Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

One Eyed Supporters

IanG

Listening to 2HD this afternoon and the talk back topic is which team in teh NRL has the worst one eyed supporters. Seems there's been a few votes for teh Newcastle Knights. Quite frankly I don't think we should appogise for it. You thoughts people

Burwood

It's to be expected in a place like Newcastle. We are a one team town, and 90% of everything we read in the papers or see on the news is about the Knights.

It's only a bad thing when you try to have a conversation with someone about football, and it always comes back to being about the Knights- there is more to football than Joey Johns and whether Tighe should be a centre etc.

IanG

Yeah fair enough point. But it seems to be the non-knights supporters phoning up. In a way I think all clubs have them. But I'm sure we're right up there for who'd have the most loyal.

Barney_Gumble

Yup, Newcastle's quit (in)famous for its one eyed support of the Knights and ten years ago the ARL.

In fact, one could say that Newcastle was the ARL's Nuremburg during the ARL/Super League war. :mrgreen:

IanG

Barney_Gumble said:
Yup, Newcastle's quit (in)famous for its one eyed support of the Knights and ten years ago the ARL.

In fact, one could say that Newcastle was the ARL's Nuremburg during the ARL/Super League war. :mrgreen:
That was about as funny as a cry for help.

Barney_Gumble

Who said I was trying to be funny? It's a known fact that Newcastle blindly followed the ARL's plan for a "League Reich" when Super League was about revolutionsing and expanding RL to be a truly international game.

In fact, you can credit a lot of features present in NRL games to the forward thinking of Super League

We're loyal and passionate, and all the association that goes along with saying that, but we are definitely 0neyed IMO.

Problem is, we're so bloody defensive and annoying. Nobody can just seem to laugh it off when someone takes a shot, particularly at Johns or Buderus. It makes serious football discussion frankly embarrassing when it degrades into these things. We do have the right to defend our players and club, but it always ends up being the same debates and it never helps our reputation.

I think it's a good thing that we're so fiercely proud of our team. But I honestly think we really need to learn where to draw the line between passion for our club and respect for other clubs. Sometimes it goes too far. I'd suggest that a lot of the most ardent anti-Knights campaigners, particularly on this forum, are mostly this way because of the attitude of Knights fans. Maybe it's their problem that they can't see past it, but we really don't have to see it as our mission to convert them or 'win' every debate, especially when the falling into usual patterns means we lose sight of what the debate is about.

Barney_Gumble

strewth_mate said:
We're loyal and passionate, and all the association that goes along with saying that, but we are definitely 0neyed IMO.

So were a certain political party that provoked a certain world war which persecuted a certain race of people to near extinction.

strewth_mate said:
Problem is, we're so bloody defensive and annoying. Nobody can just seem to laugh it off when someone takes a shot, particularly at Johns or Buderus.

That's a good one, Newcastle supporters are so stupid, they'll elevate a person to demigod status just because they play footy :mrgreen:

strewth_mate said:
It makes serious football discussion frankly embarrassing when it degrades into these things. We do have the right to defend our players and club, but it always ends up being the same debates and it never helps our reputation.

Fascism is never an easy topic to persuade people on, is it?

strewth_mate said:
I think it's a good thing that we're so fiercely proud of our team. But I honestly think we really need to learn where to draw the line between passion for our club and respect for other clubs.

This was oh-so-obvious during the ARL/Super League war. Anything associated with Super League was evil whereas the Knights and their legions of brainwashed fans were purer than the God himself

strewth_mate said:
Sometimes it goes too far. I'd suggest that a lot of the most ardent anti-Knights campaigners, particularly on this forum, are mostly this way because of the attitude of Knights fans.

That would be because Knights fans in general were only too happy to promote the ARL's vision of a fascist regime.

strewth_mate said:
Maybe it's their problem that they can't see past it, but we really don't have to see it as our mission to convert them or 'win' every debate, especially when the falling into usual patterns means we lose sight of what the debate is about.

The "Aussies for the ARL" society was particularly notorious for this through spreading slanderous propaganda. Goebbels would have been proud :mrgreen:

Barney_Gumble

GoTheBears said:
Super League man - f**k off. Super league nearly killed the game

No it didn't. Super League was about taking RL in a new direction. You know all those features of NRL game you enjoyed?

