Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

None out of Ten Sheensy

Nook

To be honest, I'd be more concerned with the idiocy of some of the selections made for todays game than the pitiful performances of some of our players.

Prince and Hodgo both had absolute shockers. When your two most important players go so bad, you have no hope. They won't play that bad again - in general terms, I'm not to worried about the flogging we copped.

What worries me tremendously is some of the selections.

- Nick Graham is an absoulte myth. Can't tackle, can't attack. We have gone so much better without him, and its no coincidence that his return coincided with our worst performance of the year. I can't even begin to fathom his inclusion. I'd rather have Carlaw back, and thats saying something.

- Buettner. Has barely played football for 12 months, and is past it. Having him on the bench offers absolutely nothing. If we had no other options and sheens chose him in the 6, maybe you could cop that.

Picking Richards on the wing after 2 serious injuries and 4 games of sevens football in the last 12 months was a joke, even if he did go ok. John Wilson is clearly not the answer at five-eigth - if Baa figured it out, surely Sheens can. The continued non selection of Kerr, particularly in light of the nuffys who have been picked elsewhere, is equally as questionable.

I'm more worried about the coaching staff than the performance of the players. Most of them were terrible, but I reckon it was just one of those days. Doesn't make in any more justifiable, of course, but it would be easier to cop if not for the additional burden several ridiculous decisions by Sheens and co.

Vicious

Nook said:
To be honest, I'd be more concerned with the idiocy of some of the selections made for todays game than the pitiful performances of some of our players.

Prince and Hodgo both had absolute shockers. When your two most important players go so bad, you have no hope. They won't play that bad again - in general terms, I'm not to worried about the flogging we copped.

What worries me tremendously is some of the selections.

- Nick Graham is an absoulte myth. Can't tackle, can't attack. We have gone so much better without him, and its no coincidence that his return coincided with our worst performance of the year. I can't even begin to fathom his inclusion. I'd rather have Carlaw back, and thats saying something.

- Buettner. Has barely played football for 12 months, and is past it. Having him on the bench offers absolutely nothing. If we had no other options and sheens chose him in the 6, maybe you could cop that.

Picking Richards on the wing after 2 serious injuries and 4 games of sevens football in the last 12 months was a joke, even if he did go ok. John Wilson is clearly not the answer at five-eigth - if Baa figured it out, surely Sheens can. The continued non selection of Kerr, particularly in light of the nuffys who have been picked elsewhere, is equally as questionable.

I'm more worried about the coaching staff than the performance of the players. Most of them were terrible, but I reckon it was just one of those days. Doesn't make in any more justifiable, of course, but it would be easier to cop if not for the additional burden several ridiculous decisions by Sheens and co.
Spot on buddy

yappy

:lol: :lol: :lol: I thought I had a mortgage on the Sheens bashing around here. Take a number Nooks buddy.

Gotta agree about Graham. I really thought he would be a top signing (better than Sattler) but he's delivered the square root of f**k all. The pathetic non effort for Riddell's try should be the final note of his First Grade career. A sad end to a generally fine career, but the end nevertheless.

Buettner? I mean talk about picking on names.

Wilson? I thought the plan was to pick a strong defensive player to lock down Barrett? Yeah right. I don't remember seeing him shut down Barrett, but I do remember Barrett smashing him and forcing an error first pass off an attacking scrum. I also remember him stepping out of the way to make it easier for Gas to find the line for his third. Gutless rubbish.

People may talk up Prince as a half but he's been shown up badly by Head and Orford in his last two club games. Kicking game? No not really. I don't mind him, he is a good player, but he won't ever be a top line 7. I'm delighted every week Sheens continues to overlook Kerr, but even he learns eventually.

Gobbso

Sheens preaches 'Consistency'. I just wish he would show some in his selections (eg. Kerr, Fulton for example) :roll:

eelsta

Gobbso said:
Sheens preaches 'Consistency'. I just wish he would show some in his selections (eg. Kerr, Fulton for example) :roll:
mmm no wonder he stuck up for brian smith :roll: :roll:

yappy said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: I thought I had a mortgage on the Sheens bashing around here. Take a number Nooks buddy.

