Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Open letter from Gould to Ricky

Punk

A once private fued has finally found it's way into the papers in what has the potential become a very public war. I eagerly await Ricky's response...

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/lhqnews/stuart-v-gould/2009/04/25/1240606648338.html

Thanks for thinking of me, Ricky, but I have better things to do
Phil Gould | April 26, 2009

Dear Ricky, perhaps you misunderstood my comments during the week about your predicament at Cronulla.

Your invitation to have me come to training and talk to your players about attacking football is quite flattering, however, I didn't actually offer you any assistance.

First, I'm retired.

Second, even if I were motivated to coach, you'd be the last person I'd help.

To be honest Ricky, you are the most pig-headed and ungrateful person I've met in football. I discontinued my association with you four years ago because I could no longer tolerate your petulance.

As for your childish comments I somehow cost you your position at the Roosters 18 months later, perhaps my lawyers should ask you to explain that rubbish in court. People are sick of your continually trying to rewrite history. These feeble attempts to erase the real factors behind your sacking and blame others for your demise are embarrassing.

Football clubs don't terminate coaching contracts lightly. Managements agonise over such decisions for months. History will show your team was underperforming and you'd lost the confidence of those who count. End of story.

Sure it hurts, but there's no shame in being sacked. We all get sacked. That's part of being a coach.

#Remember, Ricky, two coaches had to be sacked to provide employment for you at the Roosters and Sharks.

Stuart Raper must be scratching his head at why he was removed to make way for you, given your current position on the premiership ladder. Do you ever spare a thought for him?

It's time you stop this ridiculous charade of being hard done by.
Roosters management did you a favour terminating your contract. It provided you with a perfect opportunity to start afresh at another club and save your reputation. Meanwhile, your replacement, Chris Anderson, had to come in and try to mop up the mess you left behind. Sadly, the enormity of the task cost him his health and his job.

You should also note, Ricky, that I didn't make these latest comments about your coaching in the normal course of my work with Channel Nine or my newspaper columns.

I was asked for comment by a journalist from The Daily Telegraph. This is the organisation for which you work. Perhaps you should be directing your dummy spit at that newspaper and asking why it pursued me for comment, given I have no relationship with your employer whatsoever.

The journalist who contacted me said it was about time someone questioned your performance at the Sharks. He highlighted the fact that your Sharks started this season as third favourites to win the comp but are now favoured for the wooden spoon.

He noted the Sharks scored fewer tries than any other team last season. He watched a weakened Melbourne beat the Sharks 26-0 in the preliminary final last year. Only a week later, Manly thrashed the Storm 40-0. The Sea Eagles obviously knew how to attack them. He'd witnessed your Australian team, full of the most talented players in this country, lose the World Cup final on home soil to an under-strength New Zealand.

He mentioned your purchase of four new players this season - three of them internationals - to bolster your team's attacking potency.
He noted you had released players such as Brett Kimmorley (Bulldogs) and Isaac De Gois (Knights) to make way for these purchases.

I guess we've all noticed their outstanding form for their new clubs and, in particular, what creative attacking players they've proven to be.

The journalist asked me if you should be under pressure to lose your position. I got the distinct impression your own newspaper was about to recommend your sacking. My reply was simple. "No. He can coach. He just needs some help. He's always needed help."

I've made similar comments about several young coaches over the years, but none of them reacted the way you did. Did I touch a nerve?
I'm in a position to make these comments because I know your style of coaching better than anyone.

In your time at the Roosters you received plenty of quality assistance. Certainly more than you've ever acknowledged.

Assistant coaches such as Dean Pay, John Cartwright and Ivan Cleary were tremendous.

Both Cleary and Pay won lower-grade competitions with the club. Cleary and Cartwright are now outstanding coaches at the NRL level with the Warriors and Titans respectively.

These people contributed enormously to your success and the success of the Roosters.

My comments this week merely suggested you've always relied heavily on the contributions of others and perhaps you should seek similar assistance to help the Sharks' players realise their full attacking potential. Perhaps I'm guilty of expressing the bleeding obvious.

Your emotional reactions to my rather tame comments this week speak a thousand words. Is there something you don't want people to know?

In the end, The Daily Telegraph journalist made a very compelling argument; however, I suggested the Sharks' problems could be rectified without sacking the head coach.

During your time at the Roosters I continually praised your work ethic and promoted your coaching ability to the public.

I was also instrumental in your securing coveted positions such as the NSW State of Origin and Australian coaching jobs. I made strong recommendations on your behalf.

It was unfortunate you lost the prestigious position of Australian coach due to your temper and inability to accept responsibility for your own losses; but, to be honest, this came as no surprise.

If it makes you feel any better, Ricky, you are a better coach than I ever was - but that doesn't mean very much.

You have a quality team there at the Sharks. There are also plenty of knowledgeable people around who can assist you. I expect things to turn for the better soon.

In the meantime, trust your players. Help them build confidence in their own ability. Don't read the papers.

Other than that Ricky, I have no advice for you.

f*cktard said:
Dear Ricky, perhaps you misunderstood my comments during the week about your predicament at Cronulla.

