What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NZ womens Rugby league

sup42

Juniors
Hi guys,

Unfortunately I am no expert on the Women's game. My limited exposure has been through relatives who played and being a long time follower of the Kiwi ferns. I used to run into the Ferns through work at parties, being a worker in the prisons you work with women colleagues who play rep footy. I can honestly say there are some women I worked with that I would rather get into a yard brawl with them at my back than a lot of men (lots of blokes drop nuts in an all out scrap, women just see a mate throwing and join in without thinking about it).

In an age where the wrestle and the athlete took the big hits and one on one battles of rugby league out of the men's game, the Women's game remained the toughest form of the game up until 2019 (year two of the NRLW).

Sadly the NRLW brought in the wrestling coaches and all the dry balls stuff that ruined this sport from its peak in the 1980's.

It is not all bad news however. Womens Rugby league in New Zealand is experiencing exponential growth, the women are biggest growth sector in an otherwise dying sport here. Mens League shrinks year on year, the women's game has seen thousands of recruits during the dying of the sport. These women will save the game, they will tell their kids, and their nephews and nieces to choose our sport.

Before the NRL disease ruined the women's game:

My sister in law in a Kiwis ferns hall of famer.

Last edited:

sup42

Juniors
I remember this game well.
Aussie open the scoring, commentators only talk up the Jillaroos, Ref only reffing one team. Kiwi Ferns guts out a lot of back to back try line defence.