Gotta agree about Graham. I really thought he would be a top signing (better than Sattler) but he's delivered the square root of f**k all. The pathetic non effort for Riddell's try should be the final note of his First Grade career. A sad end to a generally fine career, but the end nevertheless.

Buettner? I mean talk about picking on names.

Wilson? I thought the plan was to pick a strong defensive player to lock down Barrett? Yeah right. I don't remember seeing him shut down Barrett, but I do remember Barrett smashing him and forcing an error first pass off an attacking scrum. I also remember him stepping out of the way to make it easier for Gas to find the line for his third. Gutless rubbish.

People may talk up Prince as a half but he's been shown up badly by Head and Orford in his last two club games. Kicking game? No not really. I don't mind him, he is a good player, but he won't ever be a top line 7. I'm delighted every week Sheens continues to overlook Kerr, but even he learns eventually.
G'day yappy....welcome back...where you been?
I aint seen you whilst we was winning.

super_coach

couldnt agree more
when you going in against a team thats has power size and pace and you pick a guy who has not played for six month,you pick another who has not played for 12 months and is at the wrong end of his caree and you pick a back rower who plays a bit of centre at 5/8 your got problems
in years gone by-we didnt have choices-but now we do
kerr should have been first picked
fulton should have been picked
1 flogging dosnt kill a season,but sheen has to start showing some flare and stop picking yesterdays heroes

yappy

I've been around ink, you need to clean your glasses mate. All last week I was saying how Kerr should be the teams half. I was right then and I'm still right now. I haven't waited for a fall to put in a cheap shot, I've said where I felt Tim has got it wrong win or lose. He's finally come around on Laffranchi, and he'll see the light on Kerr/Prince too.

I give Sheens plenty of credit for what he has done. I make no claim that the side aren't improved. They are - just not as much as some make out. I make no claim that Sheens isn't easily the best coach the Tigers have had. He is - but he isn't the messiah supercoach some make out either. Yesterday was just an example of some of the more baffling decisions he has made.

Yeah maybe its the fact that weve actually been going fairly good, something that hasnt happened for a long time, and the overall discipline, professionalism that the joint now seems to have that Sheens gets credited with ( I'm sure others are deserving credit here and not getting it.)

I must admit, after seeing Buettner at Henson the prev. w/end.....then hearing his name during the call on the radio yesterday did leave me utterly amazed.....ditto Graham.

I havent been able to see the entire game yet...will catch it this arvo, I had a few things on yesterday but admittedly after hearing the result wasnt bustin a gut to get home to watch it.

Wobbygong

Guys,

As an outsider looking in, I think you're being a little hard on Scotty Prince, I mean the poor guy is the focal point of ALL your attack and got bugger all assistance from that useless lug Wilson yesterday.

Hodgson helps out a little bit as teams have to watch him, but without Marshall or a decent 5/8, Prince carries the whole burden on his shoulders.

Don't be too hard on him. Teams like the Dragqueens have Head, Barrett, Timmins & Hornby all as different points of attack

Be proud of the Tigers and what hey have achieved this season, you are easily the most improved team in the comp and it's only going to get better, at least you don't follow for a one man team like I do, if we lose Kimmorley or Peachey we can't beat time with a stick!

Heads up Tigers fans, one bad loss doesn't make a season.

bonstonker

i am yet to see this horrible game,so can someone tell me if these stats are close to the mark.

payten

5 hitups for 30 yards

gibbs

5 hitups for 39 yards

that is a f**king disgrace from 2 frontrowers that they could ony manage 10 hit ups between them.

brook

Bon - it sounds about right.

Our forwards were completely and utterly dominated all game.

yappy

The biggest reason why Kerr sould go in and Prince move to 6 is just what you've pointed out I think Bon. As Satts said himself after the Warriors game Kerr is a little general in a way Prince isn't. He'll call the plays, talk it up, tell props to get in and work more, keep everyones minds on the job at hand. With him directing traffic Prince will be much freer to move in and out of the spotlight as the opportunity arises. You then get two points of attack, two options for kicks. A much more dangerous combo, and better direction for the rest of the side.