[The following details were taken from Wikipedia] :mrgreen:
ANZAC Test

A Super League Test was played between Australia and New Zealand on ANZAC Day in 1997. There was some controversy at the time for the use of the word ANZAC, as many considered it inappropriate to compare sportspeople to soldiers. Although it was dropped from the annual schedule in the early years of the new millennium, it was revived in 2004, and is now contested each year. The winner of the ANZAC Test receives the Trans-Tasman Trophy.
[edit]
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/
Night Grand Finals

The Super League Telstra Cup Grand Final was played on a Saturday night in Brisbane, whereas all NSWRL, ARL and NRL Grand Finals were traditionally played on a Sunday afternoon. From 2001 the NRL has played its Grand Finals on the Sunday night in October, to coincide with a Public Holiday in New South Wales the following day. Although a rating success for the Nine Network, this scheduling continues to upset traditionalists, who believe that having the Grand Final on a Sunday afternoon allows people to better celebrate the day, particularly with a Grand Final BBQ. Some in Sydney also believe that holding the Grand Final at night disuades parents with young children attending. It is also unpopular outside of New South Wales, as there is no Public Holiday in Queensland the following day, and the Grand Final begins late in the evening in New Zealand.
[edit]
Video Referees

At the Super League World Nines in 1996 the video referee was used for the first time. The Video referee allows an official to check the veracity of tries scored using footage from the television broadcasters. The NRL used Video Referees from its first season in 1998.
[edit]
Rule Changes

A number of rule changes were introduced in both the Super League and the ARL during the war that have been adopted by the NRL. Super League innovations include:
  • Zero tackle rule (in a modified form).
  • Scrums packed 20 metres in from touch.
  • Scoring team kicks off instead of non scoring team.

What did the ARL bring to the game? Nothing, jack sh!te, diddly squat. Ok, to be fair here's what the ARL did bring to the game.

- A slanderous propaganda campaign that Goebbels would have been proud of

- Venomous persecution of Super League players, officials and supporters which led to the establishment of the Gestapo for the ARL

- Neanderthal thinking and philosophy

IanG

GoTheBears said:
Super League man - f**k off. Super league nearly killed the game
Exactly. It was split in two as we know. Hence why I always refer to it as Sell Out League.

IanG

Gene Krupa said:
Will you just f**k off out of this forum Garney Bumball and never return you leech!
Well said GK. That bloke has a few screws loose to put it mildly

Stranger

Barney_Gumble said:
No it didn't. Super League was about taking RL in a new direction. You know all those features of NRL game you enjoyed?

[The following details were taken from Wikipedia] :mrgreen:

What did the ARL bring to the game? Nothing, jack sh!te, diddly squat. Ok, to be fair here's what the ARL did bring to the game.

- A slanderous propaganda campaign that Goebbels would have been proud of

- Venomous persecution of Super League players, officials and supporters which led to the establishment of the Gestapo for the ARL

- Neanderthal thinking and philosophy
Ablert Speer is that you?

I like the bit where he talks about spreading propaganda, then goes on to repeat himself twice in the same thread and paste the exact same post in the other thread, big emotional words ahoy.
Three Nazi references in three posts. You're doing well mate.

That's a good one, Newcastle supporters are so stupid, they'll elevate a person to demigod status just because they play footy

Notice though that I was actually implying something similar. I just don't have the admirable ability to pull a completely different issue out of thin air and apply it to a harmless discussion, Termy.

Besides, you're the one attributing some kind of mythological status to nothing but a sporting organisation.

I'm not going to say that I worship the ARL and its management. I am one of a huge number that are disappointed with the structure and somewhat neanderthal thinking that goes on in the upper levels of the organisation. But it's never a case of if you hate one thing, you automatically love the other. In this case though I'm just a brainwashed fascist, which makes sense especially since the SuperLeague thing happened before I really got into closely following footy.

Seems to me in any case Newcastle fans were very much one eyed from day one, years before SuperLeague reared its ugly head. You've missed the point of my original post, but since you never cared in the first place I really don't care about yours. If you want to talk about SuperLeague, start a thread in the NRL forum, don't make yourself out to be some kind of partisan and take shots in an unrelated thread. Your pushing of an agenda would make Pauline Hanson proud.

Heil Newcastle! :lol: :crazy:

KnightSmurf

Naturally every club has it's own band of one-eyed supporters. Living in a one team town you can expect the media coverage to be blanketed with that club's news.

Feel for us here in QLD though ... all we hear about is the Broncos all year long, until the Cowboys make it further then all of a sudden the Cowboys are QLD's team.

If it wasn't for the internet - we don't have pay tv - I doubt I'd hear about any of the other clubs other then who the Broncos play.

IanG

KnightSmurf said:
Feel for us here in QLD though ... all we hear about is the Broncos all year long, until the Cowboys make it further then all of a sudden the Cowboys are QLD's team.

I do feel for you. I'm sure with you being a Knights supporter up there your sick of hearing broncos this broncos that. Wonder what it'll be like next year when the Titans are playing.