Your invitation to have me come to training and talk to your players about attacking football is quite flattering, however, I didn't actually offer you any assistance.

I didn't bother reading the rest, I hope he doesn't respond to this egomaniac.

Ricky should drop it like a hot log and get on with things.

G'day punk... :)

OK I just read the rest, Curiosioty kills etc... He even tries to save face at the end...

Puke!

Please Ricky Stuart, don't respond to this f*ckwit.

Squae

What a massive f!ckwit.

What I think is a joke is, that people that dont actually follow it think that Stuart is to blame as well, but really it is Gould that has an obsession trying to undercut Stuart's ability ( probably due to the fact that Stuart won the premiership that Gould couldnt)

Hopefully ricky doesnt bite.

Completely unprovoked and unnecessary hopefully people wake up to him, and Cronulla supporters give him sh!t when they see him on the street, I know I did last time I saw him (and will from now on as well), old fat f!ckwit.

He needs to go eat another twinky!!!

Ha ha I'm loving this. Gould is spot-on and Ricky Stuart knows it, Cronulla supporters know it and the media knows it.

Ricky Stuart should never have coached again after the World Cup embarrassment. Ever.

If he can win the Sharks a spoon before they become bankrupt I'll buy the poor bastard a schooner though!!!!

gunnamatta bay

As for your childish comments I somehow cost you your position at the Roosters 18 months later, perhaps my lawyers should ask you to explain that rubbish in court.
did he actually make that allegation?

gunnamatta bay

I think it's time this came out of the vault.

See who pick the difference

GusMatch.jpg

Weaponhead

As much as I cannot stand Gould, he makes a few reasonable points that shouold be considered.

The outburst at refs after the world cup final was petulent and showed a lack of control well after the event. Plenty wanted to dismiss it as passion but it was the easy way out to blast the refs without looking at his own and the teams performance.

Sticky did a great job at Easts to inject steel into a talented team to get them over the line to win the comp. He identified that they had talent but were soft and needed hardening up. Once Fittler left, he wasn't able to rebuild them and they went backwards. Two factors at work here, firstly the salary cap works to bring down better teams and secondly, he didn't proactively look to rebuild for another shot, he tried to hang on with the same squad ant they went backwards. This was a judgement call by a young coach.

At the Sharks, he saw that we were soft and needed a discipline and steel. In 2007 we were consistently competitive. In 2008 we were the toughest team in the comp on the back of Sticky's favourite word 'attitutde'. In 09 through a mixture of bad luck, misjudgement of the changes in the game and poor execution we are way off the pace. I feel that Sticky has not seen the changes coming with the two ref sysem and did not make adequate provisions to develop us further. The signing of Corey Hughes is case in point. Here is a hard player, mentally strong and a great defender. However, he very slow and his passing is ordinary. He has the Sticky 'attitude' not the skills.

I am a fan of Sticky and I think he can grow as a coach and will lead us forward. However, it is clear that just talking about 'attitude' is not enough any longer. The skill level in our side is terrible. This needs to be addressed desperately. 2010 is the pivotal year for Sticky. It will be his 4th in charge at Cronulla and this will be his team. There can be no more questions about players from the Anderson/Raper era. This is his era and he has the opportunitiy to show that he can develop his own team. I for one am looking forward to him doing it.

LOYAL DRAGON

Ha ha I'm loving this. Gould is spot-on and Ricky Stuart knows it, Cronulla supporters know it and the media knows it.

Ricky Stuart should never have coached again after the World Cup embarrassment. Ever.

If he can win the Sharks a spoon before they become bankrupt I'll buy the poor bastard a schooner though!!!!
i will chip in:lol:

As much as I cannot stand Gould, he makes a few reasonable points that shouold be considered.

The outburst at refs after the world cup final was petulent and showed a lack of control well after the event. Plenty wanted to dismiss it as passion but it was the easy way out to blast the refs without looking at his own and the teams performance.

Sticky did a great job at Easts to inject steel into a talented team to get them over the line to win the comp. He identified that they had talent but were soft and needed hardening up. Once Fittler left, he wasn't able to rebuild them and they went backwards. Two factors at work here, firstly the salary cap works to bring down better teams and secondly, he didn't proactively look to rebuild for another shot, he tried to hang on with the same squad ant they went backwards. This was a judgement call by a young coach.

At the Sharks, he saw that we were soft and needed a discipline and steel. In 2007 we were consistently competitive. In 2008 we were the toughest team in the comp on the back of Sticky's favourite word 'attitutde'. In 09 through a mixture of bad luck, misjudgement of the changes in the game and poor execution we are way off the pace. I feel that Sticky has not seen the changes coming with the two ref sysem and did not make adequate provisions to develop us further. The signing of Corey Hughes is case in point. Here is a hard player, mentally strong and a great defender. However, he very slow and his passing is ordinary. He has the Sticky 'attitude' not the skills.

I am a fan of Sticky and I think he can grow as a coach and will lead us forward. However, it is clear that just talking about 'attitude' is not enough any longer. The skill level in our side is terrible. This needs to be addressed desperately. 2010 is the pivotal year for Sticky. It will be his 4th in charge at Cronulla and this will be his team. There can be no more questions about players from the Anderson/Raper era. This is his era and he has the opportunitiy to show that he can develop his own team. I for one am looking forward to him doing it.

