Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New stadium - 2025

Fangs

Agree we shouldn't have hills in new staidums.

But don't pretend for a second you didn't slide down those things on cardboard back in the day. And the amount of piss I've consumed at the old Panthers scoreboard end my god. These are seminal moments in your life as a football fan.

And on top of that? The best view of the game. You can hear the players. See the sweat glistening on their well formed bodies. Nothing can replace it.

Kilkenny

Apparently the Stadium looks very underwhelming in its current state. Yes I know it’s no where near finished but looks very budget for what they have done. A Penrith local told me this.

Don’t shoot the messenger. Was just told what’s done isn’t impressive.

Hill’s shouldn’t be in Stadiums. Very old fashioned and out dated, see Belmore and Leichhardt. Might as well have saved the money, this new Stadium will be the laughing stock of the NRL.
Penrith deserve better than this, they are very much still the bench mark in the NRL.
Your comments are just plain silly.

”the new stadium will be the laughing stock of the NRL”

The site is currently a construction zone, how you draw conclusions on this is frankly astonishing.

Im confident the vast majority of fans, not just our own will be more than happy with the finished product.

in the future whenever the time is right we will see further redevelopment of the Southern End To begin with.

Hill’s shouldn’t be in Stadiums. Very old fashioned and out dated, see Belmore and Leichhardt. Might as well have saved the money, this new Stadium will be the laughing stock of the NRL.
Penrith deserve better than this, they are very much still the bench mark in the NRL.

It's also a growing area. The population will double in 20yrs if count down near Oran park

Kilkenny

It's also a growing area. The population will double in 20yrs if count down near Oran park
The City of Penrith, with the opening of the new airport, is going to see unprecedented growth in next 10-20 years.

For those who live in Penrith most would be familiar with the old Keg Restaurant site in Henry Street a DA has just been submitted for two 48 storey residential towers on the site. Construction has commenced on the vacant land corner of Station and Jamison Road opposite stadium where 2200 units and other commercial properties are being constructed. Penrith is booming .

The Penthouse in the Perle Complex at Panthers sold off the plan for $5.4M. Let that sink in.

Kilkenny

If the Penrith Panthers continue to enjoy on field success in the next 5-10 years there will be a waitlist for season tickets. Fans will only be able to obtain season tickets as others don’t renew there’s. Demand will far exceed supply. This may accelerate the need to increase capacity sooner than anticipated.

The City of Penrith, with the opening of the new airport, is going to see unprecedented growth in next 10-20 years.

For those who live in Penrith most would be familiar with the old Keg Restaurant site in Henry Street a DA has just been submitted for two 48 storey residential towers on the site. Construction has commenced on the vacant land corner of Station and Jamison Road opposite stadium where 2200 units and other commercial properties are being constructed. Penrith is booming .

The Penthouse in the Perle Complex at Panthers sold off the plan for $5.4M. Let that sink in.

Weird. Like if you had 5.4 million dollars why would you live in Penrith? Id atleast go to Orchard Hills

Your comments are just plain silly.

”the new stadium will be the laughing stock of the NRL”

The site is currently a construction zone, how you draw conclusions on this is frankly astonishing.

Im confident the vast majority of fans, not just our own will be more than happy with the finished product.

in the future whenever the time is right we will see further redevelopment of the Southern End To begin with.
So you think if a new Stadium is built they should include hills in them? C’mon mate let’s not pretend they belong at footy venues anymore.

Also I think the ground capacity should be bigger. Sure Penrith will end up with a better ground and facilities, but no point having a half arsed version of what it should be either.

Sime_11

The design of the new stadium allows for further future development to include new stands to increase capacity to 30,000.
good if this is the case - but may as well cough up the extra $$$ and get it done now

say this happens in 10-15 years time - whats to say it costs 300+ million (with inflation/material pricing etc) to make those upgrades then - when it could have been done for a lot less than that now

Fangs

In a different world this upgrade doesn't happen. We either get a new stadium at the paceway or 10 years from now they do a new commbank in Penrith.

The pollies landed on this option. Good but not great. Missed opportunity in my view but the business case must suit them.

Kilkenny

The previous state government had plans to build a new all seater stadium where cost estimates were in vicinity of $570M.

When Chris Munns became premier he was not prepared to budget such an amount but he subsequently agreed to fund what is now under construction at a cost of 309M. It will no doubt cost a lot more than this, these projects almost always run over budget.

The majority of our fans would have liked the all seater 30,000 plus capacity, myself included. It wasn’t to be, but I am confident the new facility when completed will be infinitely better and more inclusive for a greater number of our fans.

Kilkenny

So you think if a new Stadium is built they should include hills in them? C’mon mate let’s not pretend they belong at footy venues anymore.

Also I think the ground capacity should be bigger. Sure Penrith will end up with a better ground and facilities, but no point having a half arsed version of what it should be either.
I agree hills are not ideal in a modern purpose built stadium.

I agree ideally a stadium with a capacity of 30,000 would have been the way to go.

At the end of the day Chris Minns our Premier was not willing to set aside $570M for the all seater option and most respect his decision. The decision was made and we now need to embrace it, make the best of it.

Goonji

The state Labor party / government continues to show a lack of respect for anything west of Parramatta.

Populations grow, not shrink. This will be more evident with the opening of WSI.

We should have got a better stadium. Parramatta got two completely rebuilt stadiums since the 1980s. It’s fair to say we deserved better this time round.

The state Labor party / government continues to show a lack of respect for anything west of Parramatta.

Populations grow, not shrink. This will be more evident with the opening of WSI.

We should have got a better stadium. Parramatta got two completely rebuilt stadiums since the 1980s. It’s fair to say we deserved better this time round.
Exactly this. The Government have had their heads in the sand forever. FMD we are even bringing in a team in PNG based on Politics not sporting needs.