Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

O'Davis Re-signs

antonius

While reading the Mark Hughes article on the old Knights forum, I saw a piece re, O'Davis agreeing to terms for next season. Good to see him staying, I say that with mixed feelings, I would like to see someone with a bit more flair at fullback next year but, Robbie is as safe as the bank there at the back, and maybe another year as his understudy will do Mr Young the world of good, when he takes the step up on Robbies departure.

Jedda

I have mixed feelings about this news.

Hopefully by the end of next season I'll be made to eat my words.

Hope Robbie O can stay fit and uninjured and goes out with a bang next year!

shane1970

Great news that!!!!!!!!!
And did you see the last paragraph at the bottom of the story witht he Knights resuming training on Monday 10th November. :shock: :shock:
Have a nice MINI break boys - Fair dinkum I know that most of these blokes are on a fair bit of money but jesus christ I reckon they earn every cent of it. They have just played something like 25 games or so and then get a massive 7 weeks off before it's back into the physical floggings again for another 45 weeks or so.

MC DUI

shane1970 said:
Great news that!!!!!!!!!
And did you see the last paragraph at the bottom of the story witht he Knights resuming training on Monday 10th November. :shock: :shock:
Have a nice MINI break boys - Fair dinkum I know that most of these blokes are on a fair bit of money but jesus christ I reckon they earn every cent of it. They have just played something like 25 games or so and then get a massive 7 weeks off before it's back into the physical floggings again for another 45 weeks or so.

:shock: I hope they give the guys with injuries a bit more time off than that.

Good about Robbie O' though. I hope he puts a bit more effort into his running back at the line next year.

Doctor

I noticed the release on the Knights site too - I don' venture into the ruins very often, but was looking around a bit and stumbled across the O'Davis news.

It isn't unexpected, but at the same time reassuring to know for certain - O'Davis has been a quality player for us over the years and it's a shame the latter part of his career has been marred a bit by suspension and injury.

I hope what looks like his final year will be fruitful (and injury free) - I'm sure the Knights had made the best offer they could under the circumstances.

It also means we needn't rush anyone into the fullback spot - a smooth transition between O'Davis and Young (or perhaps a current First Grader like Kidley or MacDougall, depending on Hages' thinking) would be ideal.

MC DUI

Original_Chook said:
I noticed the release on the Knights site too - I don' venture into the ruins very often, but was looking around a bit and stumbled across the O'Davis news.

:lol: :lol:

Missa

i think its good news..im glad he is still with us....good to see him stand by our team.....he is as safe as they come....lets hope injuries dont plague him next year though

Faranah

O'davis has been a great player for us over the years, i'm glad he is staying, i just hope he stays injury free and has a successful season next year! :)

There should never have been doubt over his contract, why would we let go a player who can still make the qld origin team, he made it last year and he made it this yr but pulled out through injury. Robbie is still a very good and dangerous player.

bronnie34

Good news to hear! with our run of injuries in the back line over the past couple of seasons it good to have an experienced player like robbie at the back.

Bring it home Knights

Well now we've lost doogs, it's even more important that o'davis has signed. It's good to see a player with loyalty unlike moneys bags macdougall.

Terminator

I'm a big fan of Doogs despite his backturn on the club.
He got offered a much better deal from Souths, and lets face it they need him alot more than we do.

Bring it home Knights

terminator007 said:
I'm a big fan of Doogs despite his backturn on the club.
He got offered a much better deal from Souths, and lets face it they need him alot more than we do.

To be honest, I don't care if they need him more then we do. We still need him. Look at our current backline. We've lost Macdougall, albert and also moodie over the last couple of years. These are 3 match winners.

the knights helped him get to the level he did. They stuck by him through a lot. But still he selfishly left.