Nice post Weapon, for me the phrase I have highlighted is the kicker. I don't think Ricky, or the whole coaching staff for that matter, had the vision to see what the changes would bring. Our side looks like one that has trained the whole off season for what they thought would be status quo.

Oh, and............welcome back Punk.

We don't see enough of you.

Can we have the Punk of old back?

spider

geez he spent sone time loading that gun this week

on the 2 ref's - i think the ruck has slowed down over the last couple of weeks across the board, not just our games

Since 73

I love Sticky.
He is pig-headed, self-opinionated, goal-orientated and smart.

Don't like Bee-sting but he's good entertainment.
he is pig-headed, self-opinionated, agenda-orientated and smart.

These 2 working together could only ever end up this way.

Sticky had the perfect response to Goose's attack during the week.
He invited him to training.
He basically said, "Ok big mouth, I can't coach, you come down and show me how to do it. See if you can do it any better."

That put the ball in Goose's court.
He's opened his mouth, Sticky's aknowledged he needs some help and seeing as how Goose is the expert - show us what you've got.

Well played sticky. If Goose can't get 'em to win he's as bad as the bloke he's bagging.
Sticky even offered to pay him.

No way Goose is going to put himself in a situation where he'll look the Goose he is he came up with this rant.

Basically the facts are Goose had a 10 million team at the Rorters that Kerry packer put together with Politis that didn't come close to the salary cap. Obviously blokes were being paid in other means.

Goose, try as hard as he could - could not get them to the GF.

So he stood aside and put the all round good guy and everybodie's mate, Graham Murray in the job.

Murray got 'em to the GF. he also threatened to drop Fittler because he was unmotivated and lazy. Something Goose could not correct the year before. Murray's hard stance upset fittler. Murray's success garrotted goose. Murray was sacked and told, "Do not even bother turning up to the end of season awards dinner."

Enter the Stickman.

What does do?

He goes one better than better then Murray and wins the bleedin' GF.
With basically the same mob that goose had a couple of years before.

What does this do to Goose?
Well, we're seeing the results of that today.

Goose's agends is to bring Sticky down. Every opportunity he gets - Footy show, Roast, Newspaper column.

Observers will have noticed he was still bagging Murray last year when the Cowboys were struggling.
Murray did what NO OTHER coach had done in getting Illawarra Steelers to the semis. He's never coached a club that hasn'e made the semis. he's coached SOO. as mentioned he got the Rorters to the GF when Goose couldn't.

Sticky has done the same, but also coached Australia.

Jealousy pure and simple. sticky either lets the guy go or retaliate cosistently because Goose will not go away.

There is a lot of truth in that article. When sticky was coaching the Rorters the year after Fittler left they struggled. Craig Wing was going from half to bench to hooker. Finch wasn't guiding the team well and Soward and Firman and a handful of others were playing musical chairs. Sticky was struggling and the club slid down the table.

Goose was very prominent in the club and would attend training. Goose had very strong views about where Craig Wing and others should play.

Sticky told him to butt out - he was the coach and he would make selections. Gus left the club and devotes his time to media commitments. However, Sticky's days were numbered from that time on. goose's legend at the club has politi's ear.

Basically, he hates Sticky and blames him for having the balls to stand up to him.

Goose:
To be honest Ricky, you are the most pig-headed and ungrateful person I've met in football. I discontinued my association with you four years ago because I could no longer tolerate your petulance.

Goose:
As for your childish comments I somehow cost you your position at the Roosters 18 months later, perhaps my lawyers should ask you to explain that rubbish in court. People are sick of your continually trying to rewrite history. These feeble attempts to erase the real factors behind your sacking and blame others for your demise are embarrassing.

Sticky obviously knows the truth and has no qualms repeating it to Goose.

In your time at the Roosters you received plenty of quality assistance. Certainly more than you've ever acknowledged.
Assistant coaches such as Dean Pay, John Cartwright and Ivan Cleary were tremendous.
True.
But Sticky also had the vision to see what these blokes could bring.
They were known as knuckle head back-rowers.
Who could know the genius of Cartwright as a coach?
Dean Pay made the rorters defence inpenetrable.

Sticky saw it and brought them with him from the Rorters/Dogs lower grades.

Goose:
In the meantime, trust your players. Help them build confidence in their own ability. Don't read the papers.
Other than that Ricky, I have no advice for you.

STFU then.

Sticky's a good bloke, I have man love for him

He's often his own worse enemy.
His passion cost him the OZ job.

This season must kill him.
He's been stuck with a half he didn't want for 2 years and rebuilt and bought with a certian style in mind.
The faster game this year and lack of points means he is making it up as he goes alongalmost weekly.
But it is getting there.

A few positional changes amongst the backs saw us rack up nearly 30 points on Friday.
We haven't had the same team 2 weeks in a row this year.

When it settles and we can consolidate - then it will come.
Consistency in positions sorts out attack and defence deficiencies.