Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

O/T: Vehicle Write Off

Dragon David

Hi Guys

Would like anyones opinion/help please as follows:-

I am just wondering if there is anyone on this Forum who can advise what I can do to not have my run-about car written off.

My situation is that my car, which was driven by my son who has a full and unblemished licence was involved in an accident of which the other driver admitted fault and all good.

I went to a smash repairer who I have had dealings with not too long ago on another matter to see what the damage would cost to fix - $800. The damage was to the bottom of the rear offside passenger door, part of the rear side panel, a broken wheel hub and slight damage to the rear bumper bar as far as the eye could tell.

I informed the owner of the at fault vehicle thinking that maybe she would pay the $800 to avoid going through insurance and not pay excess, however, she wanted to have her car repaired, which had minimal damage, and as such was happy to pay the excess.

I arranged through my insurance company to have repairs done to my car and they gave me a nearby repairer for a quote and I was also entitled to a replacement vehicle.

Initially the repairers thought that as the car was quite old the repairs might not be done and the car could be written off – which came as a shock seeing that the other guy quoted $800. Anyway the assessor decided to have the repairs done and the car was taken last Monday to have the work done. However, my son and his girlfriend detected a wobble in the steering at about 80-90kph which the car did not have before the ding and this was told to the repairer when the car was put in and he then had it assessed by a mechanic and the cost for the panel beating/painting and fixing the suspension, wheel needed the assessor to re-evaluate if the work could be done. BTW the car is only insured for $3,720 – not much, so the cost of repairs from the insurers preferred repairer are now more than the value and I am waiting to hear back from the head assessor to confirm a write off.

My problem is I don’t want to have the car written off as it was a great little car as a run-bout and whatever money I would get for the car would be less than the insured value, meaning I would not be able to buy another comparable car. I was not at fault and I’m looking at not having a run-about car.

I think I have a couple of options I think and they are to ask my insurance company if I can take the car to the other $800 guy (plus cost to fix the suspension and wheel) or if they are not prepared to accept this, I could contact the other parties insurance company and ask for a cash settlement plus keep the car and then have the repairs done by the $800 guy.

Anyone got any better suggestions please? I am at a loss!!

If I’m not mistaken, you may be able have the car “written off” and also keep it too..

If the assessors believe that it will cost more than the insured value to fix, they will write you a cheque for the value of the car.. I just don’t know if they then take possession of it and sell it at an auction later on..

I’ve had a mate have this situation. He had an old runabout, got rear ended & was paid out. He kept the car & just drove it round with a damaged bumper..

This bit confuses me:
My problem is I don’t want to have the car written off as it was a great little car as a run-bout and whatever money I would get for the car would be less than the insured value

If it’s written off, they should provide you the insured value.

The other element to consider is that whilst it may be a good little runabout, if it’s an older car, has been in an accident & now has further issues, it may not be all that safe to keep driving for much longer..

ChocOConnor

Just ask the insurance for a cash settlement. Easy and quick. They pay you the repair value and wash there hands if it.
The reason why your car may have an issue is that shops are paid per car by certain insurance companies, so they are forced to take short cuts rather than repair the car as they would have normally to make a buck. If someone really looked into the industry it would be a scary thought for the general public that have no idea.

Dragon David

If I’m not mistaken, you may be able have the car “written off” and also keep it too..

If the assessors believe that it will cost more than the insured value to fix, they will write you a cheque for the value of the car.. I just don’t know if they then take possession of it and sell it at an auction later on..

I’ve had a mate have this situation. He had an old runabout, got rear ended & was paid out. He kept the car & just drove it round with a damaged bumper..

This bit confuses me:

If it’s written off, they should provide you the insured value.

The other element to consider is that whilst it may be a good little runabout, if it’s an older car, has been in an accident & now has further issues, it may not be all that safe to keep driving for much longer..
Appreciate your reply Muzby. I'm going to wait to hear from the assessor first and then take it from there. I thought that once they paid you out it would be something like value insured less balance of premiums for the year (about 10 months). I'd only be left with about $3,400 and that gets you nothing nowadays.

It would be great if I was able to keep the car as well and then get work done with the money paid.

Cheers!

Dragon David

Just ask the insurance for a cash settlement. Easy and quick. They pay you the repair value and wash there hands if it.
The reason why your car may have an issue is that shops are paid per car by certain insurance companies, so they are forced to take short cuts rather than repair the car as they would have normally to make a buck. If someone really looked into the industry it would be a scary thought for the general public that have no idea.
Thanks Choc. Appreciate it - lots to consider.

Appreciate your reply Muzby. I'm going to wait to hear from the assessor first and then take it from there. I thought that once they paid you out it would be something like value insured less balance of premiums for the year (about 10 months). I'd only be left with about $3,400 and that gets you nothing nowadays.

It would be great if I was able to keep the car as well and then get work done with the money paid.

Cheers!
Ahh.. get what you mean now re: the short payout.. Yep, that will happen either way.. Your insurance contract is for the full year.. even if you pay by the month & cop the accident in the very first month, you owe them the balance of the premium..

Happened to me when I got a car stolen.. I got the shits with them about what I thought was a short payment.. But thankfully had a patient person on the other end of the line who explained it to me..

I always view insurance as a bet..

Me: I bet you $500 my car gets written off this year

Insurer: I bet you $20k it doesn’t.

I'm going through a similar thing right now.Firstly-do not have it written off and accept the money.Once it is written off, it is uninsurable and unregisterable once the rego expires.The insurance is cancelled on the spot.There is a government list called the "Write off register".Once a car gets on here its almost impossible to have it removed-as i said after its on here-no more rego or insurance. Most writeoffs are sold to New Zealand where theyre repaired and sold for a massive profit.
Back to your car-the other persons insurance company cant write your car off-but yours can.If you go back to them they have to repair it (they cant deem it too expensive since it was their fault). If its through your insurance they might write it off.It very much depends on current market value which has climbed massively during COVID due to no new cars available for sale
Im pretty sure what ive told you is accurate but hopefully others will tell me if im wrong. The write off thing though is definately correct-it was brought in to stop all the rebirthing that was going on with the cut and shut shops selling dangerous rebuilt cars. Good luck with this. In our case its my daughters car and she was at fault.Were battling to stop a write off as well

Dragon David

Thanks heaps Dragonssupporter for your input and advice. I appreciate it mate.

Hopefully when I ring the other party's insurance company I will be able to get something done to my car rather than have it written off by my insurance company. I've read about the Write Off Vehicle Register and definitely will not accept any write off option. Just want the car back to what it was before the prang as it was going really well at the time.

Cheers Dragonssupporter.

DD