NSW CRL Championship Changes to U23s

Discussion in 'NSWRL Competitions' started by siv, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. siv

    siv Bench

    Sep 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    Major changes announced for CRL pathway

    Country Rugby League has today announced a major change to their Senior Men’s Country Championships, with an expanded under-23’s competition to replace the current format from 2017.

    The restructure was formalised today at the Country Rugby League AGM, with the new format to align more closely with the Australian Rugby League Commission’s (ARLC) Pathways model and structures.

    CRL CEO Terry Quinn believes the new format will provide greater opportunities for regional players to progress through the Rugby League pathways to higher honours.

    “Whilst the decision to restructure the Senior Men’s Country Championships was difficult, we believe the new format will provide a greater opportunity for regional players to progress through the Rugby League pathways into the Intrust Super Premiership and NRL,” Quinn said.

    “The 19-23-year-old age bracket is our peak participation range for senior football and traditionally players outside of this age range have a lesser chance of progressing through the pathways unless they’re already playing, or have played, in higher levels of competition. “

    “By restructuring the format to under-23’s we are giving more players in our peak participation range the opportunity to advance their Rugby League careers.”

    Whilst the NRL’s new pathway models include state-based under-20’s competitions, the decision to increase the Senior Men’s Country Championships to under-23’s was made to allow for a greater number of players who don’t make the under-20’s to still have the opportunity to play a higher level of football and progress through the pathways. It is also hoped that the under-23’s format will allow late maturing players a pathway to higher honours.

    The new competition structure will see ten teams competing across two pools (North and South) in a knockout format, with the Northern and Southern winners facing off in the final to decide who is named Country Champions.

    A full announcement on the participating teams will be made at a later date.

Share This Page