch n the US presidential election currently showing on ABC, “the big lie”. … in 2 parts. The parallels with the election and the NRL are uncanny IMO…

Murdoch pulls the strings to get who he wants into power, and his staff play puppet roles to support them…

Trump n Vlandys. So many similarities.

I haven’t watched an NRL game since the Broncos win. Main reason is I found myself batshit crazy pissed off every week watching something I love be destroyed..

Rule changes
Crackdowns
Blowouts
Judiciary madness
Elite player favouritism
Fox League
Sensationalism
Agendas
Peter Vlandys ego

And that’s all aside from my beloved dragons. Wouldn’t you know the one frigging game all year they actually played really well (Parra) was the one I missed as I was in the middle of nowhere in the NT.

I’ve stayed in touch on these forums coz I genuinely do love the sport and bantering about it. But right now the sport was doing my head in, and so I cut the cord with the TV.

I miss Rugby league, but not Rugby League 2021. I miss my Dragons too, but not the Dragons 2021.

And as a side note, I recommend watching the Four Corners special on Murdoch n the US presidential election currently showing on ABC, “the big lie”. … in 2 parts. The parallels with the election and the NRL are uncanny IMO…

Murdoch pulls the strings to get who he wants into power, and his staff play puppet roles to support them…

You’ve successfully listed all the things wrong with the game. Unfortunately I don’t see an end to any of it.

BBTB

Rule changes
Crackdowns
Blowouts
Judiciary madness
Elite player favouritism
Fox League
Sensationalism
Agendas
Peter Vlandys ego

Yes Murdoch,the "Super League" maestro. He controls the game....The t.v.
The NRL....the referees...
He orchestrated the games
to suit his media outlets.
The bunker ,all introduced by
Murdoch.....to use to his advantage. That's why he gave the game,back to the NRL, after the Super League fiasco.....Murdoch is ruining our game.....

Dragon David

Yes Murdoch,the "Super League" maestro. He controls the game....The t.v.
The NRL....the referees...
He orchestrated the games
to suit his media outlets.
The bunker ,all introduced by
Murdoch.....to use to his advantage. That's why he gave the game,back to the NRL, after the Super League fiasco.....Murdoch is ruining our game.....
Whilst I agree BBTB, there are thousands of fans of clubs that have always been high on the ladder happy with what is going on with the game. Why not, their teams are winning and if we were one of those teams, we would also be happy with the rule changes etc? It is all relative. We just suck at the moment but once we get back to where we should be, then who cares about the rules.