Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 18 2021 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

Welcome to the QRL! Who would've thought back in '88, when the Broncos came into the NSWRL, that all teams would be playing in Queensland!

Well done to the NRL for keeping the competition going but, of course, it's lost a lot of its heart and soul. Freezing nights at Canberra Stadium, bleak, darkening Sunday afternoons shuffling out of Brookvale Oval to face the working week ahead (but delaying that prospect with a falafel at this big Middle-Eastern joint on Pittwater Road...(my memory, sorry for rambling), the Warriors at Mt Smart...

Oh well, it is what it is, and tonight it's the Titans v Eels. Game of the round I reckon. If the Titans can't get a boost from this bubble then we should write them off, once and for all, as a contender.

Manly and the Dragons will keep us interested tonight too. How serious are St. George? Turbo is out, are Manly that average without him?

Saturday, and Townsville sees the Cowboys and the Roosters, then back to Robina for a fascinating Raiders against the Sharks. Those two sides have no wriggle room whatsoever. The Storm were going home for their Knights' clash, but that idea's off now. It won't bother Melbourne. They're clear premiership favourites no matter where they play.

Sunday, and the Warriors might squeak past a weakened Panthers outfit but it'll be too late for Warriors fans to get excited about September footy, and the Broncos are at home (lucky buggers) to the Tigers.

The Rabbits and Dogs close it out. Have I been dreaming or did they play each other just a week or two ago? With this leery guy running 90 metres backwards to end the game?

Enjoy.

nswarrior

Welcome to the QRL! Who would've thought back in '88, when the Broncos came into the NSWRL, that all teams would be playing in Queensland!

Well done to the NRL for keeping the competition going but, of course, it's lost a lot of its heart and soul. Freezing nights at Canberra Stadium, bleak, darkening Sunday afternoons shuffling out of Brookvale Oval to face the working week ahead (but delaying that prospect with a falafel at this big Middle-Eastern joint on Pittwater Road...(my memory, sorry for rambling), the Warriors at Mt Smart...

Oh well, it is what it is, and tonight it's the Titans v Eels. Game of the round I reckon. If the Titans can't get a boost from this bubble then we should write them off, once and for all, as a contender.

Manly and the Dragons will keep us interested tonight too. How serious are St. George? Turbo is out, are Manly that average without him?

Saturday, and Townsville sees the Cowboys and the Roosters, then back to Robina for a fascinating Raiders against the Sharks. Those two sides have no wriggle room whatsoever. The Storm were going home for their Knights' clash, but thats idea's off now. It won't bother Melbourne. They're clear premiership favourites no matter where they play.

Sunday, and the Warriors might squeak past a weakened Panthers outfit but it'll be too late for Warriors fans to get excited about September footy, and the Broncos are at home (lucky buggers) to the Tigers.

The Rabbits and Dogs close it out. Have I been dreaming or did they play each other just a week or two ago? With this leery guy running 90 metres backwards to end the game?

Enjoy.
Thanks mate - you provide the best wrap up of the weekend games. Great to have a full round👍

Went out earlier and Eagle Rock was playing, hopefully a good omen. The Dragons are our bogey side though and don’t be have that many out

Blair

Bloody huge win
Schuster is an amazing talent to come back and do that.
It's exciting because I can see the Eagles upsetting a side like the Eels in a final or Penrith in a GF Qualifier, and I'd be on-board.

Don't get too excited about beating Melbourne though, not this year anyway.

JJ

It's exciting because I can see the Eagles upsetting a side like the Eels in a final or Penrith in a GF Qualifier, and I'd be on-board.

I don't see Manly beating a full strength Penrith tbh, they are a different beast...

Scott

Loving Manly at the moment. Firmly on the bandwagon.

Schuster & the right backrower are huge talents.

Rhthym and Stealth mentioned Olakau’atu a couple of years back in reserve grade, wow he has flown onto the scene this season. Des had a reputation as a boring coach, but he is letting Schuster get out there and do his thing, exciting to watch, don’t think we will be lucky enough to get him in the Kiwis

Chance to throw Jake, Tom, DCE and maybe Aloaia into a winning unit next week. How far can we go, I don’t know, but I know any opponent will be nervous

Stoked to hear it isn’t anything too serious with Lawton too

I’m the other way, we have Penrith a hell of a go when they were in the middle of their hot streak. Storm I think we have more potential to handle, will get a taster of that in a few weeks

JJ

If he can keep the squad together Manly worry everyone atm, and will threaten in the next few years

Tom is in special form, not getting hurt and continuing at this rare level are key

Foran to Schuster with Tom out the back on 1 side, Jake in middle with Tom off his shoulder, and DCE unlocking Olakau’atu with the pace of Saab is a lot of firepower, Walker interesting off the pine too

Still have a few brain explosions in the side though which you can’t afford in the big games

Blair

I don't see Manly beating a full strength Penrith tbh, they are a different beast...
You're probably right, the Panthers are having a heck of a season. However, a Panthers v Manly final in Sydney would have twice as many Penrith fans cheering them on. Up in Qld that wouldn't be the case. Let's presume the NRL caravan will return home by then.

TheDMC

His tackling was pretty poor and yep can’t recall seeing much of him in the second half.

Sharks D was horrendous between the 20s, Shaun missed a bad one for a try in the first half. Mulitalo sealed their fate with an absolute clanger

Storm putting the cleaners through Newcastle. Bring back the old top 5 format, half the teams in contention don’t deserve to be in the finals. And to think that idiot Greenberg wanted to bring in wildcards so a top 10

Blair

Sharks D was horrendous between the 20s, Shaun missed a bad one for a try in the first half. Mulitalo sealed their fate with an absolute clanger

Storm putting the cleaners through Newcastle. Bring back the old top 5 format, half the teams in contention don’t deserve to be in the finals. And to think that idiot Greenberg wanted to bring in wildcards so a top 10
The Raiders are back! I was just about to support Manly as my second team.

Top-5 brings back those great memories.