Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NFT-Batton Down the hatches!

Whoo hoo... Theres a huge rain depression headed right for me.. 130km/h winds, torrential rain... Only thing is, it isnt doing the right things to be classified as a cyclone :(.. I want to be able to tell people, Yes i have been in a cyclone, but nooooooo, its not being swirly.. I cant wait, i was driving home today from tafe for the weekend, the traffic and rain was horrible, i counted 5 cars on the median strip that had crashed, passed a 6 car pile up, a land slide and another 2 car crash.. It was crazy, drving through that and seeing all these accidents made me bloody nervous.. But i am home safe and ready to see what nature can throw at me!

legallyblonde

Ch its going crazy here...I had to leave the house before and I opened the screen door back and it nearly flew off the hinges it was that forceful.

We've just been through a 2 hour black out, but finally the power has came back on. I had to work this morning, so I didnt get to secure any of the out door stuff, like they said to on the news..damn I should have because our entertaintment area looks like shit....theres chairs, potplants etc from the neighbours house and ours. :?

One thing to come out of all this...if your a mad surfer, the swell will be crazy! Too big for me!

Goodluck mate!!

stevo

Yeah, it's pretty wet and windy down my way too.

CH, cyclones aren't that great. I was in a few in the NT. The lightning and thunder are heaps cool but the wind and damage suck. You lose power, sometimes for days. Sometimes you can also get isolated from the big smoke. I lived out at Kakadu, which is about 2 1/2 hours from Darwin and this happens all the bloody time and then they have to fly in food supplies cause the local shop has run out.

The rain we are getting is exellent. Clint's native plants will be growing like all buggery. They love it.

legallyblonde

Clint's native plants will be growing like all buggery. They love it.

LOL is that code for something lisa :lol: JK
looking forward to seeing you guys for the game...will have to have some drinks before hand, yeah! :alcho:

les norton

We just got our power back on...it went at like 6 til 7. I got saturated by my garage...closed the door and it had,,ahhh about 200 litres of water on it. Great way to end the week :evil:

Kaz

junior
The wind is building up again on the Coast.

Haven't had any blackouts. YET.

But it seems Brisbane has blackouts every 2nd week.

God damn, i was expecting something wild but so far all i have had is a bit of rain and jack all wind.. This sux... Time to sink more alcohol!

Johns-All-Day

Same here. And it's usually when I'm doing an assignment on the computer, just so that I lose everything. :evil: Or it's right on dinner time so that nothing can be cooked and I miss the good TV shows. I swear it's like a lottery ... "Which suburbs shall we black out today?" We lost power about 10 times today but the longest it was out for was about half an hour. Fingers crossed that that's the end of it.

Surely you dont want it to end? Surely you want to be able to say to people 'I survived a severe tropical rain depression'? (although saying you survived a cyclone would be cooler, but they wont classify it as one dammit!)

Consider yourself lucky as you are gettiing a bit of wind... Although it has picked up a bit here in the last 20 min or so, maybe i will get some gale force winds after all!.

KnightSmurf

CH .. the winds in the storms in Jan. were stronger then those we've had here so far. Though they were pretty strong about 1am today. Just steer clear of the Country Club ... they'll lose more trees again. :lol:

Being through a cyclone is ok .. as long as you know what you're doing before hand. Most people don't follow instructions .. hence the damage.

KnightSmurf said:
CH .. the winds in the storms in Jan. were stronger then those we've had here so far. Though they were pretty strong about 1am today. Just steer clear of the Country Club ... they'll lose more trees again. :lol:

Being through a cyclone is ok .. as long as you know what you're doing before hand. Most people don't follow instructions .. hence the damage.

Haha yeah those storms in jan/ feb were crazy, especially the last one, we lost a few windows from the hail!, the glass company was around tinny for a few weeks fixin windows after that one!

I went to the country club tonight played the pokies had a few beers but not much happened with this depression, hopefully we get somethin tonight!

stevo

You can still get real bad damage when you follow instructions. You can only do what you can. Where my dad lives you can't cut down big trees near the house cause it's a national park. If one of the trees near his house falls the wrong way then it's bye bye house.

We haven't lost power at all this year (touch wood) but we do have a sub station just down the road. Yay us!

KnightSmurf

You still get damage from things that can't be helped like fallen trees and branches. But it's the flying debris that could have been picked up from yards that causes damage in cyclones. Seen it often enough in NQ when living there.

Doctor

Newcastle just has a wet day. The rain is light droplets, but it is constant drizzle. Nothing much by way of wind to report - we're not missing a roof or anything.

No storm damage anywhere, although there are probably a few minor prangs around in the slippery conditions. This is Newcastle, home of the inconvenient rain, but free of most of the fierce storms of Sydney, and the north coast.

I'm led to believe we're receiving the fringe benefits of Queensland's weather - I can't complain. Although I hope all is well in the northern state soon - doesn't sound all that peachey.

Risa

It's been raining here on the Central Coast since about 11. It's pretty boring weather actually. Can't do anything! :sleeper:

stevo

ok after fridays wet weather saturday turned out to be bright and sunny. Very strange as it was still raining in the early hours of the morning. we did get a little sprinkle last night but not much. it's sunny again today. i hate it when the weather chops and changes to much it agrivates my excema

Johns-All-Day

I found a nice puddle in my car on the driver's side floor after Friday night's rain. It was huge ... had to scoop it out haha. That was fun. :-s

Andy

I say thank God for the 'cyclone' in qld.

It gave us some pretty damn nice swell down here on the weekend.

I scored Moon Island pretty sweet on Sunday morning, and managed to get some solid barrels whilst out there too.

A couple of scary moments were shared by me and the lads after getting caught inside during a freak 3m set, but obviously we survived and kept on surfing for another hour or so.

Saw a tiger shark when I was pddling back towards Swansea heads too. Was pretty scary. Was feeding on a small school of fish which is pretty surprising, as there aren't many fish about at the moment???

Here's a photo of one of my mates on a beast just after the freak set that cleaned us up. I'm happy with the photo as it was taken with a cheap, disposable camera...

moon_bomb.jpg

stevo

Hey Ames what is it with commodores. My Dad hired one over the Chrissy, new years break and when it rained we found a huge puddle of water behind the front passenger seat. The back seat was bone dry!!!!!!!! What the? The bloke at the car rental said 'oh yeah, that happens with commodores'