Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: worst summer EVER

cheese

wave riders of any description vent your anger here...

anyone agree that this has been the most piss poor season in the last decade?

I dunno , I surfed thurs fri sat and sun at garie. It was good all 4 days.
The rest of summer was very ordinary though.

Locals Only

G'day

Normally I'm happy enough to just read this forum but I've gotta agree with you on this one. It's far and way the most rooted summer I can remember, and bugger me if the number of useless tools on mal’s hasn’t doubled then my eyes are playing tricks on me.

In the 80’s it was goat boats, in the 90’s it was boogs and now we’ve got this new scourge to deal with. They’re a plague I tell ya and Jackson is the friggin' devil :evil: Thank god that anything over 3 foot renders this pestilence useless. Have you ever wondered where all the mal’s go when the swell gets overhead? You’ll find them in the Driftwood, sipping lattes, faking injuries and talking about the glory days that never were :lol: :lol: :lol:

Come back El Nino, we need you.

cheese

yea its been shite, and the mal factor is atrocious ...ive barely been out all summer. I thought it was gonna be a good season too, october was perfection, and i thought that would carry through, but nup, its farged.

we need another year like 98/99 ........clean 3-5 foot nor easters every second day. *sigh* .....even last year was pretty good i reckon

with all the lack of waves, north cronulla has evolved into north lebanon.

DJDL

Steady on there. Mals are almost essential for us over-30's to be able to get up on the smaller waves.

I remember (here we go...) when I was still at school saying the same thing. Always get in the way, have the pick of the best waves blah blah blah.

I don't ride one myself, still on a 6'6 Rusty, but I've been considering getting one now that I'm slowing down a little.
It's nigh on impossible to get waves on a short board out there with you bloody grommets paddling inside me all day.

F***ers!!!!

Having said that, if I get one it'll only be for days where it's too small for a short board.

You know most of my mates are over 40.........almost none of em use mals.
We've had a pretty fair/ordinary season up here too(Coolum/Noosa)

Bring on the cyclone :oops:

fatshark

Feels like we live in Florida. I deadset thought there would be waves this week. Im spewin as I just got a new stick as well and it still has no salt on it. Seems every time I buy a new wetty, board this always happens. Bring on the cyclones...ppplllleaasseee :(

fatshark said:
Feels like we live in Florida. I deadset thought there would be waves this week. Im spewin as I just got a new stick as well and it still has no salt on it. Seems every time I buy a new wetty, board this always happens. Bring on the cyclones...ppplllleaasseee :(

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Could be an omen 8)

I know your pain I pick up my new one tomorrow. Im down pipe for the next few days so here's hoping .

Don Juan de Lotto said:
Steady on there. Mals are almost essential for us over-30's to be able to get up on the smaller waves.

I remember (here we go...) when I was still at school saying the same thing. Always get in the way, have the pick of the best waves blah blah blah.

I don't ride one myself, still on a 6'6 Rusty, but I've been considering getting one now that I'm slowing down a little.
It's nigh on impossible to get waves on a short board out there with you bloody grommets paddling inside me all day.

F***ers!!!!

Having said that, if I get one it'll only be for days where it's too small for a short board.

act ya f**king age. Ya not a grandpa & thats what mals are for.
if you want one, I got two I never use. You can buy them both. Boring f**king planks.
Get a fat fish or a retro or hybrid.
NEVER resort to a mal!!!!

gunnamatta bay

Some of the best surfs I've had were in summer in north east blown out slop at the point. It could look absolutely like crap but you had it to yourself.

Then there would be those magic afternoons when a thunderstorm would move in, the rain would piss down and the wind turn round to offshore. Everyone else was up the pub or gone home.

Jimbo

Don Juan de Lotto said:

F***ers!!!!

How was the swell in Bournemouth?

DJDL

Actually, it's more a mini-mal I'm thinking of. Only for when it's below 3 foot. Other than that I'm a short board man all the way.

And Jimbo, believe it or not, the one time I actually ventured out into the "surf" at Bournemouth I was surprised at how much water was moving around. It was actually quite dangerous if you didn't know what you were doing.

I was at a party in October 01 and at about 4 am someone comes up with the bright idea to go skinny dipping. So we all bolt down to the ocean, where a howling westerly had whipped up 3-4 foot of absolute mush. We all stripped off and, in the driving rain, ran down and jumped in. I think I just bounced off the top of the water and ran straight back t put some clothes on it was that cold.

Anyway, the beach there has these groynes every 10 metres or so along the beach, which means when water starts running along the shore looking for a way back out, it hits the groyne, has nowhere to go, and so has to head back out along the wall of the groyne. When you have a situation like that night, you quickly get massive gutters and trenches dug along the water line and beside the groyne and next thing LOOK OUT FOR THE RIP!!!! I reckon the currents were about as strong as you get for a 6 foot beach break in Sydney. I ended up fishing a few of my mates out of the water as they were getting quickly pulled out to sea. They had no idea what was going on.

They're weird the poms. There generally isn't even a hint of a wave in Bournemouth but as soon as it gets to 1/2 a foot they're out there in force. Unfortunately they have no idea what they are doing. So you can sit on the beach and watch them just sit in the one spot for half an hour or more and not catch a thing. You just feel like yelling out "Paddle down about 10 metres to your right", where the waves were breaking.

Funny s**t :lol: :lol:

Its on!!!!
4 to 5 feet south swell and NorWesters predicted for this arvo . YIPEE!!!
I might be performing a dissapearing act from work today.

longreef 9.45 am today.
20040220_5254.jpg