Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Team 2017

MilkShark

I don't watch the footy show. Got better things to do like defend Aaron woods selection ;)

I've met Gould & Fitler years ago for possible & probable origin coaching camps and whilst they seem like a fish out of water on tv they are pretty intelligent when it comes to rl knowledge. What you see on tv is literally less than 5% of what they are like in person
I don't think they're stupid, far from it.

What I mean is they say things which to me are obvious. But there are ALOT of people out there who sit there and think omg he's right, gee he is so smart that Gould / Fitler.

I have never ever had that thought.

RazorRam0n

Qld players are more concentrated between a few clubs though. If there were another 6 teams in Qld you'd see much similar comments in their threads...

yes i've raised this point myself before.....

it's an explanation, but the point is still correct.

Clifferd

I don't think they're stupid, far from it.

What I mean is they say things which to me are obvious. But there are ALOT of people out there who sit there and think omg he's right, gee he is so smart that Gould / Fitler.

I have never ever had that thought.

Yea I agree mate. Sheep the lot of em

MilkShark

Could be worse, could be this guy on fb who picked this team -

1.Hayne 2.Tedesco 3.Dugan 4.Crocker 5.Ferguson 6.Austin 7.Maloney 8.Vaughan 9.Peats 10.Tamou 11.Cordner 12.Fritzell 13.Cartwright

With basically everyone agreeing with him...the average rl fan is pretty fking dumb
haha that team is a disaster. I'm surprised they didn't put Ennis as hooker.

Got to love social media.

T-Boon

I think as a club the Roosters (being the codes eastern suburbs representatives) need to take more pride in their players ability to articulate the english language. Congratulations to Cordner on the captaincy but, sorry, he sounds like he stopped going to school after year 6 and then has had a few head knocks. Mums notice this.

Add that to Maloney, Pearce (who has improved in the last 18 months), Ferguson, Fittler....

The club is up against the Swans, Sydney FC and the Waratahs. They apparently get around with wealthy benefactors like Politis and Gyngel. They should be the most well spoken club in the League and setting the example. Instead, this....

How is it they speak so badly?

MilkShark

Congratulations to Cordner on the captaincy but, sorry, he sounds like he stopped going to school after year 6 and then has had a few head knocks. Mums notice this.

I already questioned Cordner as origin captain. The response I got was his team mates at Roosters appreciate his hard work lol.

big hit!

Can anyone please explain why Jackson is starting over Graham.

Jackson pros: averages 5 tackles a game more than Graham
Grahams pros: scores tries, sets up tries, can pass, can kick, shuts down opposition halves

Jackson plays as a right forward for Canterbury.
Cordner and Graham play as left forwards for Easts and Cronulla.

Considering how important that #4 defender is, I'm not surprised Daley went for Jackson over Graham. The edge forward has become a specialised position in terms of left and right.

Walters picked specific right and left forwards too - Gillett and Papallii - and rep coaches have been doing it for years now.

If you want a Cronulla player as the right forward, you should spruik Lewis as he is Cronulla's right forward...i reckon most folks would agree with you too.

MilkShark

You won't agree with Fittler or Gould but you will T-Boon... yeesh
I never said I didn't agree with Fitler or Gould, I said the things they are say are obvious.

And I don't follow the personalities in here, most people in these forums have said stupid things 1 time or another.

MilkShark

Jackson plays as a right forward for Canterbury.
Cordner and Graham play as left forwards for Easts and Cronulla.

Considering how important that #4 defender is, I'm not surprised Daley went for Jackson over Graham. The edge forward has become a specialised position in terms of left and right.

Walters picked specific right and left forwards too - Gillett and Papallii - and rep coaches have been doing it for years now.

If you want a Cronulla player as the right forward, you should spruik Lewis as he is Cronulla's right forward...i reckon most folks would agree with you too.
I don't care about Sharks playing origin. I already said I wished none of them were selected.

My thoughts on Cordner have been stated alot of times already. I have Graham over all backrowers in the game for what he brings to a team. I won't list them again.

big hit!

I don't care about Sharks playing origin. I already said I wished none of them were selected.

My thoughts on Cordner have been stated alot of times already. I have Graham over all backrowers in the game for what he brings to a team. I won't list them again.

You were comparing to Jackson in that quote which is why I replied to it that way.

Ok, if you're comparing to Cordner, then that's a little more difficult as Boyd has done well in Origin recently and there was no reason to leave him out. Graham only got the gig last year because of Cordners injury. Unfortunately they play the same side.

Now if you want to compare Lewis and Jackson, then by all means I'd sele t Lewis. I don't know why he was ever f**kin dropped from the team. When fit and not ill, he should've been the first Right forward selected every series, ahead of Hoffman, Scott, Jackson who have al been selected ahead of him. Only Frizell has a chance agains him, and Daley uses him as middle forward now anyway

davi

Jordan McLean is a murderer almost and more importantly a shit player. How is he in this team over Vaughan, Paulo and Boyd? Laurie Daley is a merkin!

Here's Laurie Daley rationale over Paul Vaughan.

"Laurie Daley has opened up about the snubbing of the in-form Paul Vaughan, saying that he lacked the consistency needed to be picked for rep footy.

"I think it's about being able to produce consistent football over a period of time. Paul is a guy who is playing good footy at the moment, but we need him to do it for a period and continue to do it over on the Origin arena," Daley said.

"All the other guys who got picked in front of him deserved to be here.

"We've always wanted plenty of depth. Now that the team's picked, I hope everyone gets behind us and supports us."

https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/nr...ins-why-paul-vaughan-was-snubbed-for-origin-i

MilkShark

You were comparing to Jackson in that quote which is why I replied to it that way.

Ok, if you're comparing to Cordner, then that's a little more difficult as Boyd has done well in Origin recently and there was no reason to leave him out. Graham only got the gig last year because of Cordners injury. Unfortunately they play the same side.

Now if you want to compare Lewis and Jackson, then by all means I'd sele t Lewis. I don't know why he was ever f**kin dropped from the team. When fit and not ill, he should've been the first Right forward selected every series, ahead of Hoffman, Scott, Jackson who have al been selected ahead of him. Only Frizell has a chance agains him, and Daley uses him as middle forward now anyway
I can understand where the confusion came from then.

In my team, I have Graham and Frizell as backrowers. Both are major damaging impact players. Lewis could still be selected now, i'd happily have in the backrow with Graham. Sharks aren't coming 2nd by fluke.

I could very easily leave Cordner out of the team completely.