What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our attack and defense

Dragonslayer

First Grade
Watched todays game closely and its starting to really stand out that our attack, in particular, has lost its venom from the early rounds. Our defense, our brick wall so to speak, has deteriorated at an alarming rate.

What has gone wrong so fast?

Attack:
As we started losing games, we have gone away from the structure which worked so successfully at the beginning of the season. Offloads hardly exist, as are line breaks. Clunky, stop start, and sideways running has become our norm rather than the direct approach in the first half of the season.

Why has this happened?

I'm no psychology expert but to me 2 events happened that impacted our forward motion. 1. Representative season took more out of our players than they would like to admit, both physically and mentally. Refusal to rest or admit to niggling injuries is like a time bomb, it gradually wears away at the player until what was simple and normal only weeks before now becomes a task. But they will still do it, even to prove how tough they are. Not understanding how even a 5% drop in intensity can impact their play. They are proud and many have fooled medical staff and trainers throughout sporting history. 2. This is connected to point 1 in some way. Once losing nature steps in, they try to play harder (harder as in try harder) doing things that are normally second nature and turning them into a more difficult task. When it repeatedly fails, confidence drops and they try harder to make it happen. We have discussed/argued/debated at length various players but to me its more obvious that this losing confidence factor has impacted almost everyone in the team.