Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Roosters part ways with Newtown

Inferno

The Sydney Roosters wish to advise that the club's primary affiliation with NSW Cup side, the Newtown Jets, will conclude at the end of the 2014 season.

The Roosters have enjoyed a successful partnership with the Newtown Jets for the last nine seasons, however further to the club's formation of an alliance with the entire Central Coast Division Rugby League earlier this year, the Roosters are pursuing the formalisation of an agreement with the Wyong Rugby League Club Group whereby they will be the club's feeder side in the NSWRL Cup in 2015 going forward.

This proposal complements the club's strategy in linking with the region to provide a complete pathway program to the NRL. The Roosters club also has a presence in the area via the Easts Group's ownership of Woy Woy Leagues Club.

The Sydney Roosters wish fellow foundation club, the Newtown Jets, continued success, and will advise members and supporters of further information regarding this proposal in due course.
Link

Smart move by the Chooks, Central Coast has a strong junior base and this gives them more than a toehold.

Meanwhile, is a NSWCup partnership with the Bluebags a romance to be rekindled?

bluebag43

Cronulla could be proactive here, reform their relationship with Newtown, save a lot of dollars and have Newtown fund a couple of extra backup players, just as they have done for the last 9 years with the Roosters.

Many of the Cronulla NSW Cup games are played at Henson Park anyway, which has saved Cronulla money opening up Shark Park for stand alone games!

Can anyone remind me of when our arrangement with Melbourne finishes ?
I have quite a few friends who follow the Jets and I occasionally get to their games. Its a very enjoyable afternoon out, even if they don't have KB on sale any more.

Special K

The roosters won't get anything out of the coast unless they spend a lot time scouting up there. Majority of kids are signed with numerous NRL clubs by 15 on the coast which is why the coast always puts sub par teams in the sg ball, etc comps

Madsharkie

Can anyone remind me of when our arrangement with Melbourne finishes ?
I have quite a few friends who follow the Jets and I occasionally get to their games. Its a very enjoyable afternoon out, even if they don't have KB on sale any more.

I think it finishes this year Tom.

It does finish this year, it would be great to re link with the bluebags.

Might land another sponser as well.

Question what is condition of Henson Park in could we take a NRL game there a one off against say Cowboys who dont draw ??

hahah

henson park.

sharks should link back with the Jets. the melbourne relationship has been very good. won a premiership in the reggies.

It does finish this year, it would be great to re link with the bluebags.

Might land another sponser as well.

Question what is condition of Henson Park in could we take a NRL game there a one off against say Cowboys who dont draw ??

The playing surface is reasonable, but the ground wouldn't hold more than about 10,000 people and I would not recommend it for a 1st grade game as there would not be any financial gains, except for the nearby pubs.

Manfred Moore

In 1938 when part of the British Empire Games were held at Henson Park around 40,000 turned up.

It's a big grassy knoll ;)

Weren't we linked to Wyong last year?
Makes sense for us to once again link up with Newtown.
I think I read on the weekend that Melbourne were looking at Newtown but the Jets said no as they assumed they'd still be with Easts so The Storm went to a team in Brissie, maybe Easts??

ghoti

No possible way for an NRL game at Henson Park. Even more of a logistical nightmare than Leichardt...

fizman

BBB, you are correct Mate. We had negotiated a deal with Wyong where they would financially support the team, play out of Wyong using our colours.

Flanagan and Mooney canned the idea.

I am told that the Newtown arrangement will be a done deal.

Madsharkie

I think I read on the weekend that Melbourne were looking at Newtown but the Jets said no as they assumed they'd still be with Easts so The Storm went to a team in Brissie, maybe Easts??

Yep, storm are linked with Easts Tigers in Q Cup.

BBB, you are correct Mate. We had negotiated a deal with Wyong where they would financially support the team, play out of Wyong using our colours.

Flanagan and Mooney canned the idea.

I am told that the Newtown arrangement will be a done deal.

Cheers fiz.
I for one do not mind this union starting up again, I have a lot of Newtown supporting friends. I havent been going to Henson much of late but that will reverse if this is true.

i thought there was an Albury team coming in and that Melbz would be linked with them.

yeah, heard about the Wyong thing. we canned it

would be good to link back with the Jets again though.