Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Draw

Jimbo

The 2004 draw has been released, it is at www.nrl.com.au

It looks pretty good...

Start

1. Tigers (A)
2. Bulldogs (A)
3. Manly (H)
4. Souths (A)
5. Cowboys (H)
6. Canberra (H)
7. Parramatta (A)
8. Merged Scum (H)

And I'm very happy with the run home...

20. Merged Scum (A)
21. Broncos (H)
22. Roosters (A)
23. Parramatta (H)
24. BYE
25. Melbourne (H)
26. Cowboys (A)

Jimbo

Further good points:

- Newcastle are in our group, so we only play them once, at Marathon. The good news is that its the week before Origin 3 - No Johns, Gidley, Tahu, Kennedy, etc... :D
- Warriors are also in our group, and the game is at home. Same with the Panthers.
- We get to play the Dragons twice. Four points in the bag!!

Punk

Full Season Draw

Round 1 - 12, 13, 14 March
Wests Tigers v Sharks

Round 2 - 19, 20, 21 March
Bulldogs v Sharks

Round 3 - 26, 27, 28 March
Sharks v Sea Eagles

Round 4 - 2, 3, 4 April
Rabbitohs v Sharks

Round 5 - 9, 10, 11, 12 April
Sharks v Cowboys

Round 6 - 16, 17, 18 April
Sharks v Raiders

Round 7 - 24, 25 April
Eels v Sharks

Round 8 - 30 April, 1, 2 May
Sharks v Dragons

Round 9 - 8, 9 May
Storm v Sharks

Round 10 - 14, 15, 16 May
Sharks v Roosters

Round 11 - 21, 22, 23 May
Sea Eagles v Sharks

Round 12 - 28, 29, 30 May
Sharks v Rabbitohs

Round 13 - 4, 5, 6 June
Broncos v Sharks

Round 14 - 11, 12, 13 June
Raiders v Sharks

Round 15 - 18, 19, 20 June
Sharks v Panthers

Round 16 - 25, 26, 27 June
Bye

Round 17 - 2, 3, 4 July
Knights v Sharks

Round 18 - 9, 10, 11 July
Sharks v Warriors

Round 19 - 16, 17, 18 July
Sharks v Bulldogs

Round 20 - 23, 24, 25 July
Dragons v Sharks

Round 21 - 30, 31 July, 1 August
Sharks v Broncos

Round 22 - 6, 7, 8 August
Roosters v Sharks

Round 23 - 13, 14, 15 August
Sharks v Eels

Round 24 - 20, 21, 22 August
Bye

Round 25 - 27, 28, 29 August
Sharks v Storm

Round 26 - 3, 4, 5 September
Cowboys v Sharks

fizman

2 points. Thank goodness we are not playing the Stormtroopers in round 1 at Home. And secondly, Punk, I take it that the team in the bold writing is your tip to win the match??

I think it isn't a bad draw actually. At the end of the day though, you have to beat the best to win it. After looking at the draw I would say that Rugby League will be the winner!!

Jimbo

fizman said:
At the end of the day though, you have to beat the best to win it. After looking at the draw I would say that Rugby League will be the winner!!

Yeah, righto Mr Cliche!! I guess we just have to hope the ball bounces our way, so the Sharks can maul the opposition? :p

chileman

See you at Shark Park round 3 Jimbo ;-) I'll be standing with you on the hill wearing my colours proudly :D

givmeabeer

Good draw for us I think.

Play in the double header against the Tigers, should be a cracker, the first half a dozen games look good, although there are not any easy wins or teams there. The mojority of them should be on Saturday nights and playing the Sea Eagles at Shark Park first up should be interesting with the amount of new players they have recruited..

Its always great to play the Dragons first up at home in the local clash round 8, it'll give us the mental edge on them. Play the Roosters in round 10 in our backyard, it'll be good to see, we'll giv'em some of there own medicine or chook feed. We play Penrith in round 15 just before we have our first bye, so Stuey will be up against Langy. Coming off our bye we have Newcasle, both clubs should have some players out cause of Origin 3.

The home run looks good, we play the likes of the Warriors (H), Bulldogs (H), Dragons (A), Broncos (H), Roosters (A), Eels (H), have our second bye, then play the Storm (H), then the Cowboys (A)

The byes are well spread out. We play the first 15 games, first bye, then play 7 more, have our second, play 2 more games leading into the semis..

Great test for us all..

We'll be ok guys and gals, we have to put it into practice now and look forward to a great '04 with a Premiership..

Cheers!!!!

The Popper

Yep, We seem to have a reasonably favourable draw. Tigers, Panthers, Warriors and Knights are the teams we only play once. That's better than usual. Seems I'll be able to kick back and watch Stuart Raper win us our first premiership.

Foz

The Tigers are normally fast starters so I'm not real keen on copping them first up. At least its at Telstra and not Leichardt.

Foz said:
The Tigers are normally fast starters so I'm not real keen on copping them first up. At least its at Telstra and not Leichardt.

