Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Reopens Melbourne Storm Salary Cap Investigation

So your saying until someone from the club apologises for the rorts all us innocent league loving fans (not dissimilar to yourselves) are to be treated as lepers even though the required action is completely out of our hands? Interesting.

Not someone from the Club. How about Bellamy, Slater, Cronk, Smith etc who were all part of the rort.

Those protagonists are still there protesting their innocence and claiming premierships.

Elektrik Shock

One thing we have to remember is that if Melbourne had not been cheating the cap, everything changes. Different players would have been playing at different clubs and that means different results in games, which means, me may have not even made the finals at all or we may have finished 7th, 6th etc and been knocked out. It wasnt just us who were robbed in 2009, all the other teams were from 06-10. I always see things from the view of "If one thing is different, everything changes".

I'lll give Elektrick Shock a rap and say he speaks alot of sense. At least he dosen't have a banner saying "Premiers 07 & 09" like some other f***wit on here that i have seen.

Appreciate the kind words. And your spot on, it's the if's and but's and what might have beens that really aggravates fans, I totally understand, but you can't keep asking a question that cannot be answered. You will carry that anger with you until you accept whats done is done, as much as it pains you.

Elektrik Shock

Not someone from the Club. How about Bellamy, Slater, Cronk, Smith etc who were all part of the rort.

Those protagonists are still there protesting their innocence and claiming premierships.

Why is that the fans fault? We just want to enjoy a game of footy like everyone else. I understand what your saying, but casting fans in the same shadow as TheColonel has is wrong. I'll admit when Billy claimed he feels he still has 2 premierships i got quite angry, but your beef is with them, not the fans.

One thing we have to remember is that if Melbourne had not been cheating the cap, everything changes. Different players would have been playing at different clubs and that means different results in games, which means, me may have not even made the finals at all or we may have finished 7th, 6th etc and been knocked out. It wasnt just us who were robbed in 2009, all the other teams were from 06-10. I always see things from the view of "If one thing is different, everything changes".

I'lll give Elektrick Shock a rap and say he speaks alot of sense. At least he dosen't have a banner saying "Premiers 07 & 09" like some other f***wit on here that i have seen.

This.

It's time we all moved on (including Ribot and the Storm players), and Storm fans deserve a team they can cheer, the same as all NRL fans.

Why is that the fans fault? We just want to enjoy a game of footy like everyone else. I understand what your saying, but casting fans in the same shadow as TheColonel has is wrong. I'll admit when Billy claimed he feels he still has 2 premierships i got quite angry, but your beef is with them, not the fans.

Mate if you are remorseful because your club dragged our code through the mud because of it's blatant dishonesty, then I have no beef with you.

Perhaps you could pass those feelings on to the aforementioned who seem to think that the sun shines out of their respective NRL arses.

I still can't stand Slater, Smith, Bellamy etc. But i have nothing against the fans.

I feel a bit the same.
They live in a city that has the world's biggest chip on its shoulder and have decided to buck the trend.
The Melbourne fans are all we have down there to promote our game.
I just wish there was more of them.

Many of the Melbourne fans, not necessarily you or anyone on this forum, still feel the same as Billy and Brett White and John Ribot. Unfortunately I feel you are in the minority. Sorry that you are tarred with the same brush but really I have no empathy. I feel as a club, Melbourne were not dealt with harshly enough to take away the fact that many still class 2007 and 2009 as victories. That goes for players, officials and fans.

Not asking them to change the result as the variables that would have existed don't necessarily placeParramatta as the Premiers. We didn't win it.

Yeah, exactly.

Still doesn't mean I can't hold a grudge. I don't want to win a premiership by having it handed to the club but while they may have been stripped of a title, the fans and the players were able to celebrate it. Nothing will change the hurt and anger for me but the NRL at the time could and should have made it hurt a lot more than what they did.

oldmancraigy

they still have a team that was assembled by cheating until their main 3 retire or separate.

Not to mention all the young blokes who are currently in the first grade team who were lured down there by brown paper bags.

Hope Manly put 40 on them and that Smith, Cronk and Slater get their knees illegally twisted, forcing them all into early retirement.

"Uh - I didn't know why I was getting paid twice as much as my contract said - no really, I didn't"
Cheating, lying scumbags.

I bleed blue & gold

Still doesn't mean I can't hold a grudge. I don't want to win a premiership by having it handed to the club but while they may have been stripped of a title, the fans and the players were able to celebrate it. Nothing will change the hurt and anger for me but the NRL at the time could and should have made it hurt a lot more than what they did.
I feel the exactly the same way mate. I think i will always hate the Storm because of what they did.

i do have sympathy for the fans (well the ones who can acknowledge how the storm screwed other teams over) .... i'd feel utterly shit if it were parra that did it

but i will always feel that the current storm team with smith + slater + cronk was illegally assembled .... those players were never gonna leave cos of cheating - they are the storm - take two of them out and it is just an average team .... so when i say lost one - i mean one of the big rorts

i will never feel '09 is Parramatta's tho .... we did NOT win the final game, so it will never be ours .... but i still feel the storm f**ked us (and everyone else) over

and i agree with the bellamey etc bullshit innocence ..... sorry but even if they didn't partake in all the dealing (which I have some doubts they didn't), intentionally turning a blind eye to it is NOT innocent ... i find it very hard to believe bellamey and co had no idea

i do have sympathy for the fans (well the ones who can acknowledge how the storm screwed other teams over) .... i'd feel utterly shit if it were parra that did it

Agree

I certainly wouldnt be gloating that "we worked hard" for the title, or sugar coat it any other way.

In fact, because we cheated, id be happy if we sacked anderson and got rid of osborne, and got our cap under control by letting go mortimer, kingston, lowrie, inu and mateo .......hold on #-o

lets face it, we couldn't cheat the cap like that - some bastard would leak it to the telegraph in 2 seconds :lol:

Offloaded 1? In 2013 the only players we still have from the 09 decider is Slater, Cronk, Smith, Hinchcliffe along with 2 who left and have come back (Chambers & Hoffman), we retained 6 of 17, how is that not rebuilding. Since 07 we have shed Inglis, Folau, Chambers*, Hoffman*, Tolman, White, Crocker, Johnson, J.Smith, Blair, Cross, King, Finch, Turner, Newton, Manu, Neilsen, Tandy, Anderson, Lima etc. I don't want or expect forgiveness, i'd be upset aswell, but to suggest we havnt been broken down & rebuilt is laughable. We have guys like Norrie, Lowe and Lowrie making up our starting pack now, Kids playing in spots where greats like GI & Folau once were. If we win the 2012 premiership with the roster we have we will have damn well earnt it.

My issue with that is the Storm robbed every side in the premiership for 4 years. By doing so they deserve 4 years of punishment, not just one year they received in 2010. If they win in 2014 fine, but they should have been given more of a punishment than what they were because Waldron and the Storm club have effectively wipped 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009 out of the record books.