Yeah Lara is probably more a sidekick ... and what a fine sidekick she is
But people like Yvonne and Jess Yates do more the similar hosting/anchor role Erin does. Erin is just on commercial tv so probably more bogans, i mean viewers watching her. Tho Yvonne was on ch9 previously too.
I think Erin IS more like her dad and is a bit uncensored. Which doesnt sit well with the current PC world. You are certain to upset some people. The guys do too. People bitch n moan about the males all the time.
I actually agree with what you're saying here.
Woman have been thrust into the media over the past 15 years for equalities sake, and rightly so. Debbie Spillane was the first I remember, way before that, and she handled herself really well but I reckon she would have ruffled some of the old school male feathers big time. Rex Mossop wouldn't have liked it, that's for sure. Thank god for the ABC.
Forward 25 years and Channel 9 thrust Erin into another boys club. She was certainly young and raw, and out of her depth at the time and it would have been a tough gig for her and it showed. I thought she was terrible and I disliked the fact that a female just had to be added to TFS - a decision by Channel 9 that I thought were just trying to be politically correct. In hindsight, I now admire her for her bravery for taking on such a role. I also admire how she has toughed it out, and improved her presentation and knowledge of the game. She is a very good host of the Sunday Footy Show now. What she needs to do is distance herself from the boofheads on 2GB and that Continuous Footy thing she is a part of. That is still just another boys club listened to mostly by bogans.
The addition of woman to media football discussion over the past decade or so has been a blessing of the highest degree. Emma Lawrence, Lara Pitt, Yvonne Sampson and Jess Yates have been superb for RL.
Before that, Mel McLaughlin
was a gem for the A-League, and now Tara Rushton
is just as good, if not better.
Cricket has Isa Guha. She is brilliant.
They also have Mel Jones.
Ultimately, I love the female intervention into sports commentary. They are well spoken, good fun, knowledgeable and ultimately, very professional. Compare this lot to the bunch of males we have at the moment. The ladies are a decent level above.