Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 25 2021 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

We made it! The last round of another Covid season of footy.

There's so much to ponder, Minor-Premiership (we thought that would be wrapped by now), top-four, the race for eighth. It's a shame the Wooden Spoon is Canterbury's already!

Tonight is good, the Raiders and a battered, but angry, Roosters.

Friday night has another crunch game, the Sharks v Storm. That's two battles right there, eighth and first. Are the Eels back? We'll find out when they play Penrith. Cleary had the dropsies last week, you save that for those games, not finals.

Saturday, the Broncos and Knights isn't crucial to either side but Brisbane are looking much improved. Surely they won't have another dud season next year?

The Cowboys broke their ten game losing streak last week but Manly - eyeing top-four - won't be tuning out pre-finals. The Rabbitohs are on the nose right now, who likes them after Mitchell's brutality last week? The Dragons have slumped in the late-season, they never recovered from the 'reds under the beds' BBQ!

Sunday and the Titans need to beat us, but let's hope we end the season with a win. We played pretty good to be in contention for eighth place, with a week to go. The struggling Tigers and Bulldogs close out another regular season. Where will we all play next year?

Enjoy.

SpaceMonkey

Bloody Raiders! I thought with everything to play for and the roosters losing two more key players, they’d be up for this but they fell apart. If there’s a team that must be even more frustrating to support than the Warriors, it’s them.

and yeah full credit to the Chooks, could’ve by rights given up halfway through the season but they’re still there and will likely make week two of the finals at least. Titanic efffort.

Blair

Sticky out! That should be graffitied outside Bruce Stadium today. He'll stay on though because of the lack of quality replacements.

I've always had a flickering old flame with the Raiders but it went out around about June/July.

Bloody NSW and Covid though, Canberra need to play in Canberra, it's a big part of their thing and perhaps the coach gets some support there.

nswarrior

Love seeing Sticky lose

no half back stays with his team probably because he interferes too much.

Raiders were travelling well until they lost to the Warriors earlier in the season. One of our achievements

nswarrior

Amazing to see the Storm are resting half a dozen or more players but still have a team that would beat most of the comp easily

They will beat the Sharks

Beavers Headgear

So we are starting to get set for next week

Storm v Manly/Roosters (Manly win for that scenario)
Panthers v Rabbits (locked in)
Eels v Knights (barring a miracle Eels 2nd half)
Roosters/Manly v Sharks/Titans (Manly lose to make this game. Titans must win by 12+ to unseat Cronulla)

Blair

So we are starting to get set for next week

Storm v Manly/Roosters (Manly win for that scenario)
Panthers v Rabbits (locked in)
Eels v Knights (barring a miracle Eels 2nd half)
Roosters/Manly v Sharks/Titans (Manly lose to make this game. Titans must win by 12+ to unseat Cronulla)
The Eels have it at only 12-6 down now. How hard do the Panthers want to push themselves one week out?

A Storm v Manly clash in week one is just great. If that happens then please turn up!

Beavers Headgear

The Eels have it at only 12-6 down now. How hard do the Panthers want to push themselves one week out?

A Storm v Manly clash in week one is just great. If that happens then please turn up!

Would be a cracker, listening to Ennis and graham on Fox they say Des turns into a different beast Melbourne week. Only coach with a winning record over Bellamy too

JJ

I know they’ll never consider it, but ffs we need a top 5 or 6 at max. Most years the last 2 or 3 are dire….

Blair

Titan by 12 to make 8th.
It should be a good game, then. As we have nothing to lose and they need to get points on the board.

As for the Eels last night, what a disaster. All their good work last weekend was wasted, unless they can spin their way out by sayng they rested their best side.

With the knights currently getting walloped by Brisbane that confirms they'll make the eight (seventh in fact) but losing heaps of games.

jaseg

Knights are going to be 12-12 finishing 7th. So two finals teams without winning records.

Sharks or Titans will finish 8th with a 10-14 record. That's gotta be at least an equal low win% for a finals team ever, right? If not just an outright all time new low?

3 years back 8th place was us, with a 15-9 record. lol.

JJ

Knights are going to be 12-12 finishing 7th. So two finals teams without winning records.

Sharks or Titans will finish 8th with a 10-14 record. That's gotta be at least an equal low win% for a finals team ever, right? If not just an outright all time new low?

3 years back 8th place was us, with a 15-9 record. lol.
My suspicion is that year was the outlier though?

this year there are 6 good teams, and 4 that are very very good

jaseg

My suspicion is that year was the outlier though?

this year there are 6 good teams, and 4 that are very very good

Yeah, they're both outlier years, just in opposite directions. I found the comparison amusing - particularly given that they are relatively close together.

Reactions: JJ