Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/02/captains-challenge-given-go-ahead-for-round-one/

Captain challenges are going to be things now after “multiple captains challenges on the weekend”. I guess 4 is a multiple.
How long before it’s misused and there’s a knee jerk midseason change? Or is 4 fairly similar challenges enough to justify widespread rollout?
Each team is allowed one unsuccessful challenge per game;

So you get unlimited challenges until you get one wrong, then it's over.

Do you pull the trigger in the first 10 mins and risk not having one for the rest of the match ? Interesting.

Happy MEel

I wouldn’t mind the concept of a captain’s challenge if it was to replace the inevitable video ref decision every time a try is scored (maybe even 2 unsuccessful challenges per team), but this is on top of, which will be yet another stoppage.

That would mirror the cricket model, right ? This version is designed to inject a little bit of drama. The captain has 10 seconds to decide, hardly enough time for a message to be relayed from the box or the trainer.

If he messes it up early, he may well miss the opportunity to swing a clanger when the game is in the balance.

everyone said it would slow cricket down but its part of the game now, you get used to it

Happy MEel

That would mirror the cricket model, right ? This version is designed to inject a little bit of drama. The captain has 10 seconds to decide, hardly enough time for a message to be relayed from the box or the trainer.

If he messes it up early, he may well miss the opportunity to swing a clanger when the game is in the balance.
Pretty much, or the tennis model.

84 Baby

I’m ok with a captains challenge if it’s well thought out, properly tested and consistently maintained. I’m not confident this’ll be any of those things

It will work until Camillions snags 6 in a row using the power of Jedi.

Each team is allowed one unsuccessful challenge per game;

So you get unlimited challenges until you get one wrong, then it's over.

Do you pull the trigger in the first 10 mins and risk not having one for the rest of the match ? Interesting.
Events in game can affect you for the rest of the match, so you'd want to challenge any call you thought was bad. It's very exciting.

“Tried” doesn’t mean you should have widespread implementation 2 weeks out from season after 4 uses in 2 games
Didn't it also get tried in lower grade a year or two back? I am surprised it was only used in two games this year before being approved but I don't know if it really needs extensive testing. It won't change team tactics IMO.

I can't wait for a captain to challenge a decision and they go upstairs and still get it wrong. They get a few wrong when they go upstairs for a try now so can't see how it will be different. The side will lose their challenge and later in the game it will bite them on the arse when the refs get it wrong again

84 Baby

Didn't it also get tried in lower grade a year or two back? I am surprised it was only used in two games this year before being approved but I don't know if it really needs extensive testing. It won't change team tactics IMO.
The only info I can find is it was trialled in 2016 but only for try decisions. I may be wrong and they’ve planned it out extensively and prepared for Canbra to rort it somehow or for the inevitable video ref maintaining incorrect call but they haven’t got a great track record.
I feel they haven’t thought out the repercussions in game either. It is going to be difficult for players/refs to move on from some bad calls. It’ll be impossible for Gus

The only info I can find is it was trialled in 2016 but only for try decisions. I may be wrong and they’ve planned it out extensively and prepared for Canbra to rort it somehow or for the inevitable video ref maintaining incorrect call but they haven’t got a great track record.
I feel they haven’t thought out the repercussions in game either. It is going to be difficult for players/refs to move on from some bad calls. It’ll be impossible for Gus
I think you're right about the lower grade trial.
No doubt some problems will arise but I think it should provide more positives than negatives as it has the potential to undo an unlimited amount of bad decisions. OTOH, you can only use it as a rort once.

But yeah, would suggest watching on Foxtel.