Very true. And they've gone and bought big - Nick Graham will be out for a big game against his old club. Round one is definitely a BIG danger game.

Nicely placed byes though. Seems a very fair draw.

ali

I like the draw. The first thing i also look for in when we get our byes, and I think they are ideal. They should keep us refreshed running into the finals.

Seocond reason I like the draw is the away games. We've got trips to all our most local rivals, Saints, Dogs, Roosters, Souths, Parra, Homebush for the Tigers and even Manly. Only Sydney team we don't play is Penrith, where I probably wouldn't trek to anyway. I love the away games, so it looks like a good year to be a travelling fan.

The Tigers are a bit like us, choc full of good young talent. I think they'll come good in the next couple of years, but I'm glad we've got them round 1, and they have a completely new side.

Punk

fizman said:
And secondly, Punk, I take it that the team in the bold writing is your tip to win the match??

Bolded Text Theory

I'm glad you brought attention to this fact, as I believe it is highly important for all that it is explained to a satisfactory degree. There are many reasons why I decided to bold the text 'Sharks' within that table, and these shall be explained later within the body of this post. I believe that if all Sharks supporters read and try to understand this, they will be that much wiser, and although it may take some time, I do believe that the effort is worth it.

The bold has been used to ensure that the users attention has been drawn to the lines which hold most importance to the subject at hand, making them the point of focus. It has been used sparingly to ensure that the users are not frustrated and their attention is not diverted to matters that are considered less important, that is in our case, dates and round numbers. It is a common and highly popular attention grabbing technique that most interface designers are highly aware of. It can be argued that the text effects have been used much too frequently, but it was believed that it gave the effect the author desired and aided them in making their point. Although our society and many others read from left to right, it has been ensured that key elements are quickly accessed. Display inertia has been exhibited to a satisfactory degree, as a uniform format for reporting dates and rounds has been adopted.

The bold has also been used to ensure that, if users do so require, the Sharks draw is easily accessible in reference to human memory, as ideas from recall guidelines have been adopted and correctly followed. In doing so, I hope that there is a reduction the number of threads created throughout the season regarding season draws. In effect, it is hoped that it will reduce the load placed on the League Unlimited server, and minimise the storage space required for posts within the Front Row Forums. This is crucial as it affects the users ‘browsing’ experience. If this idea is followed consistently, it can greatly benefit both those who run and the forums. Users are able to frequent the site, and web administrators can carry out operations, with the utmost efficiency.

Another reason as to why the bold has been used is to ensure that all parties who visit this forum recognise which team they must be supporting, even those who actually call themselves Shark fans. Members of the Sharks community have, in the past, detested the happenings that have occurred within the Sharks ranks. This to the extreme of wishing the team to stumble, perform poorly and lose. This is indeed an unfortunate situation, that exposes the festering torment many people believe they have had to endure and burden themselves with. This perceived torment is used to rationalise their ill thought and actions. I hope, by bolding the text 'Sharks', that these individuals recognise the team they are to support the entire season, even when circumstances change. The team, not portions of the team

The bold has not been used to display the team which I believe will win. Unfortunately I do not believe that the Sharks can win every game that they play this season, but I do hope that they win a great many. I would like them to prove me wrong and win every game, but I believe that is highly unlikely. This is not to say I don’t have confidence in the Sharks, as I do. They shall do better than last year, and I hope that they will soon clench a premiership.

The final reason as to why bold has been used, can be explained quite simply. At current, I have nothing of importance to do. Therefore, I took it upon myself to devote my time to bolding text. This was in the hope that I better those who read this thread, those who frequent these forums, those who enjoy rugby league, those who enjoy sports, and humanity in general. This reason, that I have nothing else to do, also explains why I wrote this post.

Morpheus

A trip away to Melbourne in May, one to Brisbane and townsville if I read the home and away properly ?

Do the fans have an away trip each year on a coach ? I would love to attend an interstate sharks game with a group of enthusiastic fans !

mullet

i could prolly do that now, now that i have a heap of time on my hands but i dont know anybody :(

mullet said:
i could prolly do that now, now that i have a heap of time on my hands but i dont know anybody :(

That's an easily solved problem. Just rock up to the army, say g'day, find social co-ordinator Jimbo and you're all set... :p

Jimbo

Morpheus said:
A trip away to Melbourne in May, one to Brisbane and townsville if I read the home and away properly ?

Do the fans have an away trip each year on a coach ? I would love to attend an interstate sharks game with a group of enthusiastic fans !

Canberra is usually a good trip. A couple of years ago we stopped off in Goulburn at Gavin Miller's pub, which was pretty good. I'm not sure if they had a bus to Newcastle this year, but they don't go any further than that.

Jimbo

El Garbo said:
mullet said:

That's an easily solved problem. Just rock up to the army, say g'day, find social co-ordinator Jimbo and you're all set... :p

Yo da man Garbs, the cheque's in the mail!! ;-) :lol:

Seriously though Mullet, come over and say hi. I'm easy to find - I 'm the one in the Sharks jumper with chicks all around him 8)