Tigerpete

I can understand the criticism of Graham, he was dissapointing again yesterday. But to criticise Buettner and Richards amazes me. I think Sheens picked them because when 100% fit they are valuable to the team. I dont think Buettner did a lot wrong, he simply didnt do much, he was gonna make the team eventually again, and im sure he'll be better for it on friday. We gotta remember thats his first game in fisrt grade for an age, give him time i say.

As for Pat, he wasnt asked a lot to do, and considering it was his first game back, thats the one positive out of yesterday, he came out of it unsacthed. He'll be better for the run as well.

We may've lost the game , but you take the good with the bad, we all should know we're a better side then that and im sure we'll be much better on friday night.

yappy

I kinda agree on Richards which is why I didn't mention him. The only issue is fitness. I think Covell has been treated disgracefully and hasn't done anything to deserve it, but if Richards is going to be the man then he might as well play. He unlike Graham, Buettner, and Wilson should be part of the Tigers best 17 without question. The other three #-o .

Yes Pete Buettner was 'gonna make the team eventually' that is obvious. What isn't obvious is why? He offers no more than players much younger and he is most clearly not part of the Tigers future. He shouldn't be at the club next year. Sheens' goes on about how next year will be the year, but how will it if guys like Collis and Fulton don't start getting used to week in and week out first grade now?

When injuries struck Saints Brown threw youngsters in. They didn't always win, but they became better players for it. In 02 Lang did the same thing. He didn't even wait for injuries. He punted guys like Hicks and Elford, who are fair First Graders elsewhere to give guys like Lewis and Rooney a crack. He was well rewarded for it too. It's time for Tim to forget the crocks and never-weres to give some of the best young talent around an education.

Gobbso

Agree completely. Viane, Plum, Fulton all deserve an opportunity...Especially Gray. Giving him a chance in 1st Grade might motivate him to do well, as he will be out to impress and will play his arse off to ensure he remains in the top 17. Its called a little bit of incentive. It can go along way if its executed. and its not like the side will be without combination with new players coming in, they train together 3 times a week as a squad...

Eddie.

yappy said:
I kinda agree on Richards which is why I didn't mention him. The only issue is fitness. I think Covell has been treated disgracefully and hasn't done anything to deserve it, but if Richards is going to be the man then he might as well play. He unlike Graham, Buettner, and Wilson should be part of the Tigers best 17 without question. The other three #-o .

Yes Pete Buettner was 'gonna make the team eventually' that is obvious. What isn't obvious is why? He offers no more than players much younger and he is most clearly not part of the Tigers future. He shouldn't be at the club next year. Sheens' goes on about how next year will be the year, but how will it if guys like Collis and Fulton don't start getting used to week in and week out first grade now?

When injuries struck Saints Brown threw youngsters in. They didn't always win, but they became better players for it. In 02 Lang did the same thing. He didn't even wait for injuries. He punted guys like Hicks and Elford, who are fair First Graders elsewhere to give guys like Lewis and Rooney a crack. He was well rewarded for it too. It's time for Tim to forget the crocks and never-weres to give some of the best young talent around an education.

Agree alot with what you say here mate about kerr, but its a delicate balancing act regarding youngsters.

Terry Lamb also throw youngsters in to the mix before they were ready - and they got smashed and some of their careers are down the toilet.

Would a flogging we were going to cope anyway yesterday helped the younger players??

And all of a sudden Brown is a god, 50% winning ratio over 2 years with a bunch of superstars, and dont use injuries as an excuse cause the tigers arnt allowed to ;-)

yappy

That's the prob with youngsters mate you never know till you throw them in. I'd say the reason most of the youngsters Lamb threw in sank is because they were always going to. Some like Boof didn't. That's because they had what it took and were always going to make it. Wests and Balmain have an abundance of real good youngsters. The sooner you give em a shot, the sooner you find out if they sink or swim.

I'm not saying Brown is a genius. But he knows which of his youngsters are the cream because he's given them a go. Matthew Head would still be playing Premiers at the Tigers. Yes his win/loss record ain't super, but I reckon it's going to get much better and these youngsters he's blooded are going to be a big part of the reason why. If Sheens reckons next year is the year the Tigers are going somewhere what does he reckon the Dragons will do with a season under these young champs belts.

tiger78

Our youngsters are 1000 times better than just about anyone Lamb had to work with, have faith in them and there may be some short term pain but they will come through and shine together.